We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and yummy!”

Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 259 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Robinson, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun and yummy!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Bub's is known for its burgers, and did not disappoint. We ate inside and it gets a bit loud in there, but not too bad. On a nice day, you can't beat an outside table. The staff was courteous and the service is fast. The ice cream is really good, too, and they will even make a smiley face on a kid's cone for you. The neighborhood is wonderful, so if there is a wait, it is nice to walk around and see the statues and just enjoy the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    171
    39
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Birthday Burger”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visited Carmel for my 55th birthday and decided to go for a late lunch at Bub's based on the good reviews. We were lucky in that there was no waiting for one of the outside tables. We both had the 1/4 lb. burger with cheese and bacon. Really enjoyed the burger and the soft bun. Yes, the prices are a little on the higher end but being from Chicago, we are used to an $8.00 burger without sides.

The cole slaw and waffle fries were excellent.

The private parking lot was convenient for us as we strolled down Main street after our lunch and enjoyed the various small businesses.

And BTW, very clean bathrooms.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Higher prices”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A long time favorite in Carmel & right along the Monon, this is a very popular spot. The food is always delicious but now has become pricey. Diet Coke ($2.65), Blackened Chicken Sandwich ($7.65), Onion Rings ($6.45), adding cherry syrup to a coke ($.50), 1/4 # burger ($7.10), bacon bits for the burger ($ .50) & Jalapenos for the burger (1.00). Total bill for two without the tip, $31.07! While I do understand the price of beef has gone up, it seems all the food items have been affected. On the positive side, our server, Katie, was wonderful, as are all the servers always, we go early so we don't have to wait in the long lines that form instantly when they open at 11AM, the food is delicious. The chicken is always moist & full of flavor as are the burgers. Inside, the music is always a little too loud but everyone seems to overtalk it. Just be prepared with your wallet open & at the ready.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Great burgers! Many variations, including Elk burgers! Unique side dishes as well. In an "artsy" neighborhood that is quite unique. Open seating is right off a walking trail and a great venue for people watching. Be sure to visit the ice cream shop inside!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mymysmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Budge on Bub's”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had to try this, won't return. Meat on burger great, however pricey, with minimal pickles, tomato, and overpriced unworthy sides. Please allow a company to update and refine your water system, particularly being right off Monon trail--a refreshing water would have been so nice. Service was very good, workers pleasant and polite!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream also viewed

 
Carmel, Hamilton County
 

Been to Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing