We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional ”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professional ”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a satisfying experience. The staff are professional and the hotel is well equipped. The standard room is not large nor is the bathroom but it was clean. I found the bed somewhat hard so room keeping were only too happy to supply and fit a mattress topper .

The buffet breakfast was amazing. The court yard and lobby area were relaxing. A cold drink and swim on the roof top terrace is great for winding down at day end.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Michael K,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your nice experience at our hotel.

We are delighted to read your positive comments about our professional staff, the facilities of our hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms and bathrooms. Also happy to know that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the court yard and lobby area and the roof top terrace.

We once again thank you for your positive comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    288
    212
    54
    46
See reviews for
101
178
35
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The front desk was very professional and friendly. The lobby is very modern. The breakfast was good and a good variety. The location was a distance from downtown. They have a free shuttle that goes day and evening which is very handy. The rooms were clean and neat. The hotel looked a little older on the floors. I was on a tour that left a few days and then came back. I was able to leave a bag in storage until I returned which was very handy. The hotel has a lot of business and tour groups that stay there. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justtravelng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear justtravelng,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your pleasant experience regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to read your nice comments about the friendliness and professionalism of our front desk employees, the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet, the free shuttle bus service to the city center and the cleanliness of our rooms.

Your feedback is valuable to all of us and I have already shared your wonderful comments with my team members.
We always strive to enhance customer experience and to offer value for money.

We are delighted to know that we have met all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked this hotel from the recent reviews we had read on tripadvisor. But it was a different story when we arrived.We paid 240 Euros for one night because that was all we could cope with. To start with we had our travel agent booked our room when we arrived it had been cancelled. Then we were given a room with a sea view! Where did they think the sea was. There was a construction site blocking the Sea View and the Sea was about 7 miles away! Then comes the beds, well I have never slept on a bed that hard I might as well been sleeping on CONCRETE! Then we could tell you about the tv I have not seen a tv box that small and not sure if it worked. Then we talk about the size of the bath towels, huh they are the size of the bath mat. Which by the way was in desperate need of beaching. We had requested secure parking and were advised that yes they had it. But when we gave them doorman our car keys to park the car he advised us to "go park it yourself it is free in the street". Somehow that was not good enough so I went in and spoke to the receptionist on duty and said that we had been told that the hotel had complimentary parking. Which she replied to "go park it yourself" So much for 4 star. So we ended up parking on the street went up to bed rang the Intercontinental and booked a room for the next couple of night at 185 Euros. Oh coming up to the sleeping well it looks like they do a lot of tour groups so we were kept up all night with banging doors, people running up and down the corridors. So my suggestion if you are looking for a place with rude service and seems to run like a backpackers accommodation on Spring Back this is the hotel for you.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone it is overpriced, rundown and very rude service once they take your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxury_Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Luxury_Butterfly,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations however we assure you that everything you mentioned will certainly be taken into consideration and any corrective actions required will be taken to ensure improvement.

I would be grateful if you could contact me to my personal e-mail, zaglaridou@chandris.gr and let me know for more details about your stay.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paleo Faliro hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice location close to city center and the sea. Spacious and clean rooms, with amazing sea view. Great breakfast selections and also really good food at their restaurant! Staff was friendly and professional. We would definitly visit again..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Mrs. Virginia R,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your nice comments regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious and clean rooms, the view and the variety of the breakfast buffet, the quality of food and the location of our hotel.

We also glad to read that you found our staff friendly and professional and your kind comments have already been shared with my team members.

Thank you again for your time and we all at the Metropolitan Hotel Athens looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago. Ideal location and convenient to business district and attractions as well. I work in Paris but I was born and grew up in Athens and consider this place as my second home. My first choice when by business plans bring me back to Athens.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEEPTRAVELLING1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear KEEPTRAVELLING1958,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your pleasant experience while staying at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and you found convenient the location of our hotel.

Especially delighted to learn that you consider Metropolitan Hotel as your “second home” and your “first choice in Athens”.

Once again we thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Metropolitan Hotel on your next trip to Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonville, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was comfortable and clean, but the location was not great. While they did have a free shuttle bus into town, it did not run for about two hours in the middle of the day, so if you want to go into town during these hours, you had to take a taxi or bus. The bus routing was confusing, and we opted to take a taxi, which costs 10 euros.
The breakfast here was very nice with hot and cold varieties of food that were fresh and delicious. We stayed at the beginning of our trip and then one more night ten days later at the end. One of the rooms had one robe and one pair of slippers.
There is a rooftop pool and bar with a patio that is nice at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katalinarunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear katalinarunning,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your comfortable stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are happy to find out that you enjoyed the variety of the breakfast buffet, the amenities in your room and the view from the roof top pool and bar.

Your comment regarding shuttle bus schedule has been taken under consideration.

We once again thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit Metropolitan Hotel in Athens last month and need to say the entire expeirience was a delight! Perfect mediterenian food with excellent service quality made this short business trip much easier. Definetly going to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakubstrzyzewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear jakubstrzyzewski,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your pleasant experience while staying at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, the mediterraean food and the excellent service of our colleagues.

Thank you again for your time and we all at the Metropolitan Hotel Athens looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
834 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#51 of 327 in Athens
1,257 reviews
Hilton Athens
#20 of 327 in Athens
3,516 reviews
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 175 64, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing