We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Absolutely the best service we've ever experienced. Maria, the night clerk on Fri evening, 4/27, even went so far as to print out directions AND the menu from a restaurant we asked about. Don't know the names of the room service gals, they were extremely sweet and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and lacked nothing-love the in-room safes! The restaurant server was also great. Overall one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had, and will definitely stay there the next time we're in Chesterton.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank maya429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 537 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2007

The night of our stay there was an ice storm and we lost power during the night, so it was not exactly restful. This was out of the control of the Hotel, so we won't try to blame them.

The room was spacious and clean, and they had nice complimentary toiletries and a coffee/fridge station. The room was called a suite, but there was no door separating the living area from the bedroom area. The furnishings were sparse, the bedroom area could use a chair or additional desk/dresser.

The "kid friendly" hotel removed the jacks from the t.v.'s, so we could not hook up our playstation, or watch our own dvds, which forces families to purchase their game system or movies, for over $10.00. For a kid-friendly suite, for $149 a night, the Disney channel should not be an extra purchase.....

The pool was fine, pretty typical for a basic hotel/pool, but they ran out of towels. My husband called twice to the front desk. After 25 minutes we gave up and dripped back to our room. As we were leaving the pool area, the attended arrived carrying 2 towels. There were at least 30 people using the pool area. 2 towels were not going to go very far....

The hotel had a restaurant in-house that had a breakfast buffet, but we did not eat there so I can't review it, but the convience is nice if you want to take advantage. They also had a 24-hour shop with necessities and snacks, very nice touch.

There is a Bob Evans next store and lots of nearby shopping/restaurants in Chesterton, within 2-3 miles. Chesterton had many cute antique shops and it is very close to the Indiana Dunes. I would stay here again, but I wish they would not pinch the pennies when it comes to families....

The location is good and because it was clean and appeared to be well managed, I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank campingbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2006

The Hilton was extremely accommodating. We checked out of a bad hotel early and the Hilton took care of us. They found a room and had it ready for us in no time. They were great. Number 1 with customer service!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2004

My son recently got married near this hotel so we chose to have our family stay there. They went above and beyond what any other hotel would have done. I can't say enough about the staff. Every guest at the wedding was completely satisfied. We booked 40 rooms and since it was graduation for the local university the hotel was completely filled. The rooms are simply beautiful, each one with a frig and microwave. Indoor pool and exercise room were excellent. Can't say enough good about this hotel and its staff. They made our stay there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kit9172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Valparaiso, Indiana
16
Reviewed February 14, 2004

Ok for starters don't even attempt to eat in the hotel at all.. unless you have an extra 5 hours to spare... we ordered appetizers and drinks only and it took almost 45 minutes for that and then another 35 for the bill...we ordered a movie and then paused it (which is supposed to be an option) and when we went back to it 30 minutes later we fell into another mess of problems,we spent even more time on the phone with lodgenet (the tv company) and the hotel staff on 3 way for another 25 minutes all to have to re-order the movie..then try to take a dip in the nice pool only to realize there are no towels then their maintenance guy comes into save the day with hand towels??? the next morning after hell we went down for breakfast... another BIG mistake.... there were no tables... and then when we did get one the bus boy barely wiped it off for us, there was still salt and sugar on our placemates... he then dropped our napkins on the floor as he was setting the table and right there in front of us he picked them up off the floor and put them on our table... like we would've wiped our mouths with it after that.... no way would we ever stay there again....

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
sussex, wisconsin
19
Reviewed August 18, 2003

i stayed at the hilton for two days,i arrived about 30 minutes before check-in time i asked if i could check in early but my room wasnt ready i was offered a complimentary bevarage and was seated on the patio ten minutes later my room was ready.the room was very clean and nice and cool.the buffet was also very good both for breakfast and dinner,my server for dinner was Katie both nights and she was wonderful.overall service price and cleanliness were among the best ive seen.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chesterton,In.
116
Reviewed February 28, 2003

The staff is wonderful!!! They are very friendly and helpful.Our room was beautiful,very clean,we had a suite with a huge whirlpool.They have pool,excercise room.breakfast was very good,we had the buffet everything was very good,they also have a continental breakfast too.In Chesterton the dunes are near by,downtown shopping and restaurants.I would recommend the Hilton in Chesterton.A++++++++++

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
420 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
65 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Address: 501 Gateway Blvd N, Chesterton, IN 46304-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range: $93 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing