We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”

Sand Creek Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Creek Campground
Covington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

this is an old church campground made into a camping area. quiet and peaceful. if you want crowds and lots of activities go to jellystone but if you want space, country setting, quiet, and friendly neighbors this place is great. my kids loved it. they lived at the pool. restrooms were upgraded. owners are working on the place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kweirdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and i came all the way down from quebec city, canada, to chesterton, sand creek campground, we went somewhere else before, and really didn't like it, but when we got to that nice family campground here, we really enjoy our stay, people were very friendly, location couldn't be better, close to everything we could wish, 40 minutes from Chicago, 10 minutes from fabulous beaches, 10 minutes from outlet shopping, 5 minutes from nice golf course.......restaurant and more.....our site was beautiful and spacious.....did i forget something/???? we really enjoy it......

Dyane & Mario Quebec,ca

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank dydy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Don't stay here unless you like damp, smelly cabins and gross bathrooms. I could hardly stand to take a shower! The pool isn't usable as it hasn't been maintained and is covered with green slime! The only good thing about this place is their proximity to the Dunes. YUCK, YUCK, YUCK!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

I would ONLY consider returning to this campground if I was traveling in an RV WITH a bathroom/shower. There is only one shower house for the entire camp which accommodates 50+ tent sites. Inside the shower/bath house were three toilets and three showers. The weekend we were there the ladies bathroom only had one functioning toilet. You can imagine the frustration. The camp has not been updated since it was built and many of the buildings are run down. There are other campgrounds in the Indiana Dunes area...be smart and reserve ahead otherwise you'll end up here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nature_Nugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
3.3 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Creek Campground

Property: Sand Creek Campground
Address: 1000 North 350 East, Chesterton, IN 46304-9315
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chesterton
Number of rooms: 140

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing