We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique wildlife experience and a homely stay”
Visting Wallabies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Visting Wallabies
View from the private balcony Queen Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Visting Wallabies
View from the private balcony
Queen Bedroom 1
Private balcony
Lounge
Visting Echidna
Early Morning Fog Lifting
Black Cockatoos
Queen Bedroom  2
View from the river
Balcony View
Backyard
Front View and Off Street Parking
River walk
River Reflections
Antiques
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blackstone Heights, Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DanielQ48...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Unique wildlife experience and a homely stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family and I enjoyed a 3 day-2 night stay in this lovely abode. We enjoyed the unique experience of being up-close with wildlife (e.g. literally inches away from the possum). The place was comfortable (cozy, heated beds, lovely antique furniture etc.) and Jane was always at hand when we needed any extra help. We appreciated the special effort in creating an "Asian corner" which contained spices we used when we prepared our meals. We were also able to enjoy a full day tour with her partner who operates a tour service. Would definitely recommended this bed and breakfast over the typical hotel experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
Thank you Daniel for the review I am happy that you and the family enjoyed the retreat with the wildlife up close. The possums do like to get on the guests balcony and look around from time to time. Spring is here and there is a lot of activity with all the wildlife at present. I hope to see you all back again one day. Regards jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairemda...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway and lovely host”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a perfect getaway. We stayed here in March with our young daughter and loved how homely and cosy it was, the quiet and peaceful location and most importantly, seeing the animals every night in the garden. It was so relaxing and we were very well taken care of. I can't recommend the B&B highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you Claire for the review. I am always looking to improve the surroundings for the guests. The balcony is about to have a roof put in it to make it totally rain proof and pull down blinds to keep the rain out making the stay even better. Guests will be able to sit outside on their balcony and enjoy the views and wildlife no matter what the weather is like. Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R A
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful B&B Surrounded by Nature”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We apologize for writing this review so late. Things got hectic on our return to the US. I thought I had written the review already. This was a superb B&B! The setting is in a residential neighborhood overlooking the South Esk River. Had we known the setting was as beautiful as it was, we would have changed our plans and stayed here longer. Everything about this B&B was wonderful. It had WiFi, wildlife cameras in the backyard, all the food provisions we needed. Jane, our host, was very friendly, she explained what's to see, do and eat in the area. Plus, she was just a lovely person to have conversation with. Since my wife was on a Gluten-Free, soy-free and dairy-free diet, Jane made sure all the provisions we had were acceptable for my wife. I cannot emphasize enough what a tremendously positive impact this one small aspect had on the quality of our experience! On both nights, we saw plenty of wildlife....so no disappointment there. The town center was an easy few minutes drive.
If you're into wildlife, proximity to nature and hiking trails along with serene and quiet nights, then this is the B&B for you. If we get back to Tasmania, we will be sure to book a longer stay at this B&B. Thank you, Jane!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Many thanks for the wonderful review, I do love to hear how guests enjoyed their stay and I'm please you enjoyed it enough to visit again one day. Being Spring at present we are woken up each morning to the sound of birds at this time of year they are in full force. We are about to install a large black water feature with huge bird bath just outside the BnB balcony so going forward the guests are going to enjoy watching the very colourful Tasmania green parrots taking a bath along with all the other birds in the area. Looking forward to seeing you is it again one day. Regards from Jane and the wildlife.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adetravel...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing experience and luxurious relaxation”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for three nights and if I had one word to say it would be - Wonderful!
The rooms are decked out in luxury and comfort. The breakfast provisions cover all tastes and even supplies of food to feed the wildlife in the back yard. We had wonderful evenings watching the visiting wallabies and possums and in the daytime........the birds!! The accommodation is close to town without being in it and easily accessible to all major routes through Tasmania's lovely north. If you are a nature lover, a traveler, or just a lover of relaxing and enjoying the magical scenery, This is the best place to stay in Launceston.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Thank you for the review Joy it was certainly lovely to catch up and its always welcoming to have someone in the retreat that loves nature day and night. I have many others say the same thing that relaxing a few days on a busy journey is important after all it is a holiday but at the same time the retreat is a great location to base yourself when exploring the north of Tasmania. I hope to see you back again one day. Regards Jane Oakley-Lohm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil b&b retreat in suburban Launceston”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We loved our three nights in this beautiful home away from home, overlooking the tranquil North Esk River, with lovely gardens and lots of wildlife coming in at dusk to feed. A generous breakfast is provided, and the welcome pack has lots of ideas for activities in and around Launceston. You will need a GPS system or a phone with GPS to find it, particularly if you are arriving at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you David for the review, I glad you enjoyed the views of the South Esk River and wildlife. For people coming to the retreat if you keep following the signs to the Launceston Country Club Casino you will then see the sign to the retreat. I also can send out maps to show you the way in. Looking forward to seeing you back again David. Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amonia028...
Saint Jeannet, France
1 review
“Everything you would like to find at a rental place is in here.”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

As it was our final step across Tasmania, we were enjoying our stay at this place. We found everything we need to cook, to chill out... And with the wildlife in the garden, kids were really happy and will remember these two nights forever. I fully recommend this place if you want to relax just few minutes from the city.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you Amael and family for the review, it was certainly lovely meeting you all and I'm so pleased the children and yourselves enjoyed the space. The children will be able to check in on the wildlife from time to time through the website link. All the best for the big adventure in SA. Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceC24...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and lovely place”
Reviewed December 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Launceston is our first stop of our honeymoon and we are so blessed by the beautiful house which has everything we need, comprehensive facilities, private and spacious space and we can stay in to enjoy cooking our own meal, walked around during the day and sat in the cottage to enjoy the space and balcony to watch the nature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2016
Congratulations again on your wedding, it was so lovely to met you both and share your special time. Thank you for the feedback and to hear you enjoyed the space, views and wildlife, I can see the birds feeding right now and the wild goats and deer across the river as I write. All the very best to you both for 2017 Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing