We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange, noisey place”
Review of DunesWalk Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DunesWalk Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Chesterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in an excellently furnished, clean, interesting old mansion. However it faces on and is close to a very noisey highway and we had real problems trying to sleep. An additional feature is the rall track right next to the road with a crossing requiring whistle blowing. People are no where to be found here so you can get no local information. There is no visible staff, checkin, or dining facilities. The closest restaurant is several miles away. All in all I would not recommend a stay here. The owners should install sound suppressing drapes to help alleviate the road noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for DunesWalk Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family stayed at DunesWalk Inn this summer for 4 nights and we had the best time. We stayed in the Beverly Shores suite and my brothers family had the Furness Suite. The kids are till talking about the bunk beds. The interior was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable...felt like we were in our own home. The location near the Indiana Dunes beaches (which sets for a great back round for pictures) and the Indiana Dunes State Park. Look forward to returning in the spring. This is sure to be a spot for many family reunions in come!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a modern, nice, clean room. You are given a code to enter the house and another for your room. Thus no check in, no concierge, etc. We did not see the owners; only other occupants from a distance, so very different feel from a bed and breakfast. Privacy is nice. The other thing to mention is that we stayed in the Indiana room. This faces Rt 20 and it is a very busy highway with many cars, large trucks, and frequent trains too. It had rained so that made the noise even louder. Lasted throughout the night. I'm a light sleeper so thankfully I had ear plugs. You might need them.


While close to the Dunes Natl park, it's not walking distance to the beach (about 2 miles).


A fun vacation. You should go the ranger led sunset hike on Mt Baldy. Fantastic views.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtrenax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My sister and I visited the Dunes Walk Inn for a 2-day little get-away from Chicago. Part of what attracted us to this location was that it was an old, renovated mansion. However, there's not much history or original charm of the former mansion. It's all new construction, which is fine, but we were disappointed in the lack of an old mansion "feel." Our room was very clean, comfortable and new, but faced Route 20 and the traintracks were steps away. The door codes were a real pain and there's a lack of basics like garbage pails, sundries, etc. Not bad, but somewhat lack-luster.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This summer we held our family reunion at Duneswalk Inn and it truly was a fantastic experience. All of the families fit comfortably in the Inn. It was clean, quite and perfectly located in the Indiana Dunes near Chesterton, Michigan City ,and the Indiana Dunes beaches. The rooms were equipped with kitchenettes that were used for cooking for family meals. We dined out one night in Chesterton and spent a afternoon at the zoo in Michigan City. The kids enjoyed playing in the large meadow on the property. We hope to make DunesWalk Inn our location for our annual family reunion.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Rafi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful relaxing time at the DunesWalk Inn. It was out of the way, yet close enough to town that we had everything we needed to celebrate our first wedding aniversery together. The history of the house and the area is inspireing. We will be back over and over again. I cant stop talking about it, the Inn was the high light of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at DunesWalk Inn. We found modern amenities in a quiet rural atmosphere. Everything was close by. Local restaurants served excellent food and were mot hospitable. We were able to walk and run the rural road and enjoy the nature that surround the inn. A very nice bonus was our welcome package.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
2.9 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
420 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
65 reviews
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DunesWalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DunesWalk Inn

Address: 1491 N. Furnleigh Lane, Chesterton, IN 46304
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterton
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DunesWalk Inn - A renovated 1881 Mansion now a 5 room boutique hotel/vacation rental property situated in the Indiana Dunes just minutes from beautiful Beverly Shores Beaches.Retreat, Relax, Renew at DunesWalk Inn at the Furness Mansion. Situated on nearly 4 acres, DunesWalk Inn brings modern amenities and the comfort of a boutique hotel to a historical setting in the Indiana Dunes. DunesWalk Inn is "your home in the Dunes" with a choice of 2 suites and 3 rooms for your vacation stay, or short-term or long-term rental needs. All accommodations are non-smoking and have private full baths, wireless internet connections, and flat-screen televisions. The suites are furnished with kitchenettes and sitting areas. Our first floor "Furness Suite" sleeps five and has a private deck overlooking our picturesque setting which abuts the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore. In winter, enjoy the private fireplace. The third floor "Beverly Shores Suite" sleeps six and boasts a fireplace, whirlpool bath, and a modern loft-like setting. The second floor offers 3 rooms each with private full baths and two rooms with kitchenettes. DunesWalk Inn also provides our guests with a lounge area with flat-screen television, library, and fireplace; coin-operated laundry services, and vending and ice machines.Minutes to the beach at the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and Beverly Shores, Blue Chip Casino and Lighthouse Place Outlet Mall in Michigan City, and countless other attractions in Lake, Porter, and LaPorte Counties, Indiana and near-by Berrien County, Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing