We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, with excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Poseidon is an average, 3-star hotel, with a great location in Athens. The rooftop pool is nice during the day, and for drinks at night. The rooms are clean, but basic. The location is excellent, with beach access across the street, and the main tram system right out in front. The price of this hotel was great in August, and I would recommend it for a good value stay in Athens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcanuck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posath1, Front Office Manager at Athens Poseidon Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Poseidon Hotel.



We are thrilled to be characterised as a "good value for money" choice in Athens. Our efforts are continuously focused on ensuring customised hospitality, reflecting good relation between services delivered and price. We are always delighted to read that our philosophy is appreciated by our guests.



Thank you for choosing Poseidon Hotel and I do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Tzamkiozi Thalia
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    291
    133
    39
    36
See reviews for
191
274
86
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Loved this hotel. Wasn't expecting much from a 60 euro hotel, but it had a great rooftop pool with beautiful views of the coastline and Athens. Nice front desk staff. Interior of room was very old but I got over that quickly. Great breakfast buffet. Liked my large balcony overlooking the ocean. The restaurants on the beach are more than adequate.

Room Tip: Stayed in 601. Fantastic corner ocean view. My patio door locked behind me and luckily I had my c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posath1, Front Office Manager at Athens Poseidon Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dedicating time writing about your recent stay at Poseidon Hotel.

We are thrilled to read your brilliant review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. It is very rewarding for all of us when our guests’ stay "beat expectations" and we know our team will greatly appreciate your feedback when we share it with them.

Thank you again for talking the time to write about us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Poseidon Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Tzamkiozi Thalia
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I just want to review the SKY BAR 360 on the roof top of this hotel, with excellent sea view and excellent cocktails by a famous barman. Service was more than excellent and the barman personally approached us at our table. Customers were some teenage tourists but were not very loud and the music kept improving from 90s cliches to recent artists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandros_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We recently visited Athens as a spring board for a greek island hopping adventure and decided to go for a hotel near the sea as we wanted an escape from the city after sightseeing. I picked up this hotel on a late rooms booking site as it seemed such a reasonable deal - and it truly was! Bus from the airport dropped us off literally outside the door quite late at night after our flight. We were greeted by a very friendly reception team and taken straight to our room. Five minutes later a knock at the door and a waiter arrived complete with a bottle of fizz and some fruit to welcome us on our holiday! Room was fine, clean and spacious, with two balconies, one either side of the room, and we could just about see the sea from our front one as it is just across the road. Breakfast was a real high spot, a fantastic buffet with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, continental breakfast, cereal, eggs, bacon, cakes, pastries, cold meats, cheese and more - it just kept on coming and service was very efficient. There was an electric train stop opposite the hotel, with a very good (cheap) service straight into the centre of Athens. Came back after a busy day to swim in the rooftop pool, drink iced coffee and generally chill out in the cool and trendy rooftop area (chill out music was a little loud for our taste but the comfy sofas and chairs and view more than made up for it!) Found it difficult to find a restaurant nearby as we went in May - not yet high season and many were closed but we decided to extend our stay in Athens from two to three nights and on our last night there visited the Eden beach restaurant just across the road and that proved to be a proper Shirley Valentine experience, eating squid on the beach at very reasonable prices. Hotel Staff were very friendly, we asked lots of questions about the greek islands as we hadn't got a definite itinerary, and they couldn't have been more helpful. Caught a bus from outside the hotel straight to the ferry port (Pireaus) feeling relaxed and ready for an adventure.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and were given one, even though we only had a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The breakfast was good for a gluten allergic. Eggs, bacon, cheese and fresh vegetables. Noisy room, but for young people, that should not be a big problem. Nice location by the beach and 40 min. by tram to the big attractions. 1 km walk to a restaurant, La Strega. Recomended! Really friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
2 Thank T0rm0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The hotel is in a very noisy street, so if you have sleeping problems, you better don't choose this hotel. The shower in our room was very annoying because there was just a hole for water on the floor and curtains. After taking shower the whole floor is covered with water and we always had to use a towel to clean it cause otherwise it would be dangerous to slip. Would be nice if there was free Wi-Fi in this hotel but there wasn't.
Breakfast is in the top floor from which you can see stunning view. Food itself is great too.

Room Tip: Rooms in the west side have balconies from which you can see nothing but wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinap795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I'm from Singapore and I came here with my Greek girlfriend for a 7 day winter vacation. I'll try to be as realistic and frank as possible with my review.

As I said, I come from Singapore and I had corresponded with the Reservation Manager via email and she was very helpful with all my requests. I wanted a high floor with sea view and that was exactly what I got. The room was clean. Bedsheets, flooring, and yes more importantly the bathroom was spotless. The view was spectacular! Take a shower with the view of the open sea. Room service is efficient. They cleaned our rooms everyday, provided clean sheets and towels everyday as well. The ladies at the front desk was very very helpful and friendly. Location of the hotel is decent enough. Pram service directly outside the hotel takes you to Central Athens in 20mins tops. Direct bus to the Temple of Poseidon. Direct bus to the airport.

Here are the bad points and I hope they improve on this.

This hotel lacks some security issues. Firstly the doors do not have any peepholes and there are no door chains either so you won't know who is knocking your door. This is VERY bad if you have a woman with you like I did and someone knocks your door at 2am and you're wondering who that could be. For my case, it was some Arab dude who got the wrong room and I simply slammed the door shut on his face. The balcony is cool and and all but if your neighbor happens to be Jason Voorhees from Friday the 13th or Freddy Kruger, you're not going home coz you can actually climb up and jump over to the other unit. No security at all. The highway is loud and noisy coz of the heavy traffic but hey, you're not gonna be in the room in the afternoon most of the time and traffic is low late at night when you decide to head to bed to crash. You have to pay for Wi-Fi. This could be a real bummer especially for someone like me who travelled far away and need FREE wi-fi to let loved ones back home that everything is fine daily.

Apart from the bad points this hotel is pretty cool and decent enough. I might go back here in future coz I find it convenient to go anywhere and the rooms are good and clean. Thanks for reading.

(I hope you guys fix the locks and peepholes on the doors)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Poseidon Hotel

Property: Athens Poseidon Hotel
Address: 72 Poseidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 175 62, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Poseidon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Hotel Poseidon is ideally located in the seafront of Athens, in a walking distance from Alimos & Flisvos Marinas, next to Centre. Bus & Tram stops by hotel entrance provide direct, indisruptable, easy & quick access to historical Centre, Athens International Airport (Eleftherios Venizelos) & Piraeus Port. Specially awarded Buffet Breakfast (incorporated in the price),including 80 different homemade dishes (from traditional pies to sweets & pastries).Services include restaurant on the top floor, famous Sky Cocktail Bar, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar, Beach Tavern, Beach Bar & Sun beds. Wise business and city break choice offering proximity combined with undisruptable city access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Poseidon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Paleo Faliro
Poseidon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing