We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Choice”
Review of Coral Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Choice”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Coral Hotel remains our preferred choice when visiting Athens. Good management has maintained the condition of the hotel and its rooms throughout difficult economic times. The hotel is clean, well supplied and offers a number of services. Breakfast includes, for example, juice, fruit, yogurt, cold cuts, eggs, bacon, and fresh baked goods. Espresso is extra. The restaurant has a number of tasty options throughout the day. The strength of the in-room Internet signal depends upon where one sits in the room;) Upper rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter. Front rooms offer a spectacular view but are tolerable only with the windows closed. Desk staff members are very kind and thoughtful in assuring the comfort of guests. Location, location, location—is within the Faliro shopping district, is across from Flisbos park and port, is next to the tram and the taxi stand. An ideal choice: simple without pretense.

Room Tip: Upper back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliesevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    203
    80
    32
    15
See reviews for
90
167
37
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was part of my tour accommodation, so I didn't have choice. However, I was very happy with my stay here.

First things first: the room (and bathroom) were very small, and it was a tad noisy (apparently street facing rooms got all the traffic noise, so I was lucky to be in a room facing other apartments). My room was clean, air conditioned, had wi-fi access, large flat screen TV and a balcony. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a shower over bath, but it was akin to showering on a postage stamp!

The breakfast was very good, as was the food served in the restaurant (although a tad price). The wine-by-glass was also very good. The service in the restaurant, however, was not. The waiter was neither friendly nor efficient, and this marred my experience dining in. The front part of the hotel is a a lovely outdoor lounge are, but it is frequented by smokers, so not so nice a place to sit if you don't smoke.

The hotel is well located close to Syngrou Avenue. Trams and buses are very close, as is the beach and the marina, with lots of bars and restaurants. There is a supermarket close, as well as all sorts of shops, restaurants, food outlets and apartments.

I checked out early and was given a lovely, substantial breakfast box... I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Athens

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is at the side or back of the hotel, otherwise you'll be in fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dileeshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here only one night enroute to northern Greece. It was so nice I gladly would have stayed longer and definitely will return and recommend. My husband knew of this hotel from his childhood, having grown up in Faliro so it was the ideal base for our quick tour of his old neighborhood. The room was spacious and clean and the staff went out of their way to be of help. There was a wide variety of quality foods and beverages available at the breakfast. It appears to be popular with Greeks and well as non-Greeks and everyone on the staff spoke English well. It is a quiet respite from the busy street with its heat and noise. However, for the ability to walk along the Agean, see the views, walk to cafes, tavernas and shops and its access to the tram, it is well placed. We found it very good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtogo195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel as our first stop after travelling from South Africa. It was comfortable, clean and even had a washing line. There was no view but a little balcony to let in fresh air. Beds were always made up, clean linen and towels, clean bathroom. Room was reasonable size. Breakfast was good, with a nice spread. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice outside area for relaxing. Little noisy at night due to being close to main road, but the sea was just across the road and you could take a nice evening walk. There were a few shops in the area. Far from the city-centre though, you need to take a tram.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We held a small reception after our wedding here and we also spend the night. We very highly recommend the hotel, as everyone was helpful and polite, the food was excellent and our overall experience was very positive. Excellent value for money, too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was large and had a full size tub. I have to say the staff was superb and very helpful. Breakfast was great and even included western style items. We had a room with a terrace which overlooked the sea...so beautiful. The street is a bit noisy, but with the patio doors closed, was no problem at all. The tram was right across the street and made it a great place to get to the major attractions. Also, there are many restaurants in the area with great food, including the one in the hotel. The only negative thing I can say is our hotel room decor was a little worn and showed it's age. Otherwise, we loved our stay and will go back there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 843vickyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erbach, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We (couple) stayed there for three nights in mid September 2013.

Even though we had experienced a few deficits during another stay (about 10 years ago), we decided to stay there again. The view from the spacy front-terrace of the room is just a great one. You have a perfect look at the agean sea, including the island of Salamina and Aigina, as well as the old town of Piraeus, with Turkolimano an Profitis Ilias and you can also get a hash of the Marina with some great boots lying there.By the way - it's definetely worth while a walk!

The busy road doesn`t really effect much in the 6th floor.

The location is great, because (by foot) you have everything you need (and more) arround in Flisvos, Marina, Alimos and if you take the car in Glyfada, Vouliagmeni etc. By car you only need about 10-15 min. to get to the center of Athens or Piraeus. Without car you achieve the same thing by the tram or bus, with stops just a few meters away from the hotel door.

The rooms are comfortable with a little bit too small doublebeds (140cm), the furniture a bit tiered but well maintained. Cleanliness is perfect, even though I had to chase a bug on the terrace as well. This happens some times, especially when wheather is changing, as they then may come out of the canalisation of the main street in front of the hotel.

The breakfast variety is great, especially for greek standards. Service is even better - there is nothing to complain about.

The price is at the edge of becomming too expensive for the standarts (incl. garage and breakfast = 104 €/night for the double room, 162 € for the appartment in the 6th floor), but at the end it's worth it, if you put it all down. Even though the side-rooms are much less expensive, it would be foolish to choose them. Doing so, you are missing the greatest benefit of this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a front room of the higher levels (5th or 6th(!) floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
0.7 mi away
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
4.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel Athens

Property: Coral Hotel Athens
Address: 35 Leoforos Possidonos, Paleo Faliro, Athens 175 61, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15-minute drive from Athens centre, this 4-star hotel offers views of the Saronic Gulf and Kastella Hill. Coral Hotel Athens features an indoor heated whirlpool.The charming rooms at the Coral Hotel are air-conditioned and feature satellite LCD TV, radio, and work desk. Some of the rooms offer sea views from their balconies.The Coral Restaurant prepares a buffet breakfast daily while Greek and International dishes are served during lunch and dinner. Room service is also available. There is free Wi-Fi access in all hotel areas. Massages are offered by appointment.Hotel Coral is within walking distance from the commercial centre of Paleo Faliro, with many shopping and entertainment facilities and a waterfront promenade. The Tram across the street connects the Coral with the Athens Metro network. Piraeus Port is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing