We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Albury, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed two nights and it was the most excellent place to stay and we would highly recommend it.
Janie and Brett were excellent hosts and were very helpful in directing us to where to visit around Launceston and we are glad we took their advice also on where to eat.
We also enjoyed the most delicious breakfasts, one could ever wish for.
We definitely will be visiting Trevallyn House again.
We give them a 10/10.
Neville, Leonie and Matthew.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Neville, Leonie & Matthew, We really appreciated your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we always try to let guests know about the best things to see in Launceston and the Tamar Valley. We really look forward to seeing you all again. Janie & Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights when in Launceston recently, due to arrived our late flight into Launceston we made prior arrangements with Janie who was very happy to accomodate our travel plans, Janie even waited up to meet & greet us on our late arrival. This was our first stay at a B&B and we found it ecxcellent, the breakfasts we had were excellent. We even made mention at one point of our fussy 4 year olds breakfast appetite during a conversation the day before, the next morning we found Janie had made a special trip out to accomodate for him. This was well above of expectation and is a simple example as to why Trevallyn House has such a good rating on Trip Advisor. The unit that we stayed in was very spacious and extremely clean & comfortable. We would recommend Trevallyn House to anyone with kids or without. Nice views from over the valley looking towards the Tamar River. Thanks Janie & Brett for the fabulous level of service & accomodation that we received on our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We always try to accommodate people's needs when they stay with us. We appreciate your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed two nights during driving tour of Tassie. Picturesque location in a well appointed stately home perched above the Tamar Valley, close to, but not in, Launceston town. Our host, Janie, made us feel very welcome and provided excellent advice on where to eat and things to see. Room was well appointed with a large ensuite, including shower and spa bath. The guest lounge was very comfortable with a warming fire and complimentary Port. Breakfast was a standout and I wished we'd stayed longer than our two nights so I could try all the options! Trevallyn House is great value and a most enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. We would love you come back and try the other Breakfast options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

So glad to have discovered this delightful B&B before booking an inner city hotel room. After a three night stay, the conclusion is that this place is absolutely deserving of their high rating on TripAdvisor.
- Beautifully situated with even better views than I had expected.
- Janie and Brett were wonderful hosts and very welcoming/helpful as well as professional.
- Breakfast was delicious and fresh with many different options available.
- The room (queen suite) was very comfortable and large, quiet, and tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was equally good. The photos on the web don't do the place justice.
- Excellent value for money, especially once you take into account the full gourmet breakfast and drinks for which you'd be paying upwards of $25 per person at most cafés.

I hope to stay at Trevallyn House again one day, but until then I would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Queen suite which had nice big windows facing towards the wonderful view of the Tamar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very fortunate to live in such a special place with great views that we can share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our first stay in a BnB and it was magnificent. The breakfast menu was amazing. We were definitely impressed by a luxurious night at Trevallyn House. Bed was very comfy with a choice of pillows. Don't be put off by it being a little out of the CBD as it is only a couple of minutes and you will not be disappointed. EXCELLENT

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was a pleasure having you to stay. We believe that being that little out of CBD is a bonus. Quiet and tranquil with great views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Janie and Brett certainly looked after us. A real home away from home and so handy to everything. Very disappointed we couldn't stay longer but had made other arrangements. Terrific breakfast. We will certanly return but for a longer period.

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottage is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you. Our pleasure. Thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed one night at Trevallyn House on our Tassie road trip. The House is located in a lovely quiet spot outside the cbd with a nice view of the river. The atmosphere is classic with a feeling of history. Our room was comfortable, warm and we had a very good sleep. Breakfast in the dining room was very good and it was interesting to chat with other guests. Janie and Brett were friendly and helpful hosts. We enjoyed our brief stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Ontheroadagain2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are sorry you couldn't stay longer but pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
2.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
880 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
875 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Property: Trevallyn House B & B
Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom self-contained Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something specia. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing