We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Main attraction for this property was affordability and location based on internet information. We'd asked for a early check-in based on arrival by ferry from Melbourne, This was not acknowleged and we were told to check-in at 2pm. Luckily we carried a hard copy of our booking and a choice of rooms appeared from no-where! The receptionist comfirmed no credit card imprint was required or breakfast vouchers needed. The room was spaceous, very clean and had all the basics in working order. Bedding especially the mattress was well past expiry date and one of the pillows was cotton wool thin with 3 layers of pillow protectors. On the first night we retired early after 24 hrs of travelling only to be disturbed by Reception demanding a credit card imprints and our breakfast menu. Not impressed as this could of been resolved 12 hrs beforehand. The Bistro was quite busy with local trade and the menu seemed over-priced compared to Sydney restaurants offering the same style. However, the food was of exceptional quality, expertly cooked, value for money and well worth dining for 2 nights in a row. It's unfortunate that a negative attitude towards customer service appears 'viral' with senior employees and supervisors. An easily identifiable training need that Oasis Management has to rectify. Witnessing a Kitchenhand urinating behind the staff smoko area wasn't a very pleasant experience either. The property's saving grace was from a Room Attendant by the same name, Grace not only provided invaluable location information but also ensured our room was professionally serviced as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurnished room with a new bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melvyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 243 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Dined here for a second time for a family get together with my small children. Play area is a REAL plus as are their deals for kids. Kids menu GREAT! My two year old had roast of the day and veggies and my son had pasta bolognaise - no need for chips ALL the time! Not fancy, a bit crowded and noisy but exactly what I'd expect. If dine elsewhere if I was on a 'date night' but got family friendly value it's great.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Bel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked into Riverside Hotel Motel for 4 nights while in Launceston as the cost was very attractive. The Hotel Motel is an easy 10 minute drive from the city and would use this Hotel Motel again if in Launceston.

The Motel is associated with the Hotel but this did not impact on our stay. The meals at the Hotel are also very quite good and for pub meals were equal to what I have had elsewhere. Cost of meals was very reasonable.

This is not place if you want a gym and all the additional facilities of a 5 star hotel but if you are looking for good clean and economical place to stay, this is the place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCGMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staff friendly, food reasonably priced. My partner enjoyed his trout meal, I had beef schnitzel it was fine, the onion rings were good.

Can be busy, and sometimes it can be noisy but if you can sit on the bar side it is a bit quieter.

Great for families and has a children's play area.

All in all 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed in an un-renovated room and it was still excellent. Bed was old but comfortable,bed lined was good quality and towels were large and soft (unusual for a property of this type). Had a reasonable size flat screen TV. Small kitchenette (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery, microwave coking utensils but n hotplate or oven) was very useful. Very good convection heaters but no airconditioning. It is attached to a hotel with a very popular bistro (I didn't eat there this time but have enjoyed their food and service in the past. Easy drive into Launceston

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahstack, Manager at Riverside Hotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi GC Business Traveller,
We are very happy to be rated an 'excellent budget hotel'. Our two styles of rooms - renovated front rooms and unrenovated rear block give travellers a very reasonalbe price choice with both being great value. We hope you get a chance to dine with us next time you stay, appreciate your time to review us. Thanks from the Riverside crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was great price and clean. Dinned on busy Saturday night. Promo Lamb Shank dish was superb and Med Rare steak cooked to a tee. Greeting at reception and by wait staff friendly. Lovely busy appealing place, will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJARET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahstack, Manager at Riverside Hotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi KJARET,
We appreciate your time to review us and great to read your comments on both our Bistro and rooms. The kitchen crew always get a buzz out of getting good feedback and we will certainly pass on to the rooms team that they are keeping up to our motto of being excellent value for money. Look forward to see you at The Riverside again. Thanks Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ordered three meals in the restaurant. One of the specials basically a burger, 3 eggs, deep fried battered onion and slices of raw potato cost $30. Another meal we ordered was the Calamari! Don't do it. There were 6 pieces of possible fried/crumbed calamari knotted (Not in rings) on lettuce, that was it. The kids meal chicken nuggets was what you would expect.

The customer service from most staff was non welcoming.

Won't be eating there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahstack, Manager at Riverside Hotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hi Craig,
Thanks for you review, we appreciate the feedback. We try our hardest to make sure our meals are the best we can produce. I can only offer our sincerest apologies. The Riverside is one of the busiest Family Bistros in Launceston with over 1300 meals served a week, so this time we certainly missed the mark. I'm sure our management would like to see you back and would even make sure your meal was on us next time if you mentioned your review. Best Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
3.1 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#23 of 30 in Launceston
566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
1.4 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Motel

Address: 407 West Tamar Rd, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: $67 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel Motel is located 4.7 kms from Launceston city centre, within close proximity to the Cataract Gorge, Penny Royal World, the Gunpowder Mill and Launceston Lakes Trout Fishing Complex. It is also the gateway to the many attractions of the Tamar Valley and wine route. The Riverside Hotel Motel offers excellent guest accommodation, and guests can enjoy a meal at our family friendly Bistro or unwind after a long day in the Sports Bar. Just 20 minutes from Launceston airport, the Riverside Hotel Motel is a family orientated establishment offering true Tasmanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverside Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing