We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My parents, husband and myself stayed in the cottage for one night. We arrived in the early afternoon and were attracted by the stunning view outside of the cottage, so we decided to go down to hill to Woolworths supermarket (just 5 mins walk) to get Tasmanian vegetables and beef to do the BBQ on the porch.

Pleasant weather, great food with wonderful view, we had a really happy evening.

This is not all. The next day breakfast was the best breakfast I've ever seen and had in my life. There were 5 or 6 main courses to choose from. Besides the main course, there were also fruit salad, cereal, toast tea, coffee, hot chocolate..... You can never believe it's a B&B breakfast!!

Five stars!!!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom cottage
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cgclviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Lovely to read your review. So pleased that you and the family had a great stay in the Cottage. Our breakfasts are certainly very special, and we try to have choices to suit everyone. Hope to see you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Trevallyn House B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is easily the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in, and it is the only place we will stay on return visits to Lonnie. Every last comfort had been catered for. Even the scented oil in the bathroom was perfect. As for breakfast - it was amazingly good (Brett, that rosti is to die for!). Well done, Janie and Brett - this really is the best B&B we've seen. To everyone who is reading this - you HAVE to stay there!!!

Room Tip: The views from Unit1 are stunning.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoybelleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review. So pleased that you found us and enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Janie & Brett were an absolute delight and made this stay for us as lovely as possible. The room was immaculate and the bed very cozy -allowing us to indulge in 9+ hours of much needed sleep after 18 months of planning a big wedding! We loved the bathtub/spa and the decor of the home.
Breakfast was sublime -Brett has a fantastic range of gourmet plates from saffron scrambled eggs with salmon to mediterranean medley of fetta, sun dried tomatoes and chat potatoes all with freshly squeezed juices from their kitchen. The location is fantastic just 10 minutes north of Lonnie and we were left extremely satisfied with the accom, value and service these hosts provided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AceAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

It is a real pleasure to read such a heartfelt review of our B & B. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Honeymoon is our wonderful State. Our very best wishes to both of you, and it was a pleasure having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was probably the best b&b we stayed in during our 12 day stay on Tasmania and compares favourably with some of the best b&bs we’ve stayed in over the years. Certainly lived up to its luxury description - this was a very relaxing place to stay. Janie and Brett were most welcoming without being at all intrusive. The house itself is conveniently placed for the city centre being about a 5–10 minute drive away.

We had the room at the front with a great view of the Tamar River. It was very spacious and comfortable with a lovely bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. The guest lounge with log fire was equally comfortable. The ‘gourmet’ breakfast certainly lived up to its description – there was an extensive choice: with fresh fruit, and cooked from the traditional to scrambled egg and smoked salmon, or fresh asparagus wrapped in prosciutto. All this at a very fair price which doesn’t increase unreasonably during the season.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room at the front with a view of the Tamar River
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TruckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

It was really nice to read your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you may return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Two of us stayed 3 nights in the cottage and enjoyed every moment of being there. Janie and Brett are outstanding hosts whose warm, open welcome is backed up by a very professional approach and these things together made our whole stay terrific. There is nowhere else we would stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROSIEStJohn_s_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Lovely to read your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband daughter and myself stayed for 1 night as a much needed getaway. It was perfect. The rooms were clean, stylish and comfortable. My daughter wanted to take her bed home!
Not only was it peaceful, but the views were gorgeous, port on the terrace...fantastic.
The highlight though was breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange or carrot juice, the potato rosti, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was delicious. We all loved our different orders. The hosts were attentive but not overly so. Loved it and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

So pleased that you all enjoyed your little break away for the week-end. Look forward to meeting the rest of the family next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Trevallyn House was the best B&B we have ever stayed in as a family!
Janie and Brett are wonderful hosts - they make you feel very welcomed, are a mine of information about the local area (attractions, restaurants, wineries), but are also unobtrusive.
As a party of 4 adults and 2 kids, we booked the cottage and a room in the main house. Both were very comfortable, clean and spacious.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfasts are a work-of-art!! We all enjoyed Brett's creations each morning. There was even a great option for my son who is anaphylatic to eggs and nuts.
The House is conveniently situated for trips to the wineries, local attractions and restaurants.
Don't miss : the penguins; Beaconsfield mine; the wineries (esp. Pirie!!); the naughty monkeys in City Park; and Jailhouse restaurant for a good value family dinner.

Room Tip: The cottage is fabulous for a family with 2 kids.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

It was a pleasure having you and the family to stay with us. Always nice to receive feedback when we are appreciated for the extra things we do. Pleased to you all enjoyed the breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
2.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
5.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range: $109 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom self-contained Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something specia. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing