We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer at this lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This beautiful property is only a 10 minute drive out of the heart of Launceston but with delightful wildlife metres from your door and a gorgeous view of the South Esk river you will feel you're truly on retreat. Our hosts were welcoming & thoughtful - Jane went above & beyond when providing supplies for breakfast (vegetarian as requested) and the accommodation itself was very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend B&B, particularly to nature-lovers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegetarian_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane O, Owner at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your feed back,its lovely to know that as a family you all enjoyed yourselves. Today the river is amazing the fog is thick and you can;t see the other side of the river which means once the morning sun hits the river the fog starts to dance across the water lifting to be a magnificent day.
As winter comes along we see this often and we also see the wild goats and deer on the top of the river bank waiting for the morning sun to hit so they can get warm. Hope to see you all back again this way one day.
Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

This retreat is a 'oncer' - once you have been here you never want to be anywhere else. Prior confirmation by Jane, confirming arrangements were appreciated and her graciousness upon our arrival was most welcome. Nothing has been spared to deliver outstanding accommodation and quality. Once you have stayed here, it will become your benchmark for all future B&B's. The approach through suburban roads, belies what awaits and as you turn into what seems to be a normal residential home, you soon become aware that something lies beyond. On entering the fully self contained apartment, you are drawn to the extensive patio that overlooks the South Esk River - evening finds again that you once more return to this patio to watch the neighbouring wallabies and other wildlife feed in the back yard.
Without a doubt I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheldy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane O, Owner at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hello and Thank you for your feedback. All feedback is very well welcome and you have such a great knowledge of being in the tourism industry for 40 years. The retreat is my passion and not a job therefore it it my pleasure having guests and sharing the river and the wildlife.
I'm always looking at extending guests experiences once they get here and at present I have a spot light being installed which will filter over the river at night, of course placed in such a position not to interrupt the wildlife that are calling the backyard their safe place.
Looking forward to seeing you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We frequently visit Launceston & prefer to stay at B&B's. We were so pleased to find this wonderful Bed & Breakfast Retreat.
The location was a pleasant drive from the Highway & upon arrival we knew instantly we would have a wonderful relaxing two nights with such tranquil surroundings.
Jane has thought of everything - right down to special 'treats' which were very much appreciated.
The rooms are beautifully furnished & have everything you could wish for. Attention to detail is unsurpassed & nothing has been overlooked.
As has been said before in other reviews there is everything you require for breakfast. Cooking facilities are available or there are good restaurants within a short drive of the property including the Country Club Casino.
Opening the sliding doors onto the large deck overlooking the lovely South Esk River was just perfect. On our first morning there was a slight mist which made the view all the more spectacular.
Then of course there is the wildlife which you can watch on your TV screen as they feed in the garden of the property. Jane is very passionate about 'her wildlife'.
Overall a great stay & we certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane O, Owner at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

I'm so glad your enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you both and a pleasure having you, its always lovely to have wildlife friends staying. I'll be in touch with your daughter soon and introduce myself. Hope to see you back again one day.
Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was a fantastic place to spend out last two nights in Tasmania and we not disappointed. Jane was terrific making us feel welcome and provided us with everything we needed. The accommodation really made us feel at home and all we needed for breakfast was included (fresh fruit, cereal, yummy bread, bacon, eggs etc). Jane even went the extra mile in contacting us about local events - the National Penny Farthing Championships at a lovely village fete (that was certainly an event to remember!) and then the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra for a picnic in the Park. The wildlife was a real treat for us and we didn't realise how much time had gone by as we become mesmerised watching wallabies, possums and a bandicoot from the cameras. This is one B&B not to be overlooked. We can't wait to return when we come back to Tasmania again. Thanks Jane!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hullstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeol77, Owner at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay,it was lovely meeting you both and sharing the garden, views and the wildlife, the mum to be possums pouches are bigger then ever it won;t be long till we have a baby possum or two.
You can keep an eye for all the wildlife updates via the website under back yard videos..
Looking forward to seeing you back one day.
PS Yes the Penny Farthing event at the historic town of Evendale is a one of!
Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Launceston Bed and Breakfast is a perfect location for a family holiday. Just 7min drive from Launceston, very convenient to all the Tamar attractions. We stayed for 2 nights could have stayed for 5 nights easily. Kids loved it and wanted to stay over longer. So many wild animals at dawn and dusk. See wallabies, possums & my son even got up close to a bandicoot! We counted 7 wallabies including a mother her baby happily feeding away. The host Jane has do e a great job installing two infrared cameras so even after dark guest can watch the animals feeding being screen live on the Internet and TV if they choose.
I loved the ease of the self catered kitchen and laundry. Breakfast provisions were more than ample with fresh breads, massive fruit platter, eggs, bacon, fresh OJ,yoghurt, cereal & plenty of coffee. BBQ outside makes it easy to cook dinner or breakfast if guests choose. Although the local charcoal chicken is too convenient and delicious not to test out at least one night.
AppleTV and iPod music an unexpected bonus in the B&B.
Plenty of privacy too with two separate bedrooms,full bathroom with separate bath and shower. Best part is the tranquility and ambience of being above the river. Just peaceful relaxing on the balcony with glass of wine, Tassie cheese & crackers overlooking the river waiting for the wallabies to wander in for a feed.
We will be back again soon!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane O, Owner at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hello,
I'm so glad you enjoyed the whole experience of the retreat, its wonderful that you had some time to take out of your busy itnerary and just sit and reflect on the views and wildlife and at the same time found the retreat's location well positioned for you to visit other wonderful sites around Tasmania. The protected Southern Brown Bandicoot is back I'm sure Robert would like this one as well, although bigger than the other bandicoots. Tell Katherine to keep any eye out on the website for the vides that are uploading, at times you can see new small bulges appearing in the pouches which means there is a new generation on the way.It will be lovely to watch the babies start to peak out of the pouches soon.Looking forward to having you all back again one day. Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My fiance and I had a great 2 night stay recently and we were very happy with our choice. We had not stayed at a B&B before but on arriving in Tasmania and having our first stay in the state we decided we would do something different. It was so great that we tried to stay at B&B's from then on as we were converted. We were close to everything here and it was a lovely place to relax with lots of wildlife.

Room Tip: Either room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane O, Owner at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello,
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay, the retreat is only new so its wonderful to get the feedback. The fact that you went on to use more B&B's whilst in Tasmania is great for the small businesses like the retreat.I hope to see you back again one day.
Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although a bit difficult to find without GPS and a concern along the way that we would be staying in suburbia, once inside, relaxing on the balcony enjoying the wildlife, you would never know where you were. Jane made us feel very welcome and the breakfast hamper was a treat. It was very peaceful and well appointed and we would come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane O, Owner at Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, you will be pleased to know the street signs have been approved and are now in place making it so much easier to find. We have added a very special treat for guests. We now have placed video cameras in the garden to capture the antics of the wildlife, this can be viewed live on the guests TV in their lounge. Soon we will have a collection of videos which will up loaded onto the retreats website so guests can start to enjoy the wildlife even before they arrive or still after they have gone. Hope to see you back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackstone Heights
3.0 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
927 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#6 of 30 in Launceston
751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
3.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,574 reviews
2.9 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat

Address: 77 Bayview Dr, Blackstone Heights, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Blackstone Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blackstone Heights
Price Range: $186 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIVER VIEWS and WILDLIFE EXPERIENCE: Boutique B&B /apartment right on the river video cameras with infrared lights are discreetly placed in the garden to capture the wildlife antics at night, this footage is streamed live onto the guests TV in their lounge. Two bedroom, lounge, huge balcony all over looking the South Esk River, Kitchen/laundry with powder, private entrance undercover BBQ, bathroom with bath and shower, seperate toilet. The retreat only takes one booking at a time you get the whole floor. Full Breakfast provisions. Whether you are in the Launceston area for business or pleasure the Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat is a perfect place to unwind and relax. Come and stay at this retreat right on the banks of the South Esk River, all the main rooms overlook the South Esk River where the birds and native animals call home. Enjoy the sounds of birds settling and rising, and watch the native wildlife from your own private balcony.Enjoy a short bush walk to the South Esk River with direct access from the retreat. Ideal from 1-4 people travelling, 15 mins out of the centre of Launceston, where you will find the famous Cataract Gorge, many more restaurants, art galleries, shops and City Park. The retreat is in a wonderful location to base yourself and explore the north of Tasmania, so much to do within an hours drive, Casino, Barnbugle Golf Course, beaches, Tasmania famous food trail, the lakes district (for fantastic fishing), waterfalls, bush walks, wineries, bike trails, markets, historic towns, Launceston airport and the Spirit of Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Launceston Bed and Breakfast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing