We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful base to visit family and have a holiday”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable, we slept well in the beds and the room was quiet. It was difficult to imagine that we were in a a big hotel in a noisy city as the sound proofing was excellent. Additionally the air conditioning system, which was needed due to very high temperatures in Athens during our stay, was extremely efficient and kept the room very pleasant. There was plenty of storage space in the room and there was easy access to the roof top pool. All the staff we came across were very pleasant and wished to assist wherever possible. The provision of a free bus service into Athens was a great bonus and used by us to catch connecting transport when we left. The area is a lovely suburb of Athens giving you easy access to the coast as well as the city. I would have scored 5 but there were no tea making facilities in the room. However, there was a fridge so water could be stored and kept cold. The purpose of the trip was to visit family, however the hotel was so pleasant we felt as if we had been on holiday as well. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: There is a walkway near the hotel that takes you down to the sea - about an hours stroll but very pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaniemac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Joaniemac59,

Thank you for staying at the Metropolitan Hotel while in Athens. We do appreciate the time taken to review our property at tripadvisor.com.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our hotel comfortable, the room spacious and the staff pleasant and helpful. It was also nice to read your comments about the free shuttle bus service to the city centre and the location of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the METROPOLITAN Hotel on your next trip to Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 840 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel has everything you need.
Great service, from reception to bell boys to maids...everyone wanted to make sure you were looked after.

The hotel is a bit outside the city, however, they have a free shuttle that travels to the main core each hour!

All in all, a good hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassiejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Sassiejones,

We do appreciate the time taken to review Metropolitan Hotel, Athens.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the “great” service provided by our staff and the free shuttle bus service to the city centre.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Never again, 3 nights (as part of a tour) in this hotel on the hardest beds i have ever experienced in a Hotel, i meant to inspect to see what sort of granite they had used but didnt want to waste any more time. The hotel is well away from the main part of Athens although they have a shuttle bus which runs on a regular scedule, the prices in the bistro where expensive so we ate out as much as possible. Had a swim in the roof top pool which had a lifeguard and supplied towels but the water looked rather grim so didnt hang around. Staff were very busy but quite helpfull, all in all probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a soft bed otherwise stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiPaulNewPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Mr Kiwi,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your recent stay in our hotel.
We truly appreciate your positive comments for our staff since we constantly invest on the human factor that makes the difference, but we regret that we did not meet all your expectations.
Concerning the bed mattresses, we offer our guests a choice of anatomic or softer mattresses. Unfortunately, if we knew about your special requirements during your stay we would have taken corrective actions. We were surprised with the comment for the swimming pool, since we apply strict procedure and test the water twice a day to ensure safety and hygiene for our guests.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope you reconsider your opinion about us and give us the pleasure to welcome you back at the Metropolitan on your next trip to Athens.

Yours sincerely,
George Papazoglou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A good hotel, with a decent if unspectacular room and pleasant service.

I ate on the 8th floor Terrace bistro - arriving late, I wanted a light bite before going to bed, and the "snack" meat offer seemed like a plan. It was about 17 euro and I though t would be a nice plate of nibble type meat. Wrong. Essentially I was presented with a heaving plate of (beautifully cooked) protein. I'm a big bloke, but even I couldnt finish it - great value, but could have served four.

Breakfast good, varied and plentiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoCarpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Mr.TwoCarpets,

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at Metropolitan hotel Athens.
We are pleased to read that you found our hotel good, the room decent, the service offered pleasant and the breakfast varied and plentiful.
Your comment regarding the size of our snack portion has been taken under serious consideration.
Once again we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package in advance of a departure for a cruise. Based on some prior reviews I was quite apprehensive, particularly about getting a non- smoking room. As a result, contacted the tour operator, Grand Circle, who indicated they would work with their region to ensure a non- smoking room. Our room was entirely smoke free and very clean and quiet. A few minor adjustments could make this a five star rating: warmer food on the breakfast buffet (they weren't warm 15 min. after breakfast began), and having two instead of only one bath towel (do they not expect both guests to want a shower or bath??). But for a short stay it was fine and much better than expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Mrs Marg P,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found your room "entirely smoke free, very clean and quiet".

About your suggestions regarding warmer food in breakfast and more towels in bathroom, immediate actions have been taken.

We are pleased that you have reconsidered your opinion about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for business purposes and found the hotel very good. Great food, especially in Avenue Bistro. I guess the location of the hotel is not too good if you are there as a tourist because it seemed a little bit too far away from everything and the surrounding area was a bit depressing. The only bad thing was the bed, way way too hard!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solros15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Solros15,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience over your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you found our hotel good and "great food in Avenue Bistro".
The location of the hotel is indeed a few miles from the centre of town but we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from the centre of Athens. Similarly with in walking proximity of the hotel there are a number of shops, supermarket, pharmacy and restaurants.
Your comment about the bed has been taken under serious consideration.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Metropolitan on your next trip to Athens where you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Always feel like at home in this hotel. Great breakfast,clean,helpful stuff . Perfect locations. Very easy to get to the center of Athens with free shuttle bus(operating every hour) and to Piraeus and Glyfada
Fantastic beds with perfect COCO mat mattresses.
In front of the hotel pedestrian bridge and you can walk to small Marina with nice restaurants and bars and to the battle Ship Averoff,which is now museum

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank IlonaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Mrs. IlonaMoscow,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to offer us your feedback from your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you always "feel like at home" in Metropolitan Hotel.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the breakfast, the cleanliness, the service of our staff and the location of our hotel.

Once again we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Divani Caravel Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,802 reviews
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro 175 64, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range: $125 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing