We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Largs Pier Hotel - Motel
Nearby Hotels
Lakes Resort Hotel(West Lakes)(Great Value!)
$127
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindy Lodge Motel(Woodville Park)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Manhattan(Enfield)(Great Value!)
$99
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enfield Motel(Enfield)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pavlos Motel(Pooraka)
$68
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero(Prospect)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Mawson Lakes(Mawson Lakes)
$99
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Fitness center
Mawson Lakes Hotel(Mawson Lakes)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
74
76
21
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
76
21
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage roomdinner with friendsvictorian eracolonial feellovely historic hotelsalt pepper squidmeal timespork bellyfrench doorsunder coveracross the roadschnitzeltop flooradelaide areabalcony overlooking the beachbottle shopcorner room
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 197 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We wanted to visit Port Adelaide and its superb maritime museum, but also wanted to be near the beach so this hotel was ideal, being directly opposite Largs jetty. As usual we did not use the hotel restaurant, but it was obviously very popular. Instead we walked to Semaphore (about 15 minutes) and used the local Malaysian/Thai restaurant.
We had a ground floor room facing the road but were not aware of any particular traffic noise. The room was very comfortable and reception service was friendly and professional. There is very lively beach scene all along this section, from Henley through to Largs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alistairiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

All we need was a couple of bags of ice and the attended looked us up and down then said for you $10. anywhere else in Australia it is almost half that price. The food is nice inside but again the prices are blown out.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion D, Manager at Largs Pier Hotel - Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

The Largs Pier Hotel Sip'n’Save drive-through bottle shop is first class. Offering a vast selection of Australian and international wines, spirits and beers, the ‘bottle-o’ makes for excellent one-stop shopping. The bottle shop is perfectly located for last minute purchases for your day at the beach or for stocking your cellar. It has been serving South Australians for 60 years being the first drive through bottle shop established in Australia in 1953. A quick survey of local hotels indicates 5 kilo bags of ice available from the Largs Pier Hotel Sip n Save bottle shop are competitively priced as are our wines, spirits and beers.

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed dining at the Largs Pier Hotel. We endeavour to provide quality for your hard earned dollar and believe our very popular Largs Bar and Pier Restaurant have menus which appeal to most people’s palate and pocket. The seaside address of the hotel on The Esplanade Largs Bay ensures it a very popular spot for guests looking to have a day by the beach or enjoy dinner watching the sun set over the Bay. Please note our Hotel staff are very happy to provide complimentary buckets of ice to ensure your drinks are chilled while dining at the hotel.

Regards,

Vicki Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

How nice to find such a well preserved old historic hotel. This is not a location we know and we were really happy with our stay - sure, there is not much around the hotel but luckily it offers so much you don't need to worry. A great bar, Art Deco themed Restaurant, great breakfasts and easy parking. The bathroom is very small but well appointed. Bedroom is really well appointed and thought out with attention to detail and a nice couple of touches - like the way the kettle plugs in, and tasteful furnishings for the most part. The room we had is HUGE...perhaps the only strange thing is that anyone staying in the hotel or using facilities on ground level can walk and sit just outside your room - so if you want privacy you need to keep the curtains on 4 large windows fully closed ! We didn't have any issue with excessive noise on the weekend we stayed. Thanks Largs Pier for really charming experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion D, Manager at Largs Pier Hotel - Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hello Katkat22,

So good to hear you enjoyed the grandeur and old world character of the heritage listed Largs Pier Hotel. This iconic hotel has won awards with the Australian Hotel Association at both state and interstate level for its value for money mid range accommodation. Guests tell us they enjoy ambling along the boardwalk to Semaphore, cooling their heels under the jetty on a hot day or checking out the mad keen windsurfers and sailors on the weekend. The balconies wrap around the L shaped wing of both levels providing outstanding Bay views. Deluxe and Exec Spa room guests have direct room entry to the balcony via French doors.

Balconies are exclusive to in-house accommodation guests as key access is required to activate the landing hallway doors. Patrons enjoying the facilities of the Largs Bar and Pier Restaurant are welcome to sit on the decks and veranda areas of the hotel which are directly opposite the beach and children’s play area. There’s something for everyone at the Largs. Thank you for letting us know of your experience.

Regards,

Vicki Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I went to this fabulous venue to celebrate our anniversary, as we had our reception there many moons ago. Suffice to say, we were underwhelmed and somewhat disappointed. Here's the long version:

Checked in. Fantastic staff at the check-in counter, told us about the restaurant, the breakfast, what time sunset is, the room service menu, everything. Very friendly and can't fault them. Wish every hotel desk was like that.

Went up to our room, we stayed in the Executive Heritage Spa Suite, room 1. Rooms are huge, fitted out well, if anything the rooms are a bit too big, but it is a 130ish-year-old hotel so don't expect the absolute latest mod cons in regards to stratospheric ceilings. The boardroom-like table upon entry was fantastic and made for some great photos around sunset time. Excellent touch, that.

The bathroom is cavernous but fantastic. Spa worked a treat. Shower pressure was great. Now the bathroom was fantastic, but the cleanliness was not. There was long brown hair everywhere. Ew. Great cleaning job guys.

The bedroom is huge (running theme) but there was a glaring disappointment: 2 king single beds does not equal a king bed. Come on people. A big gap in the middle of the bed hardly whispers romance does it?

We went down for dinner in the Pier Restaurant, which was littered with flies both alive and dead on the floor. There's something about this place and a relative stagnation of air. It needs real fans. Having said that, the food was fantastic, service was prompt and with a smile, as it has always been.

The balcony and corresponding view is fantastic; you open the door and there it is. From this, though, starts a bone of contention:

Around 7ish that night we were enjoying the view from inside our room, as we had just walked on the beach. Anyways out of nowhere some Neanderthal and his leathery wife walk in front of our window (shocking us), pick up our table and chairs, and move them over to just out of our vision, but in front of the boardroom/dinner room door. From that, they parked their bods, sucked on some sav blanc, oysters and prawns, and laughed the night away, much to our chagrin.

Now from what I read, we had a shared balcony. This is fair enough. Having said this, any one who has a keycard for any part of the hotel/motel (and staying in a less expensive room!) can go wherever they please, and go in front of whoever they please. My wife and I weren't too sure what exactly to do in this situ: do you walk out there and tell them to go away? Do you ask politely? Do you whimper in your room like a coward, scared that their oyster-laden blood will tip them over the edge? I consulted the Largs Pier Hotel Information/Rulebook to see what the rules were on the balcony.

It does state that it is a shared balcony, but to call reception if there are any issues with other guests. I did so and got put through to the Gaming Room - the reception closes after 6pm, I assume - and was told that it was a shared balcony, and there was nothing that could be done. Fact.

This pissed me off to no end. What's the point of paying more for a better room/view when someone can walk in front of your room and drop his balding bod in front of yours? Why advertise a balcony then?

We retired to the bedroom, defeated. We drowned our sorrows in a bottle or two of Bird In Hand moscato and woke up with a lovely headache. Thankfully, they do breakfast downstairs. We went down there to have breakfast with the bloody flies. Yeah I get it was summer, but still, have some air movement people. The breakfast was lovely (again) and the service was great (again). Can't fault that!

Unfortunately, the neanderthal and his purse had sucked 2 dozen oysters and a fair few prawns dry, yet the staff hadn't picked up the plates left, so 8ish hours in 25*C heat meant that we walked out to a balcony that smelt like Bolivar. I can't blame the staff for not picking up the plates, as they probably had completely forgotten about it. Maybe don't let twits like that dine on the balcony?

Used the express check-out and left a note regarding our stay. It was followed up a few days later (prompt!), outlining that we are to contact the managers on duty if that happens again, even though we did that. What's the point of paying for the better room when you can crap on someone else's night and save $50? The letter outlined that this issue has been dealt with and won't happen again, so I would love to read other reviewers' experiences after The Issue has been dealt with. I'd also like to thank the manager for his prompt letter back regarding the issue. It is nice to feel like your voice is heard.

All in all, the service and face-to-face contact was fantastic, but the few drawbacks were major. Underwhelming and disappointing. Would love to give it a try again possibly in winter months to give it the benefit of the doubt.

Room Tip: Ask if any Neanderthals are staying. If so, bring a rock to beat them away from your stoop/balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FluffyCushions205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion D, Manager at Largs Pier Hotel - Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We were very pleased to hear you were impressed with the level of service, dining and accommodation at The Largs Pier hotel which has won awards with the Australian Hotel Association both at state and national level. I work on the front desk of the hotel and remember checking you into the Executive Spa room. As owner of the hotel, I was delighted to commend our Function Coordinator for your return based on the quality of your wedding reception held at the Largs Pier Hotel two years prior.

As advised, the issue regarding exclusive use of balcony tables for guests who have booked deluxe and executive rooms has been addressed. We took immediate action to ensure your experience will not be repeated. We endeavour to continually improve the facilities on offer at the Hotel. Guest feedback is an integral part of this improvement program and as such is highly valued.

We look forward to your return to once again enjoy the unique ambience and attributes of this heritage listed sea side hotel.

Vicki Dean
Largs Pier Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in the motel for a couple of nights. It was clean, functional and comfortable. Staff were pleasant enough. Air conditioning unit worked well but was noisy. Nothing really to complain about. It just didn't do anything to impress.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews