We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Barbeque

City Barbeque
Ranked #18 of 262 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The idea for City Barbeque was born as an invitation to all the people in the city to enjoy great barbeque- America's food. Our award-winning barbeque is made with only the highest quality meats and served with our signature sauces on the side. Huge smokers are loaded daily to guarantee the very best hickory smoked, juicy, tender meat anywhere. So if an authentic barbeque experience is what you're after, look no further. Small groups of folks like us still believe in honoring quality, generations of tradition and true service. Whether you call it barbecue, Bar-B-Que, BBQ, or barbeque - we've got what you are looking for! Our menu boasts premium smoked meats such as Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork, Pulled Chicken, All Natural Turkey Breast, Texas Smoked Sausage, St. Louis-Style Ribs, All Natural Chicken. Pair any smoked meat with our delicious City Sides for a true 'que meal! City Sides include baked beans with brisket, mac & cheese, corn pudding, green beans with bacon, fresh-cut fries, mixed greens with pork, potato salad, hand dipped hush puppies, side salad, gumbo and corn bread. Finish it off with one of our made-from-scratch desserts: peach cobbler, triple chocolate cake and banana pudding. We proudly dedicate our lives to the pursuit of barbeque and happiness (yes, in that order)!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

After hearing from friends and reading excellent reviews, we decided to give it a whirl on July 4th. It did not disappoint. I liked ordering from the counter rather than a menu and offerings were many. The food was hot and steamy, flavorful, and plentiful depending on what you ordered. Plenty of seating. We didn't have to wait long at all. Will return with family and friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank shduning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! I am happy you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Indiana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having a husband that barbeque's himself and has been to Memphis numerous times - we can be really picky when it comes to BBQ. The sampler plate is the best valve with a taste of everything. The brisket is my favorite as brisket is harder to do yourself.

A little tip - go at an "off time" as this place is always packed during lunch and dinner.

Restaurant is clean and staff are friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Stacy! Thanks so much for naming us the Best Barbecue in Indy! We really appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BBQ to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

OK, I usually don't give 5 stars on reviews but City BBQ nailed it. Been there 4 times in the past month and I've had just about everything except the brisket (which I know is excellent). The sausage, the pulled pork, the ribs, and add their spicy and sweet BBQ sauce, it's a recipe for awesomeness. Service is prompt, bathroom is clean, and the whole place is almost spotless every time I visit.

The only gripe I have is the dearth of seating during rush hour, but that just shows how much people like this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't Judge by the Outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I held off eating here since it is located in a strip mall and nothing special from the outside. But the inside has great character and a southern atmosphere. The food is great, I will definitely go back. See photos by iGrade.

Helpful?
Thank iGrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went there with my wife for lunch. We both had the lunch special. Not a bad price for a sandwich and 2 sides. The sandwich was the size of a slider. The price was around $7.99. The pork had a good flavor. They had several BBQ sauces to choice from and the ones we tried were good. I like the fact they didn't add sauce to it. I had the vinegar based slaw and it didn't have much of a tang to it. The thing I missed about the whole thing is there was no real BBQ smell. When you drive up it should smell like Barbecue and most of these new barbecue restaurants don't. The restaurant was clean and look the BBQ part. Overall we enjoyed it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturetrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Barbeque also viewed

 
Carmel, Hamilton County
 

Been to City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing