We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I recently visited this hotel, which is near Indianapolis. Below are the Pros/Cons/Tips from our experience:

Pros:
~Friendly Staff
~Clean room
~Comfortable furnishings
~Great food
~Good A/C (we stayed during the hotest days of the year....106 degrees...and the room stayed very cool and comfortable)
~Lots of parking
~Easy to find
~Quiet

Cons:
~Upon leaving, the front desk person did not ask about our stay. We have found this in other hotels, so it seems to be more common than not. Considering we are reward members and stayed in the hotel for two nights, asking about our stay would have been nice, if not expected.
~Pay-per-view movie channel had technical issues (static, cutting in and out, etc.).
~Shortly after we arrived, we went to the club level room to get some sodas. When we came back to the room, one of the employees was entering our room with his key (even though we had just checked in and had the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. Apparently, he was confused about where he was supposed to be, but we can't help but wonder what would have happened had we not arrived back at the room as he was entering, considering all of our belongings were in the room and unsecured).
~The shower did not drain well and continued filling up as we showered
~While the location is close to the freeway, there are not many options as far as dining. There are several businesses in the area, but not a lot of restaurants nearby.

Tips:
~Ask for a quiet and/or room on a high floor. We requested this and not only did they place us in a corner, quiet room; they also provided us with club level access.
~Request extra towels and pillows or you may not have enough for your stay if you don't.

As a side note: I noticed a couple of people stating there was a funny odor to the hotel and/or the hotel rooms. I have a pretty keen sense of smell, and I did not notice any unusual or bad odor, nor did my husband.

This is a very nice hotel; however, I guess I expect more out of a Renaissance hotel. This property was just very nice, but it in no way blew us away. This would be a great place to stay if you are in town for a conference or event and just need a nice and comfortable room for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and/or a quiet room. Also, definitely be sure to eat in their restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

I wanted to write and thank you for leaving an excellent and detailed review for our Hotel team and our future guests. We really appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to address the concerns you listed.

Please be assured that our Maintenance team is investigating the issue you experienced with the Pay Per View channel as well as the shower drain in your room.

I would also like to hear further regarding your check out experience as well as the situation where you found a Hotel Ambassador entering your room. We do offer a complimentary turn down service for our Club Level guests, but you are absolutely correct that an Ambassador of our hotel needs to acknowledge and respect our guests "Do not Disturb" signs. In regards to your departure from the hotel, it seems like our Front Desk Ambassador did not perform at the level we are accustomed to. For these inconveniences you experienced I certainly do apologize.

If convenient for you, I would like to discuss these two items further so I can ensure I understand them fully and can begin corrective action. You can contact me directly at lucas.laidlaw@renaissancehotels.com at anytime. Thank you again for your feedback and please don't hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further service.

Sincerely,
Lucas Laidlaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 387 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

I was here for a conference and I have to say the food they provided was amazing though very expensive! Our room was nice but smelled of body odor...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djsc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you very much for commenting on the quality of our rooms and the food served at the Hotel during your conference. We certainly take a lot of pride in our establishment and we appreciate the kind words.

I was very sorry to hear that you detected an unpleasant odor in your room. I understand that situations like this can be extremely frustrating when traveling, and I assure you that this is not our standard. Please be certain that we are investigating this with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Team to ensure all guestrooms smell clean and fresh. I assure you that we will find the root cause of the problem.

We take our guests experience very seriously, and if there is any further direct feedback you would like to provide me regarding your stay, or any area I can assist in, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at lucas.laidlaw@renaissancehotels.com.

Sincerely,
Lucas Laidlaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is nice, new hotel. The staff is really nice. But when we checked into our room it had a really bad smell like curry heaven or a 500 man with BO. So we asked to be moved to another room. Second room had the same smell. Not sure if it is the new furnishing or what.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and service and will certainly share them with our team.

I also wanted to personally apologize for the fact that there was an out of the ordinary smell present in both rooms you encountered. I understand that situations like this can be extremely frustrating when traveling, and I assure you that this is not our standard. Please know that I am working with our Executive Housekeeper to investigate the root cause of this incident to ensure it does not happen again to any of our guests.

At the Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel, we take all of our guests experience very seriously. If convenient for you, I would like to arrange a time where we could discuss this incident so I can ensure I am addressing all of your concerns. I can be contacted via email at lucas.laidlaw@renaissancehotels.com. Thank you again for your time and response, and we look forward to being of service in the future.

Sincerely,
Lucas Laidlaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was just on a Business trip to Indy last week and stayed at this hotel. It top drawer. As soon as i walked in. I saw a smile and a happy employee. I was checked in and up to my room in no time. The room was cozy. Nice TV, Avg size bathroom and a good desk area. This is perfect for a business trip. The exercise room is good. I used one of the treadmills. Each treadmill has a TV on it. This was a quick trip. In and out, but i will be back to this spot. If your in Indy, then give it a shot.

Room Tip: Get a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here just one night for a wedding nearby. It is a very nice hotel with a large and comfortably elegant lobby. The fitness center looked nice, but unfortunately a morning after a good wedding with a long drive following doesn't typically inspire a workout for me.

Despite having sort of an odd shaped corner room, it was comfortable and had everything we needed. The room had funky looking lighting which was unique, an enhanced looking work power station desk and the basic everything else you need/expect. Nothing to complain about.

The bar was a good place to grab a drink and share a hummus plate before departing for the evening, sadly upon our return it was too late for another round.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Renaissance in Carmel on several occassions and this is an aboslute first class hotel. The lobby, bar and restaurant are very contemporary and well appointed. The staff was eager to serve and being Platinum I was upgraded to the Conceirage Level where I took full use of the Executive Lounge. In my opinion this is the best hotel in Carmel or for that matter northern Indianapolis. I would stay here again in a heart beat and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the northern Indianapolis area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMarlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We really enjoy staying at this hotel. It is very clean and the employees are helpful and kind. It is close to downtown Carmel and we like to get up and run on the Monan. They have a great breakfast buffet in the morning too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenapastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Indianapolis Carmel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis/Carmel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis/Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Carmel
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis Carmel
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel

Address: 11925 N Meridian St, Carmel, IN 46032-4545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Hamilton County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Green Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $103 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded #1 in Event Satisfaction by Marriott International, the only Renaissance Marriott Hotel in Indiana has recently been unveiled in the charming suburb of Carmel, Indiana. Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel is a top hotel near Westfield, Indiana and an upscale, sophisticated hotel located north of downtown Indianapolis. Our hotel truly reflects the vibrancy of the area, inspired by the neighboring Carmel, IN arts and design district. We are a new luxury hotel that boasts a modern, energetic design as well as creative spaces that blend unique style with advanced technology. Conveniently situated in the Meridian Corridor, Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel offers easy access to The Palladium, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the new Lucas Oil Stadium, Monon Trail, Connor Prairie, Indianapolis Children's Museum, fine art galleries, world-class golf courses, attractions, and major corporations. Our hotel in Indianapolis, IN is a modern treasure to be experienced; where hospitality is a fine art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing