We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have just completed 3 nights stay at Trevallyn House and although we rarely do reviews, we felt this B&B deserved a positive review. By luck we chose Trevallyn House via our research on the internet. We were greeted at the door as we drove in after a long day of travel, shown to our very large, spotless and beautifully decorated room with ensuite and spare room and shown around the house and its beautiful gardens. We were made to feel at home immediately by our wonderful hosts. The queen size bed was as comfortable as the one at home. Breakfast was to die for, superbly presented and tasty with a variety rarely available at other B&Bs. The assorted fruit dish was an unexpected addition to our cooked breakfast; our compliments to the chef. The location, although out of Launceston, was ideal as we wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of a city and if we did want to go to Launceston, it was only a 5 - 10 min drive. The views across the Tamar River and Valley was spectacular as was the garden. We would have no hesitation to recommend Trevallyn House to anyone and when we go back to Tassie and Launceston in particular, we know where we will be staying again.

Arend & Kay de Weger, Gumdale, Queensland

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akdeweger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are thrilled you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Tassie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed or stay at Trevallyn House
We were fortunate enough to stay in the cottage overlooking the magnificent homestead we enjoyed for breakfast. Our Hosts Brett and Jane were extremely accommodating in any requests we had and the efforts they made in preparing meals was extraordinary.
The views in particular from the dining room are “Postcard Perfect” and you have no choice but to relax overlooking the manicured Gardens
We are looking forward to getting back there next time we are in Launceston

Room Tip: The cottage is great little oasis right next to the main House, Very Worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pansec11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are delighted you had such a great experience staying with us. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Trevallyn. Delicious breakfasts at a communal table where we met our fellow guests. Wifi and tv available. Comfortable surroundings and we sat outside with a glass of wine in the evening enjoying the views.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llijyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We can truly say that Trevallyn House is a fantastic place to stay. The views from the cottage are amazing as are the tranquil manicured gardens. Janie & Brett are fantastic hosts and the gourmet meals we had in the dining room made us feel like royalty! Can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you very much for the fantastic review you gave us. It is so nice to receive feedback from our Guests. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fantastic place to stay, the hosts were very personally and gave great local knowledge. The location even though a few minutes drive from the centre of Launceston was very quiet and peaceful (something needed when travelling). The highlight was the amazing breakfast and the choices were varied. Worth a visit - a definite stopover.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerrieAJohnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Wow!! Brett and I value the wonderful comments you have given us. Hopefully we will catch up when we get to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Another relaxing and tranquil stay but this time in one of the main house rooms, as we wanted to utilise the free wi-fi access, which is a pleasant bonus.

The included gourmet breakfast is still delicious and plentiful. The Eggs Florentine was perfectly cooked, fresh fruit salad, proper coffee, raisin toast (plus plenty of other food to choose from) - all served and cooked by Janie and Brett who are extremely friendly and helpful.

There are so many little extra touches in the rooms - port, chocolates, wine & champagne glasses, plates, toiletries, not forgetting the fluffy towels, that make Trevallyn House B&B a place worth going back to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your amazing second review. Your reviews mean so much to us and especially our future guests. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We found Trevallyn House B&B on TripAdvisor and where impressed by the comments/ratings and the price range, so made a booking, we were extremely lucky to get in given was peak travel time. The hosts could not have been more obliging, they have a lovely home and enjoy sharing it with weary travellers. The breakfasts were way beyond the normal B&B fare, which was a delightful surprise. You cannot go pass this B&B if staying in Launceston.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janettem_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the breakfasts, as we think they are quite special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
0.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
135 reviews
3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.8 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 33 in Launceston
183 reviews
3 mi away
Kurrajong House
Kurrajong House
#1 of 33 in Launceston
175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hi George
Hi George
#5 of 33 in Launceston
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range: $113 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom self-contained Spa Cottage with lovely views. 5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre, the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route. Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience. The Gourmet breakfast is something specia. Guest Lounge with wonderful views. Ample off street parking. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing