We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, I expected way more.”
Review of Blu Moon Cafe

Blu Moon Cafe
Ranked #33 of 259 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overpriced, I expected way more.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was very dissappointed in this place. I went here for my birthday. Both my husband and I got sandwhiches and it seemed really pricey for what we got just for lunch. We traded halfs and I wasn't pleased. Their suban was mediocre and lacked taste, their mexican torta also seemed pretty bland. I can understand why this place is popular with the local wealthy house wife and business crowd, but I just wasn't impressed. I feel like you pay for the atmosphere and pay for their rent in the carmel design center. We won't be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IndyRunner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent deli salads”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've been to the Blu Moon for lunch now perhaps 5-6 times, most recently on Friday, August 24, 2012. It's attached to the Indiana Design Center a block or two from the main drag of the Carmel Arts District.

Decor and atmosphere is stylish and airy, with very high ceiling and tall windows allowing in plenty of light. A relaxing environment, staff that is friendly and welcoming.

Large outdoor dining area under a robust awning is a good option for warm weather (although summer in Carmel has been a bit too hot for this of late).

We've found their deli salads - curry chicken, chickpea and olive, "'rainbow" coleslaw, tuna salad, etc to be reliably delicious and I often stick with the "trio" plate of three salads.

Also a favorite for us has been the half-sandwich and salad plate.

In general sandwiches have also been very nice, although once or twice I've had a sandwich-of-the-day that was a bit dry to my taste.

Can highly recommend for a casual lunch near Arts District in Carmel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“great neighborhood eatery”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we grabbed a quick bite to eat and were very pleased with the quality and quantity of food the variety is fun and fresh ….coffee is excellent..service helpful and warm a fun place to meet or take out...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great coffee...better biscuits and gravy”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Love to visit Blu Moon for breakfast. The coffee is excellent! But their biscuits and gravy is incredible. They go for a red gravy that superb. A hearty comfort meal with incredible coffee. Also a great place to park with your computer and get some work done.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMGIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh, friendly and tasty food”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

You can't go wrong with anything you order. I love the breakfast sandwich ( make my own and is served after 11:00am also). Uses fresh produce and meats, the salads are great and creative ( chicken, tuna, pasta, broccoli,and others). Great selection of tea and coffee. I like to eat breakfast here ( because I have to have veggies) but would make it for a perfect spot for lunch too. And if you are not into healthy leaving, there are some wonderful bakery items and cakes freshly made for you :-) A plus for me is that they treat the employees really well and is locally owned!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UpscaledIsGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Moon Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Hamilton County
Carmel, Hamilton County
 
Carmel, Hamilton County
 

Been to Blu Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing