We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Launceston and to see the Tamar Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Launceston and to see the Tamar Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

This was our second stay in the gorgeous self-contained unit.
Janie & Brett provide a most warm and welcome place to stay and the breakfasts are amazing - nothing is too much trouble for these wonderful generous hosts!
The unit is beautifully furnished and comfortable with extra touches like port and chocolates.
The views from the unit and breakfast/dining room are truly wonderful as is the lovely lawns, gardens and paddocks surrounding the home and unit.
I recommend this accommodation to couples - as you can stay in the house and enjoy even more sumptuous comforts, and families. On our last stay this year there were 4 adults and one 3 y.o. accommodated in one queen size bed, two king size singles and a very comfy portable bed for the child.
Our only regret is that we cannot stay longer.....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollipop888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
92
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

A friend and i were fortunate enough to stay in the two bedroom cottage at Trevallyn house recently. We found Trevallyn to be particularly high quality accommodation. The house has a rich and fascinating history, and the hosts were lovely, helpful people. A carafe of Port and a couple of chocolates were left for us on arrival, very nice touch!

Trevallyn is a good 5 minute drive from the city and the location is surprisingly suburban despite the B&B being on a large acreage. The view on the approach is quite stunning, with sweeping views of the Tamar River (though not the most picturesque river system on Earth!)

The cottage is a well appointed two bedroom, with full kitchen, spa bath, and a flat screen TV in every room. The view from the front room was brilliant, and the general level of cleanliness and tidiness was excellent. There is a large supermarket just around the corner, and with the fully featured kitchen (of the cottage) it would be possible to become pretty self sufficient here if you needed to - for a more budget holiday.

Mobile reception (via Optus) was very poor, calls could only be made from the deck outside the cottage (..from multiple handsets). Tasmania is really a Tesltra stronghold, so for longer stays involving travel to more remote areas you will require an alternative carrier - I usually pick up a Telstra prepaid SIM for extended journeys, it works in most places. In general if you stay in Launceston or Hobart you should not have any problems, and theoretically the main highway connecting the two cities through the centre of the island is OK (though patchy), but everywhere else… get a Telstra SIM!

The Wifi reception in the cottage was pretty abysmal, and restricted to a few square metres in the front bedroom. My laptop picked up multiple wifi networks in surrounding houses (a long way further away..) but not the b&bs! The router in the main house could do with an upgrade, a secondary access point or a repeater. This was really a minor issue for us, but something people dependant on connectivity should be aware of.

While this is not the most convenient place to stay if you wish to explore Launceston on foot, if you plan to travel around the hinterland while basing yourself in town then this would be an excellent choice. It is very comfy and close enough to the city to still enjoy some of the quality restaurants (and there are quite a few), provided you don't drink too many Boags..

Lastly - the breakfast was scrumptious, truly 5 star quality. We would definitely consider staying at this B&B again in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcurlywhirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Recently stayed the night after a late flight into Launceston. We hired a car so no problems getting there but the best part, was because we were staying in the two bedroom cottage at the back it didn't matter that we were coming in around 10pm. Hosts kindly left directions to get to B&B and arranged for late entry. Would be a great place to base yourself while looking around the Launceston area, particularly the cottage as you have everything you could need and such a quiet and beautiful place. I would have loved to stay extra time just to get a chance to try out the spa bath!

The breakfast was also great would highly recommend, reminds me of B&Bs in the UK. Plenty to eat and the hosts were very helpful with directions and recommendations. Supermarket nearby which was helpful for us as we started our trip the next day to Cradle Mountain. Would definitiely visit again.

Room Tip: The cottage was good for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macca2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for three days and two nights in the two bedrooms in the main house. My parents and my mother in law in one room and me, husband and toddler son in another. Both rooms are superbly clean and nicely furnished. Janie and her husband are welcoming, very approachable and made our stay extremely enjoyable. The view from the living room was just the icing on the cake!

Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone visiting Launceston!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tongrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Thank you to Janie & Brett for your hospitality and the breakfast was amazing.
Great B & B with the most comfortable bed and welcoming hosts who were able to give us great hints on our trip to Tasmania.Great views across the Tamar River to the ranges.
Woolmers at Longford is well worth the visit to see a grand Homestead and its outbuildings .Our tour guide Robin Archer gave a great insight to his families history.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenhide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed in the Trevallyn House in late January 2011, this was our last trip before the arrival of our baby.

Janie and Brett were very friendly, relaxed and helpful, they gave us a lot of good suggestions on what to see in and around Launceston.

The room was very clean and spacious, with a comfy bed.

The breakfasts were delicious and healthy.

We only stayed for a few days but could have easily enjoyed the accommodation for longer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

This was the best value accomodation i stayed in during my trip to tasmania. My friends and I stayed in a cottage for 4 with our own living room and kitchennette. The bathroom even had a spa bath (with water jets). The porch had a gas BBQ and one would imagine this to be a great feature in good weather. The house also had a large LCD tv that could play movies straight from our USB hard drive which was fantastic.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast and the lovely owners - Janie and Brett. Janie was so accommodating even though we needed breakfast early at 7am. The breakfast was exquisite and tasty. Thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying especially in good weather as the dining room faces the river.

The B&B is only minutes away to the town and cataract gorge. It is also on the Tamar valley wine trail so it's really quite convenient for touring.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
2.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.6 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Kurrajong House
Kurrajong House
#1 of 31 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Property: Trevallyn House B & B
Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom self-contained Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something specia. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing