We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Renaissance, but not worth the money. . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's a Renaissance, but not worth the money. . . .”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have to start off by saying that I absolutely love Renaissance hotels. When I checked in (early), the staff was amazing and even let me change rooms since I hate connecting rooms. I probably should have stayed in the connecting room, though. I had a friend over and since there aren't a lot of places to sit in the room, he (who is extremely tall, but not heavy) sat down on the edge of the bed and ending up flipping the mattress over as the mattress was basically on top of a much smaller mattress holder. I'm extremely petite and even when I sat down on the edge of the bed, I could feel the mattress slipping down like it wasn't secure on what they stuck it on. Although it's a nice hotel and everything else was great about this stay, I don't think that the beds would meet the Renaissance standards in any way and I wouldn't recommend paying the extra money for a hotel where you may fall out of the bed and have the mattress fall on top of you.

Room Tip: Any room where the mattress is actually sitting on top of something that will secure it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    96
    39
    7
    10
See reviews for
85
72
24
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We first started staying here when they first opened. We loved it. We felt like special guest every time we came (about 2 or 3x's a year). The waiter would remember us and what we liked. As time went on the Renaissance became more popular and busier. With that came over worked staff and a colder welcome. The last 2 times we stayed there we felt like it cost more than it was worth. They didn't go out of their way anymore to make sure your stay was pleasant. In fact they were busy enough they really didn't seem to care if all went well with your stay. This was our special hotel that we'd love to go to for weekend get away's. Now we find another hotel that is a better value and just as nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The stay here was excellent and staff was terrific however I would advise the management that the Restaurants/ although food was good, took a long time to prepare, and the menu was limited. Breakfast Buffet was mediocre at best. The good news is that there a multitude of low price and fine eating places not to far away. (Great if you have a car) . The hotel could learn a bit by researching local establishments for pricing and variety of foods and drink. Relying on the captive audience for this important incremental income is not going to make this very nice hotel a total success. I would take a cab not to eat there everynight. "they need to Think what could we do to keep guests here at the hotel!"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachwalkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent another weekend at the Renaissance Indianapolis North (Carmel). Again a great location with an excellent staff. The weekend guests included several youth sports teams, but you would have never known they were in the hotel, had we not seen them in the lobby. This hotel is a regular stop to and from fall college games. And you can always count on a fine stay, rather weekday or weekend.. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coquina213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Renaissance hotel in Carmel Indiana is a gem among smaller chain hotels in the area. The lobby and restaurant stand up to the quality and elegance that begets the Renaissance name. Josh at Grille 39 was attentive and helpful - our table near the fireplace was cozy and the food outstanding. The rooms are standard Marriott rooms, no frills but they are spacious and clean. All rooms have a pull out sofa bed in them and a desk with plenty of outlets for charging. Small bathroom, few amenities, but again, clean. I recommend getting the package that includes breakfast and wifi, if not the wifi is 9.95 per day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times on business meetings over the last few years. It has always been a very well kelped and clean hotel. Very beautiful lobby and nice bar area. The hotel staff are always friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were quite surprised that the hotel restaurant Grille 39 was so good. The grilled sea bass was the best I've ever had and the bread basket was filled with homemade flat breads, including delectable rosemary cheese and cinnamon raisin. It took all of my self control to stop eating them. The hotel room was okay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis/Carmel
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Carmel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis/Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Indianapolis Carmel
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis Carmel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Indianapolis Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel

Property: Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel
Address: 11925 N Meridian St, Carmel, IN 46032-4545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Hamilton County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Green Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded #1 in Event Satisfaction by Marriott International, the only Renaissance Marriott Hotel in Indiana has recently been unveiled in the charming suburb of Carmel, Indiana. Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel is a top hotel near Westfield, Indiana and an upscale, sophisticated hotel located north of downtown Indianapolis. Our hotel truly reflects the vibrancy of the area, inspired by the neighboring Carmel, IN arts and design district. We are a new luxury hotel that boasts a modern, energetic design as well as creative spaces that blend unique style with advanced technology. Conveniently situated in the Meridian Corridor, Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel offers easy access to The Palladium, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the new Lucas Oil Stadium, Monon Trail, Connor Prairie, Indianapolis Children's Museum, fine art galleries, world-class golf courses, attractions, and major corporations. Our hotel in Indianapolis, IN is a modern treasure to be experienced; where hospitality is a fine art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing