We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent the weekend at the Hilton Garden Inn in Chesterton for a wedding. The hotel was right off of the main road with easy access to major highways. The staff was very friendly and we had no issues with check-in. The room we were in was clean and comfortable and served it's purpose. The hotel does have a breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner but they are only provided at specific times. There is a Bob Evans located right next door and a gas station convenience store across the street. This seemed to be a small quaint town with minimal attractions. We did take advantage of Chicago only being about an hour away and also visited the Horse Shoe Casino that was about 20 minutes away. My only complaint is that in the morning the cleaning staff was very loud. They allow you a 12pm check out time that we were looking forward to taking advantage of. The walls are paper thin, so with them talking in the hallway and yelling down to each other, this woke us up a lot earlier than we would have liked. Other than that this is nicely kept hotel and seemed to be the best option for where we were at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizingsun03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and found the hotel to your liking. I am sorry that the housekeeping staff was so loud that you did not get to sleep as long as you would have liked. I have spoken to the housekeeping manager about this and she will make sure that the staff does not repeat the same misstake again.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    141
    46
    18
    10
See reviews for
207
99
30
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxemburg, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

For the past six years when I travel with my teams to the Notre Dame C-C Invitational, we have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn; Chesterton, Indiana. The manager and staff treat us like royalty. The rooms are spacious and always very clean. Their brakfast buffet is second to none, and the people at the Hilton Garden Inn are extremely friendly, and cater to my team's needs. It is very easy access on and off the interstate; and they are close to many good restaurants for team dining. They are right next to Coffee Creek Trails for running/ walking; which is great for team practice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It is always satisfying to read that our guests our happy with their stay. I will forward the review to our staff so that they will know how their hard work each and everyday made a guest happy and satisfied.
Thank you again.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Our son was married on November 10th. We had many out of town family and friends attend. We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We used one of the hospitality rooms for between and after parties, which worked out great with accommodating our guests. The breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
How nice of you to take the time to write such a lovely review about your experience at the hotel. I am very happy you and your guests had a wonderful visit with us. The hotel staff is constantly training so that they can make each and every guest feel like this is there home away from home. Thank you again


Sincerely,

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The property was new, well-maintained, and the staff was friendly. The location is excellent for anyone traveling on I-80/90. The fitness center was small, but adequate. The breakfast is good. A nice property and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjohnspcoedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I want to thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review of the hotel. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Thank you again

Eileen Howat
Asst Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Due to weather conditions, our flight from NYC to O'Hare was delayed three times and cancelled and our rebooked flight was also delayed. It ended up taking us over 40 hours to get to Chicago from New York. Once we landed, we got our car and started driving toward Michigan. Lack of sleep meant we needed to find a place to stay around midnight. We chose this Hilton. The lady at reception was friendly and asked about alternative rates so we did not pay rack rate. The room and beds were clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet (at $8) was amazing with eggs to order, pastries,scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, etc.I would highly recommend this property and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with our hotel. I am so glad that we exceed your expectations. I realize it takes your time to write a review and I truly appreciate it.
I am also happy you enjoyed your breakfast. Your review will be shared with the staff. The staff is constantly training and retraining so that we can execeed our guest expectations.
Thank you again and we hope you stay with us again.


Sincerely,

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We traveled for 2 months and spent almost three weeks here during our travels. We stayed at many well known hotel chains....some quite expensive. This was definitely the best and the price was very reasonable. The service was excellent. The rooms were spotless and the bedding comfortable. They have a GREAT breakfast buffet which includes a hot breakfast to order for less than you would spend at McDonald's. They also serve lunch and dinner. Room service is good and reasonable but has short hours. There were a lot of families visiting the Indiana Dunes National Park. Its great for the kids...nice pool. Its also next to a nature preserve so if you want to go for a little hike you don't have to drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indmomBequia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is nice to know that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us. The staff strives to make each guest feel like this is their home away from home. They are trained to make sure each room meets and exceeds the guests expectation of cleanliness. The breakfast staff works hard each day to make the breakfast experience one that the guest will not forget.
Please visit us again soon when you are in the area.

Eileen Howat
Asst gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you are looking for a place near I-80 between Illinois and Ohio, stop here in Chesterton, Indiana. It is near the Indiana Dunes as to why we selected It. Not knowing what to expect, we found the utmost in customer service right from the start. We stopped in near 11 pm, got a decent deal, had a very nice room. In the morning, the grandkids enjoyed the pool and hot tub, hubby enjoyed the fitness room. We had a fine breakfast, met the very nice maintenance man and the waiter for the breakfast! This truly was the best surprise! When you stay here , you are within three miles of the Indiana Dunes- a beautiful area of hiking, biking, climbing dunes, swimming, etc. This place is worth returning to!

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honors club for special perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mopaulett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful response to our survey. It was a pleasure reading your glowing comments. Our staff strives to make every person who stays with us feel like this is their home away from home. Your comments help us recognize those staff members who are outstanding. I do hope when you pass this way again, you will choose the hotel for you stay.

Sincerely,



Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
411 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
64 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Address: 501 Gateway Blvd N, Chesterton, IN 46304-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing