We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for sailors.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for sailors.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very good hotel for the sailors renting a boat at Kalamaki Marina. Not expensive, clean, very friendly staff. There is a good connection both to the city of Athens and to the airport. Good beach restaurant, roof pool, bar. Some noise from the traffic.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a senior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 750Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    311
    137
    40
    38
See reviews for
204
296
92
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel gives you the best of both worlds; the beach is not the finest but is right outside the door where there is also a bar and a basic restaurant. The pool on the roof is great and affords terrific views. Easy access from a tram stop in front of the building to Athens centre or Pireus port or ultimately the airport although a taxi will cost €35 and is so much easier. The hotel rooms are small but adequate. Apart from the beach being shingle rather than sand the other draw back is the prices for drinks. You're best going to a bar or the kiosk outside or the supermarket next door. Overall though ideal if you want to mix a beach/pool holiday with the ancient wonders of Athens

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Situated right on the beach with a tram stop at the entrance - The hotel is a bit old, but the rooms are very clean and the staff are very helpful. We had the breakfast buffet included in our room rate and it was an impressive spread. There is a nice beach across the road with several restaurants serving authentic Greek seafood. Rooftop pool & bar with some good views - for the price, we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipistrello808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The place has a great view and that tops for everything that the place had to offer. The hotel lies close to airport and is not far from many of the attractions in the city. Room was small in comparison but was an effective one. It was clean, came with a view and basic amenities and a staff that were around whenever we needed them. The breakfast was also good . They have a good bar and pool area which is one of the best parts of the stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suphapkul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I travelled on the Contiki Greek Island Hopping tour and the Poseidon Hotel was our meeting point and stay for 3 nights. It is about half an hour from the airport and directly in front of the beach which great views. The rooms are small but comfortable and the buffet breakfast was great. Hotel staff were really helpful and friendly. I loved the rooftop bar and pool area- very modern, clean and gives a great view over the beach. Directly in front of the hotel is a metro stop which takes you into Syntagma Square, central Athens in 25 minutes. Great location as Athens is a place I would only spend max 3 days. 10 minutes’ walk are a few restaurants which serve nice meals and drinks. Also try the beachfront restaurant across the road- a bit more expensive but worth the setting and your first night in Athens!

Room Tip: Try the rooftop bar and pool for beach sunset views. clean and modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights, we were a group of 26, and I was a bit dissapointed of how they made the arrangements for us, considering they asked for a list of how we wanted to sleep 2 weeks before we went. The rooms are clean, there are enough plugs in the room we only found 2 including the one for the TV; you only have a nice view if your room is in the front side of the hotel; also another downside is that there is no WiFi in the rooms, you have to stay in the reception lobby for that. The food was very good, greek cuisine which I consider to be a plus. Overall it was nice, but it can really be improved in some aspects.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roxy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Greece
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

With only a month left to prepare for my wedding, I managed to visit 5 hotels (in the areas of Glyfada and Paleo Faliro) as well as do food tasting. Poseidon Hotel won my favour with its outstanding staff service, collaboration and of course most importantly their excellent food - my congratulations to the chef on his very good work!! Moreover, they first took my interests into consideration and then theirs, which is very rare in the commercialized world we live in today - they looked after us as one of their own.

They allowed me to make last minute changes (within reason of course) which I must commend them for because I need to admit that in the month of December where staff go on holiday, winter colds have kicked in, food suppliers are closed for Christmas and guest table layouts needed to be changed due to cancellations or additions there was A LOT of hard work involved. I had selected the Hall Venue as i had around 185 guests, it was a warm, spacious yet comfortable area which made me feel relaxed and stress free. Special mention of Marianna for all her wonderful advice - appreciated during wedding preparations, and Hlias who regardless of his personal family difficulties at the time made extra effort to help me with all my last minute changes. They also provided an area for myself and my girlfriends to prepare favors for my guests and their staff assisted in the placing of these decorations and favors onto the tables. A big thank you to all the staff who helped towards this - the outcome was beautiful!!

The wedding suite was spacious (separate bedroom and lounge), and accommodated for the dressing of the bride, being me and of course my family and friends could wait in the lounge area and enjoy the exceptional seaview from the balcony. My guests who came from Cyprus and actually stayed at the hotel praised me for my choice of hotel. It was easy for them to get to from the airport using the X96 bus and of course taxi availability was not a problem or they could use other means of transport such as the tram and bus lines to go sightseeing. The rooms were clean and breakfast was more than satisfying and the service was very good. Also with the assistance of the girls at reception (Angeliki and Anna) who were polite, helpful and ready to go the extra mile by providing additional information about Athens etc.., made their stay a pleasure.

On the evening of our wedding everything went smoothly, I didn’t stress about anything (and I’m known to be a stress-a-holic!). The DJ who was recommended to me by the hotel knew what to do and when, Hlia (the Maitre) and his staff attended to the guests and the buffet was opened as soon as the few short speeches where given. I also had wedding guests from Spain, Sweden, Crete, the U.K. and Karpathos – all of whom gave me a positive feedback about the wedding being the best wedding that they have attended in a long time. Needless to say i would recommend Poseidon Hotel to anyone who wishes to organize special family events. My heartfelt thanks to all at Poseidon Hotel on making this important day even more special than I expected. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annou1itsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
498 reviews
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
201 reviews
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#2 of 10 in Kifisia
550 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Poseidon Hotel

Property: Athens Poseidon Hotel
Address: 72 Poseidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 175 62, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Poseidon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Hotel Poseidon is ideally located in the seafront of Athens, in a walking distance from Alimos & Flisvos Marinas, next to Centre. Bus & Tram stops by hotel entrance provide direct, indisruptable, easy & quick access to historical Centre, Athens International Airport (Eleftherios Venizelos) & Piraeus Port. Specially awarded Buffet Breakfast (incorporated in the price),including 80 different homemade dishes (from traditional pies to sweets & pastries).Services include restaurant on the top floor, famous Sky Cocktail Bar, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar, Beach Tavern, Beach Bar & Sun beds. Wise business and city break choice offering proximity combined with undisruptable city access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Poseidon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Paleo Faliro
Poseidon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing