We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the best surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Richfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This was the best surprise”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you are looking for a place near I-80 between Illinois and Ohio, stop here in Chesterton, Indiana. It is near the Indiana Dunes as to why we selected It. Not knowing what to expect, we found the utmost in customer service right from the start. We stopped in near 11 pm, got a decent deal, had a very nice room. In the morning, the grandkids enjoyed the pool and hot tub, hubby enjoyed the fitness room. We had a fine breakfast, met the very nice maintenance man and the waiter for the breakfast! This truly was the best surprise! When you stay here , you are within three miles of the Indiana Dunes- a beautiful area of hiking, biking, climbing dunes, swimming, etc. This place is worth returning to!

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honors club for special perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mopaulett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful response to our survey. It was a pleasure reading your glowing comments. Our staff strives to make every person who stays with us feel like this is their home away from home. Your comments help us recognize those staff members who are outstanding. I do hope when you pass this way again, you will choose the hotel for you stay.

Sincerely,



Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    135
    42
    16
    9
See reviews for
188
92
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here with a large group in town for a wedding. We were here for one night, others were here for 3 nights. Facility was clean, great amenities. Excellent breakfast , it is an extra charge, not included in room fee, but it is more like a restaurant, large buffet with kitchen for omelets, waffles, etc. Others in the party highly praised the staff for their efforts in making meeting rooms available for group get togethers, They also noted that when an elderly member of the group who requires a cane to get around checked in, front desk staff assisted in getting their luggage to the room and helped to hang their clothes for them. Building and rooms were clean, very nicely furnished, and beds in the room have adjustable firmness. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I was delighted to read the review you gave the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a review. The staff is trained to go above and beyond for each guest. They try to make everyone feel that this is their home away from home. Please come back and visit us anytime.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is nice. Rooms were clean. We had the bed and breakfast deal because it was only $2.00 more on the room, but if you purchase breakfast it is $7.95. The breakfast is great. So many choices on the buffet itself, and then you can order omelettes, waffles or pancakes. The beds were not very comfortable though. They are an air bed (not like Select Comfort). There is a dial on each side that goes from soft to firm. We thought it was broke because it was rock hard. The manager Meghan came up to check on it and sent a maintenance man the next day. He turned both sides to soft. It actually wasn't really soft. I woke up in pain in the mornings. Pool was small but the hot tub/jacuzzi was about half the size of the pool. The only thing that would keep me away was the bed. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesDonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit at the hotel. It is nice to receive glowing comments about the cleanliness and breakfast. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay.
I do want to apologize that your bed was not comfortable and you woke up in pain. I have fowarded your review to my maintenance staff so that they can further access the issue. I do hope that when you are in the area again you will give us another try.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here to spend a day at the Indiana dunes and take the shuttle to Chicago,
Our room was in the lower level - ask for an upper level. Unfortunately the only light was from the one window in the bedroom. The beds are not very comfortable - decor needs updating
Clean, and easy access to the train depot (the shuttle to Chicago is cheap and you avoid traffic and parking)

Room Tip: Don't get a lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhelp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your stay. I informed our maintenance staff of the issues you had with lighting and the bed. These suggestions will continue to help us improve our guest experience. I hope you will consider staying with us again soon.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Room was clean. They said there was free wifi but we were not able to get it to work even after we called the front desk for assistance. The pool was clean and they provided pool towels. The hot tub was big and was not over chlorinated which was nice too. Although the room was fine, next time I will look for a hotel closer to the beach. This hotel location meant we had to drive for everything. The breakfast was fine for a voucher buffet. They make omelets to order and offer hot and cold food choices. There is a small dining room so go early or you'll have to wait for a table.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I was happy to read your survey and delighted you had a wonderful visit at the hotel. I want to apologize for the problem you experienced with the internet. Our front desk staff is trained to help our guests with internet problems but if they are not able to help we do have an 800 number to a help desk. I am not sure if they informed you of that feature. I informed housekeeping you were happy that your room was clean. They do strive to make everyone feel at home. Thank you again for all your comments.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn at Chesterton, Indiana on July 14, 2012. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area. The staff was above and beyond in going the extra mile to make everyone feel so welcome. They were helpful with directions and questions. The morning breakfast was the best I have experienced in any hotel I have stayed. Rooms were clean and quiet, bed comfortable and the amenities were awesome. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your glowing response. I was delighted to hear you had such a pleasurable visit at the hotel. Also, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. The kitchen staff consistently tries to make the breakfast experience as delicious as possible.
I am glad you found all the staff friendly and accomodating
I hope you vist again soon.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

No surprises here - if you've stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn before you know what to expect and you get it. Room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was definitely worth the price - fruits were fresh and in season, eggs were cooked correctly, and the atmosphere was orders of magnitude more comfortable than the "free breakfast included" experiences of the other hotels we have stayed at this trip. Close to Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and State Park, and lots of good dinner options in Chesterton. Only criticism is a bathroom that lacks an extractor fan. Once someone takes a shower in the morning, the entire bath area remains a misty tropical experience for the next half hour, making the mirrors fogged up and unusable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our staff, breakfast, cleanliness etc..
Our staff strives to make each and every guest feel like this is their home away from home.
I am sorry the extractor fan was not working properly.
Please come back soon
Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
2.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.9 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Address: 501 Gateway Blvd N, Chesterton, IN 46304-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing