We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in town for my son's wedding. Everyone at the hotel were very nice. Hotel very clean. Price is a little high for not including breakfast. Breakfast was very good -- selection of food and the taste! The sausage gravy was a little spicy, but tasty! The lobby was very pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

I was thrilled to read you had an enjoyable time at the hotel. The breakfast at all Hilton Garden Inn's is extra but it is a made to order breakfast. You can order omletes, eggs anyway.french toast, waffles and pancakes in addition to our breakfast buffet all for $8.95. The hotel lobby and restaurant were just recently remodeled and I am glad you liked them,
Please visit again in the future and thank you for writing your review.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 577 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and courteous. Our room was immaculate! Very comfortable bed and linens. Even though there were 2 weddings taking place that weekend, the staff did not seem ruffled in the least. We didn't use the pool area because it was very busy (families with small children) but that's to be expected during the prime hours of the day. We didn't utilize the breakfast buffet onsite, but instead chose to walk next door to a new Bob Evans restaurant. The breakfasts were delicious both days. Overall, a very relaxing respite. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 612conniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

It was nice to read you had such a wonderful stay at the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Any feedback I receive is passed on to the staff so thay can continue to exceed the guest's expectations. I hope you come back and visit the hotel again and this time get to use the pool and have our delicious made to order breakfast.

Eileen Howat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

WOW! The lobby is amazing. They offer delicious cookies, coffee with flavored creamers, and delicious water with orange slices floating in it. The decorations seem that Martha Stewart had just come through. Great pool area with hot tub. Fantastic exercise room. Perfection...very easy drive to dunes. Located on a gorgeous walking trail on a well manicured watershed property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W_MOshkosh_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Wow, what a great review. It appears your trip to the hotel far exceeded your expectations. It sounds like you loved everything from the water to the exercise room. Thank you for your glowing review. Please come and visit again when you are in the area.

Eileen Howat
Asst Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Clean, good food, and most importantly friendly and helpful staff. Short distance to Indiana Dunes, and once again, really impressed with the helpfulness of the staff once I arrived. If traveling to Indiana Dunes, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the hotel.
I am truly delighted that you found your stay enjoyable. It is satisfying to hear that you were extremely pleased with the staff.
Please visit us again when you are in the area.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel after cancelling a reservation at a nearby Hampton Inn. Best decision of the entire vacation! This hotel was beautiful! The lobby was so pretty, there were free bottles of water upon check-in, everyone was friendly, and the breakfast was wonderful! Just wanted to point out that the breakfast was an all you can eat breakfast for about $9. The cook in the back will even make you cooked to order items! the rooms were very clean and included a fridge and microwave. The pool area was nice (the pool was pretty chilly when we were there) and I have no complaints!! You won't be disappointed to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

I was so happy to read your review of the hotel. It sounds like the hotel and the staff far exceeded your expectations and that is our goal. Happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and pool. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review and please visit us again when you are in the area.


Eileen Howat
Asst Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel staff is friendly but many of the rooms could use an overhaul. My A/C unit wasn't working properly. The wall thermostat was out of commission and had to turn it to 65 to cool the room to what felt like 75. Situation was handled at check out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

I am very sorry you had a problem with your air conditioning but I am glad that you felt it was handled. The hotel lobby was remodeled just recently and the rest of the hotel remodeling will take place in the future. I appreciate your comments. Thank you.


Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great location close to Indiana Dunes State Pk. and Lake Michigan. We stayed in a Queen Jr. Suite, 2 quuen beds, perfect for parents with 2 kids. The sitting room had a TV so we could stay up a bit after kids went to sleep. Staff was very helpful, pool and hot tub were clean and very welcoming. And the free breakfast (for HHonors folks) saved us $$.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Thomas P. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

You were correct our hotel is about 5 miles from the Indiana Dunes and Lake Michigan. It is a straight shot north from the hotel. If you are a member of Hilton Honors and are a gold or diamond member you can select you my way prefence to obtain breakfast for free. It is a great perk. Thank you for writing your review I do appreciate it.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Portage, IN
2.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
439 reviews
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Valparaiso, IN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
2.8 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
68 reviews
7 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Address: 501 Gateway Blvd N, Chesterton, IN 46304-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range: $94 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing