We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, helpful staff, very good for conferencies..”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Metropolitan hotel
Athens
Our company organized a meeting 29-31oct , 2013 , had no time earlier to say a great- great t h a n k s !! for the hotel’s e n t i r e staff for all the support given to me , as head of organizers and to my clients. The hotel is very well located in city can be reached easily from all parts of Athens by taxi or by buses for the conference participants. Rooms a bit outdated , but clean and they are in very good condition. The Aegean conference room is a gem ! - very nice decorated , very unique to prepare here a conference or a gala dinner. There is a direct connection to an open air area ,a part of the room has large windows for natural light. But above all ---- the main advantage of the hotel is the human part, from its employees ! Very rare in today’s world. From the beggining of our preparation of our 157 member group till we left the hotel after the event, I personally , and all our clients received a very warm and professional welcome and help in all fields and areas of the hotel. This is the greatest advantage and value of the hotel. All the events in the ,,backstage,, preparation was really professional all collegues knew what to do in different , urgent ad hoc situations – it shows professionalizm on high end. To give some light neagtive but , I think , important points: in the lobby area opposite to the cashier a bunch of flower was in a really bad condition, after 10 days it was a bit annoying , seemed that hotel is not taking care of the smallest detail , as all guests faced every day , every minute with that withered flowers in the pots. For me , it gave the feeling , if hotel is not helping on this matter , how they manage inside the hotel? The other thing was on the rooftop area as we organized a welcome dinner for the group , but the windows of the terrace was not cleaned for a long time….this is a small , but important part of the overall condition of a dinner… The dinner was excellent , the atmosphere was very nice and in the evening everybody looks through the windows the evening , the lighted sights of the city of Athens and the port of Pireus… so cannot avoid getting a negative impression of the windows…
Anyway , all the members of the conference enjoyed the stay in the hotel , as we will have event in Athens , we will choose Metropolitan hotel again for our congress event. Hope that hotel will improve continously and will keep its best colleagues in this hotel.
Overall : hotel suggested for conferencies and also private stays who prefer to be between the center of Athens and Pireus.
George LENDVAI – MANAGING DIRECOR // M & AMERIKA – TOURS AND TRAVELS - Budapest , Hungary

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gyorgy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Gyorgy L,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing Metropolitan Hotel to organize your company’s meeting and for taking the time to write these wonderful comments regarding your stay here.

It was a pleasure to read that you as well as the participants of the conference had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and that you were impressed by the quality of service of our colleagues. We strive to maintain high standards in our product and services and I am delighted to see that our efforts and goals are achieved.

I will share your kind comments with all our team members and I am sure it will work as a great motivator.

In addition we have taken action in all recommendations and we thank you for helping us to become better.

We are pleased to know that we have met all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to organize one more successful congress event.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 840 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Good hotel. Rooms nice and clean. A bit far from the city center, but the free shuttle service is very convenient. Unfortunately it does not run in the afternoons on Saturdays and Sundays. The internal restaurant is good, with a reasonable choice of different plates. Staff are kind and reactive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Luciano P,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the rooms, the free shuttle bus service, the service of our colleagues and that you enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant.

Your kind and positive comments will make only become better every time.

Once again we thank you for time and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

It's not a bad hotel, It has its good points and bad points.
Bad points:
Noise outside and inside is almost uhnbearable at times. The bikes that speed up and down the roads are herendous at times, I read that they had triple glazed windows to fix the problem... Didn't really work I'm sorry to say. But to be fair I don't think they could do much more.
The noise inside however is a difrent stroy, the doors slam as people leave and enter their room (I would recomend some form of cusion to softern the slam and perhaps a draft excluder to slow the door and reduce impact and noise). The walls seem to be extreamly thin, I can hear people in the room next door use the toilet, bath and sink... sometimes you just don't want to hear someone farting in the bath at 2am as your struggling to sleep. Conversations and TV aswell.
The roof. Well I gutted that we carn't go up. For me that was the selling point, both me and my girlfriend are extreamly disappointed but it for renervations and its out of peek times so you know guess we will just have to come back when its done.

Good point:
The staff are very helpful, valet parking is handy too. Very happy people and everyone is extreamly helpful and freindly. The cleaning staff are great they would recomend places to visit when I mention sightseeing and they told me about local places that where quite and out of the way. Food is great as you would expect from a hotel like this.
The rooms are decent size, upgrades are their if we want one bathroom is great airconditioning is perfect for the heat you get over here, the card opens the door, turns the light on opens the car park so no fumbling around with aload of key cards and keys.

All in all me and the misses are enjoying our stay here, we do spend alot of time in the hotel due to traffic outside tring to avoid peek times and it comftable, just a shame about the pool.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Mr. Jordan D,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel and your positive comments about our the friendliness and service of our staff.

Please accept my apologies for not having fully met your expectations. In regards to the noisy rooms although all our windows are double glassed, sometimes there is a bit of a street noise. Next time you visit our hotel please request a quiet room overlooking the other side of the hotel with mountain view.

We once again thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here for 4 days on business. Well located within a short drive of everything. The service - from reception, the restaurant and the bar - was excellent. The room was pretty large, very clean, but needed a bit of a revamp. Large desk and chair for working, and free wifi. Only complaint was the prices of the minibar!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Mr. Peter S,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the quality of services provided by our staff and the facilities of your room.

Your comments are of great importance and help us in taking the necessary actions to improve our product and services even further.

We once again thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had our wedding party at the hotel and everything was great! We received very good comments from our relatives for the food but also for the ballroom. The staff was friendly, very polite to our guests and made them feel comfortable. The hotel offered us staying at the suite where the room was very nice and had a great view. The breakfast had a variety of food choices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear tony v,

First of all we would like to thank you for holding your wedding reception at our hotel.

We are happy and honored to know that your guests enjoyed this happy event with you and we thank you for your wonderful comments about the quality of food and the friendliness and service of our staff.

In addition we are happy to know that you had a very pleasant stay the first night of your marriage in one of our Rooftop suites.

We greatly appreciate your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Metropolitan Hotel, Athens and to host the Christening event next.

Best wishes and congratulations on your wedding.

Sincerely Yours,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Athens Metropolitan Hotel made sure that we had our perfect Wedding day on Sunday, January 26th 2014! We received the most positive comments from both our relatives and friends for the amazing ballroom, the exquisite food and most importantly the professional conduct and excellent service of the staff!!!! The suite that the Hotel offered us for our Wedding night was luxurious and with an amazing view of the city. It was an excellent choice and highly recommended to any couple who wishes for a successful and joyous wedding reception!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Margo M,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to host your wedding reception last January.

We are very pleased that you and your guests enjoyed the quality of food and the high standard of services provided by our staff and you had an unforgettable experience in the most important and beautiful day of your life.

In addition we are happy to know that you had a very pleasant stay the first night of your marriage in one of our Rooftop suites.

Once again we thank you for your fantastic and encouraging comments and we all are looking forward to welcome you again at the Metropolitan Hotel and host the Christening event next.

All of our best wishes and congratulations on your wedding.

Sincerely Yours,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and efficient reception. Good size rooms but need upgrading. Adequate but boring buffet style breakfast - the avenue is a nice but expensive restaurant and there are a couple of nice restaurants 5 mins walk from the hotel. 10 mins by taxi to get to syntagma square

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank theoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear theoCardiff,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel and your positive comments about our reception staff.

Please accept my apologies for not having fully met your expectations. We have taken all your comments onboard and I would like to reassure you that all necessary steps have been made to change the breakfast display.

We once again thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Divani Caravel Hotel
#61 of 282 in Athens
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,803 reviews
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro 175 64, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range: $125 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing