We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Tamar River Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamar River Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Superb value motel within 5 minutes from Launceston city and other beautiful area attractions, including the Tamar River, various parks and other must see sites. I have stayed here a couple of times in the standard rooms. The spacious rooms have been completely refurbished, with modern furniture, plasma televisions, great cooking facilities and lovely bathrooms.

The location of this motel provides a great base to enjoy visiting several local wineries. Danny and Fiona provide friendly family orientated management and enjoy having a chat and resolving any issues guests may have. This motel is absolutely the best value accommodation in the Launceston area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    64
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 21 it was clean and spacious. However it was certainly had a very dated kitchen. The heater has an auto cut off and turns itself off all the time. I certainly would not want to stay in this room when the temp very hot and very cold. We ran out of hot water and when the apartment upstairs flushed or showered was very noisy. There is traffic noise but we were so tired we able to tune it out. The laundry cost $2 to wash and $4 to dry but you need to dry twice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Well i am kind of a person whi doesnt waste time writting reviews but both the managers have been so good to our family of 4 and the room was so good that i cant complain. One of the best accomodation.

Zeeshan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zeeshan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I travel to Launceston for family visits monthly. We have been staying at Tamar River Villas for well over 12 months now. We always stay in an upstairs unit with a great water view and find the unit clean and well presented. We usually cook our meals and find the kitchen adequate, and the bed/lounge room plenty large enough. Cannot fault hosts, Danny and Fiona, always greeted with a smile and a welcoming chat. This is not five star accommodation, nor is it a five star price. Our number of stays speak for themselves.
Kevin S

Room Tip: Upstairs units have nice water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in this place recently and found it to worst experience in Tasmania. We travel every school holidays and our experience in this place was not a fond one, the shower was in the bath and at 5ft 10 I had to stoop under it, the toilet was poked around the corner behind the wash basin and being sandwiched between a major highway the traffic noise was unbearable.
The lounge was filthy dirty and the flourescent light in the master bedroom above our heads was coated in a thick dusty layer and I think you get the message.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danLaunceston7250, Manager at Tamar River Villas, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Pleasantly surprised to here Guest's comments, we as Managers understand if there was dust on the light, we are responsible, our Lounge Suite is only carrying general ware and tare, from consistent Motel use.
Our shower is over the bath, our toilet is arround the corner for some privacy, not behind the wash Basin, unfortunately they were designed this way before we arrived as Managers, Guest's still request Baths knowing the Shower is over the Bath, we do have some with walk in showers on request, The Highway is out of our control.
Our Guest's were booked in to a Studio, as Managers we could see there was a third party traveling,and decided to upgrade Guest's to a Two Bedroom Apartment, I guess some times things just dont go to plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We arrived late afternoon after a flight from the mainland. It was in a rather hard spot to find the first time,between two one way roads, but in the end centrally located for our day trips. Small shopping center down the road and a great little restaurant on the premises.

We were given a room upstairs to start. When we found out we had to lug our bags up the stairs they gave us a disabled room on the ground floor. It had a small kitchen and plenty of room to spread out. It is an older hotel and a little tired but it was clean, and the couple who ran it were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our disabled room did not have parking out front and was behind the stairs. Stayed 5 nights - an overhead light was taped up on arrival with no globe and never fixed during stay making room dark. Also, shower curtain rail came loose. It was taped up but never properly fixed during our stay. Room was not serviced during stay. However Steve's Grill, the onsite restaurant had excellent views, service and food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisabledClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
1.9 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#7 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamar River Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamar River Villas

Property: Tamar River Villas
Address: 23-27 Elouera St, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamar River Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamar River Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing