We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience and luxurious relaxation”
Visting Wallabies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Visting Wallabies
View from the private balcony Queen Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Visting Wallabies
View from the private balcony
Queen Bedroom 1
Private balcony
Lounge
Visting Echidna
Early Morning Fog Lifting
Black Cockatoos
Queen Bedroom  2
View from the river
Balcony View
Backyard
Front View and Off Street Parking
River walk
River Reflections
Antiques
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blackstone Heights, Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
adetravel...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing experience and luxurious relaxation”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for three nights and if I had one word to say it would be - Wonderful!
The rooms are decked out in luxury and comfort. The breakfast provisions cover all tastes and even supplies of food to feed the wildlife in the back yard. We had wonderful evenings watching the visiting wallabies and possums and in the daytime........the birds!! The accommodation is close to town without being in it and easily accessible to all major routes through Tasmania's lovely north. If you are a nature lover, a traveler, or just a lover of relaxing and enjoying the magical scenery, This is the best place to stay in Launceston.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Thank you for the review Joy it was certainly lovely to catch up and its always welcoming to have someone in the retreat that loves nature day and night. I have many others say the same thing that relaxing a few days on a busy journey is important after all it is a holiday but at the same time the retreat is a great location to base yourself when exploring the north of Tasmania. I hope to see you back again one day. Regards Jane Oakley-Lohm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil b&b retreat in suburban Launceston”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We loved our three nights in this beautiful home away from home, overlooking the tranquil North Esk River, with lovely gardens and lots of wildlife coming in at dusk to feed. A generous breakfast is provided, and the welcome pack has lots of ideas for activities in and around Launceston. You will need a GPS system or a phone with GPS to find it, particularly if you are arriving at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you David for the review, I glad you enjoyed the views of the South Esk River and wildlife. For people coming to the retreat if you keep following the signs to the Launceston Country Club Casino you will then see the sign to the retreat. I also can send out maps to show you the way in. Looking forward to seeing you back again David. Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amonia028...
Saint Jeannet, France
1 review
“Everything you would like to find at a rental place is in here.”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

As it was our final step across Tasmania, we were enjoying our stay at this place. We found everything we need to cook, to chill out... And with the wildlife in the garden, kids were really happy and will remember these two nights forever. I fully recommend this place if you want to relax just few minutes from the city.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you Amael and family for the review, it was certainly lovely meeting you all and I'm so pleased the children and yourselves enjoyed the space. The children will be able to check in on the wildlife from time to time through the website link. All the best for the big adventure in SA. Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceC24...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and lovely place”
Reviewed December 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Launceston is our first stop of our honeymoon and we are so blessed by the beautiful house which has everything we need, comprehensive facilities, private and spacious space and we can stay in to enjoy cooking our own meal, walked around during the day and sat in the cottage to enjoy the space and balcony to watch the nature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2016
Congratulations again on your wedding, it was so lovely to met you both and share your special time. Thank you for the feedback and to hear you enjoyed the space, views and wildlife, I can see the birds feeding right now and the wild goats and deer across the river as I write. All the very best to you both for 2017 Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My mum and I had a wonderful stay at this property. It was so relaxing to come and retire at the end of a busy day. The property had everything that my own home would have, made available for my enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2016
Hello Rebecca its lovely to get the reviews and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the retreat. Perhaps we will get to see you back this way when you visit the Craft Fair again. PS My daughter does know the same friend of your mums in Pokhara hows that for a small world please say hi to your mum for me. Kind Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z
Nanjing, China
2 reviews
“familial atmosphere”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The owner of the apartment is very warmhearted. We got a detail introduce. The retreat is more like a family place with heavy smell of life. A large quantity of facilities makes us feel comfortable. Beyond the river we saw the sunset over the mountain. And we observed wild animals in the garden through the cameras at night. Everything is amazing. Thanks!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
I'm happy that you got a good sunset, the retreat faces north west so we do see some great ones along with magnificat stars on a clear night. Thank you for the review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, the possums are about to have their babies leave the pouch which we will see being carried on their mums back so check the videos on the website to see them. I hope to see you all back again one day. Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaVolk...
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
“Very cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for 3 nights at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat and we definitely enjoyed our time there. Jane is a very nice, helpful and supportive host. The special highlight of this place is that you see wallabies in the backyard, even at night Since there are cameras which transmit the pictures to your TV screen. The beds are Perfect and very comfortable and Since the place is also very quite we slept like babies...
The whole apartment is decorated with love and makes you feel like home.
Just the kitchen is too small for cooking and there is no dish-washer...
We definitely can recommend staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2016
Thank you for your review, and I am happy that you enjoyed the space, beds and the wildlife. Yes the kitchenette is not huge hence we have more cooking facilities just out the door with the large undercover BBQ. I am looking making a few changes in the Kitchenette which may take place next season. I hope your ongoing travel is safe. Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing