We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great hotel in a perfect location. Nice courtyard for a large group gathering space. Very close to hiking paths at the Dunes. Chesterton is a lovely town with nice shops and restaurants. Easy access from the highway and plenty of parking in the lot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

I appreciate that you took time to write a review of you stay. Everything you wrote was correct. I am glad you felt at home at the hotel. It is our company statement to guarantee you are extemely satisfied with your stay. Please visit again soon.


Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 547 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Restaurant buffet was well maintained. Straight shot to Indiana Dunes State park. No turns necessary. Maybe a little overpriced but not sure about the rest of the area's offerings. Location is not as close to town or Dunes as some others, but the hotel looks superior to those.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the hotel. All the information is correct. The town is about 5 miles and has some shops and eateries. Also on Saturdays there is an open market from 8am to 2pm with lots of vendors. The dues is about 8 miles from the hotel but if you have never seen a sand dune well worth the ride and cost. Also you can swim in Lake Michigan.
Please visit again soon.


Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a block of rooms for a wedding. The staff was helpful, rooms clean, and the hotel is well insulated as noise from our guest didn't bother others. The shuttle was a big hit for our quests who had been drinking. All in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

I was delighted to read that your guests had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. It is always gratifying to hear that guests are happy with their stay. Please visit us again when you are in the area.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I've stayed in Hilton's all over. This is without a doubt, the worst one ever. Let's run it down.

1. Made our reservation for a wedding we were attending. We initially believed we were to have a Friday/Saturday night stay.
2. We confirm the reservation on the week of, only to find out they have us down for Saturday only. Their desk associate "Megan" says she will push it out to Friday, and that it's not a worry, they have the space.
3. Guess what? We arrive, give our confirmation number...still no Friday/Sat reservation. We get our room for the nights, but it's pretty clear this kind of behavior is tolerated and ignored by management. This kind of inattention to detail can cause serious inconvenience to someone. We were fortunate, others may not be.
4. Their "all you can eat" breakfast for $9.50 is ridiculous. Comfort Inns put out the same kind of continental breakfasts in their hotel for free. Your best bet here is to walk the 30 yards to the Bob Evans.
5. The beds are "baby" size kings/queens. I.e: they are not the full king, or full queen.
6. The beds are hard, and I mean...really stiff and hard. Not at all comfortable. Good thing we were there for a wedding, the only way we got a decent nights sleep was to drink ourselves to sleep.
7. Keurig machines in the room. Why they bother with it, I do not know. They barely stock any coffee for it in the rooms. We had 1 reg, 1 english tea 1 decaf. 2 Non dairy creamers and a couple of really crappy paper cups. So essentially, whoever gets the reg brew is the lucky one, whomever is with you gets stuck with tea or decaf.
8. The WiFi was easy to connect to, but slower than molasses. Seriously, it was faster to tether my phone to my laptop for internet service.
9. Staff were reasonably friendly, or at least attempted to be. The vibe I caught with not only ourselves, but the people checking in with us was that they would rather be elsewhere, and hurrying things along.
10. Depending on the day, you can smell the chlorine scent from the pool all the way up to the third floor.
11. The door "privacy" locks are funky. If you stay here, when you leave your room, make sure your door closes securely. On our room door, and a few of our friends doors...the deadbolt would spring out upon leaving, keeping the door from closing securely.

I really wanted to like this place more. But, the rooms are priced too high for being in the middle of nowhere. The service is marginal, and while they suffer from little problems, they tend to add up during your stay. It's a Hilton Hotel in the middle of rural Indiana, trying too hard to be like a city Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AzraelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

I am so sorry you were so disappointed with your stay and wish you would have asked to speak to a manager while you were here. I have spoken to Megan about not extending your reservation as you asked and I want to apologize that it was not taken care of at the time you originally spoke to her. The breakfast is a full service one in addition to the hot and cold buffet. The cook is able to make pancakes, waffles, omletes and eggs anyway you would like and the cost is $8.95plus tax. The beds are standard king and queens. The Keuring machines are a HGI standard as well as the amount of cofee and tea. You are always welcome to contact the desk if you need more. There is faster internet service in the hotel for an additional fee of $4.95per day. I regret that you felt the staff was not welcoming. Please be assured they have been spoken too about the attitude you received. I have done a maintenance order on the problem you reported about the door. The rates of the hotel are comparable to all the hotels in the area.
Once again I am truly sorry for all the issues you experienced and I thank you for the completing the survey so that the same issues will not be experienced by another gues.
Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice Hilton Garden location. Front desk staff was very helpful, we arrived late at night and the Bob Evans next door was closed, they recommended Gelsosomo's for a pizza delivery. Which turned out to be a very good suggestion.

Although right next to the freeway, the room was very quiet.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobile_concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel. All review are extremely helpful. It was especially nice to read that the staff was helpful in finding you a place to eat.
Please visit again soon.


Eileen Howat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent an unplanned night here during a driving rainstorm where I couldn't see the lines on the road any longer. I asked for a ground floor room and due to a misunderstanding on my part, entered the hotel through the wrong door on the lower level. The front desk person for some reason was there to meet us and was kind enough to go all the way back to the front desk to change our room so we wouldn't have to go outside and get drenched again. Their breakfast was outstanding. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mah7925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Wow what a great review. Thank you so much. I am so glad that your stay exceeded your expectations. I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Eileen Howat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we visited The Indiana Dunes on the Memorial long weekend. The front desk staff was more than helpful at check-in, knowing we have young children she helped us for early check in so we could start our vacation soon as we get there. All front desk staffs are really friendly. The room was nice and clean, beds are big. We are a family of 4 and we shared the beds fine. The pool is not huge but nice enough for the kids (age 7 & 9). There's a Bob Evans restaurant next door which is nice if you want a good breakfast. The only problem we had during our stay was the guests next to our room was extremely loud at 2 or 3am, they talked, laughed and slammed the door over and over again which was very annoying but what could we do, it was 2am! We for sure will return to this hotel if we come to this area in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel. It is nice to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry about the noise next door. If that were to ever happen again please contact the desk and they will try their best to get the noise to stop. Please visit us next time you are in the area.

Eileen Howat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
431 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
65 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Address: 501 Gateway Blvd N, Chesterton, IN 46304-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range: $93 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing