We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bugs! Broken refrigerator. Below average breakfast.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bluffton

Holiday Inn Express Bluffton
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bluffton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bluffton
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bugs! Broken refrigerator. Below average breakfast.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We had three rooms, two had bugs. Refrigerator in one room was broken so front desk staff offered to store my food in their kitchen. Ok, but not convenient when I wanted a late night snack.

Rooms wete nice and comfortable beds. Nice workspace with large desk.

Breakfast was below average. Only white bread, no wheat. Scrambled eggs looked like they had been sitting out too long, were dry and darker yellow on top. Pancake maker had "out of order" sign. Disappointing.

Nice fitness room!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ice999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bluffton, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Ice999,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Bluffton, IN. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
2
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

As you can imagine, there isn't a ton of activity in Bluffton, IN which is a small town roughly 20-30 minutes from Fort Wayne. While this hotel would be considered to be an acceptable choice to the average business traveler, it's a "so-so" hotel in terms of decor and amenities. In comparison to some of the newer Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express branded hotels, this particular location would be somewhere in the middle tier at best.

While I've never experienced an issue with cancellations as some of the reviews have mentioned, I can see where some of the reviewers may have encountered this experience. As a personal example, if you request a military/government rate, you'd be well advised to have a picture ID as a general non-photo ID doesn't work with this staff (across multiple stays and multiple subordinate employee visits). My suspicion is that this hotel simply doesn't receive the volume of business in comparison to other Holiday Inn/Express locations I've visited so every penny is critically important to this particular hotel's franchisee.

In all fairness, there are better hotels just up the road in Fort Wayne that offer much more in terms of access to retail and restaurant options plus convenient access to Fort Wayne International (including Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express locations) and limited drivetime to Bluffton.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJC31589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The front desk was willing and quickly able to fix a problem upon check-in. Overall, all the staff were very friendly, especially Jo Jo and Justin. In the breakfast room, LeAnn was very friendly and helpful!

The family suite was a bit awkward. We appreciated the roominess, but couldn't figure out the layout. The bedroom with a door (and the window) had no ventilation and no TV--we thought this would be the "parents'" room. The other bedroom without a door had floor ventilation and the TV. This all seemed backward from what we would have expected. The room was pretty clean, overall. And the suite's thin walls are located right next to the ice machine, which is okay unless people need ice in the middle of the night.

The pool area overall was relatively clean, but there was some mold growing in the grooves of the blue rubber that outlined the top of the pool and hottub. I did mention it to the front desk, but by the evening, hadn't been cleaned.

We put in a maintenance request for a burnt out light bulb, which was quickly corrected.

We'd stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: The family suite was a good value, even with it being next to the ice machine and having an awkward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kOps210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Be advised, any cancellations may bring charges regardless of fair play. Be sure to get a cancellation number as Management will not reply to any calls nor make an allowances for even the most frequent customer. Corporate HI wasted my time and had no influence over the situation at all. I will not stay at any Holiday Inn as a result of this experience again and be sure to exclude them from any future recommendations.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bluffton, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear terry g,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bluffton hotels

Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I booked through Hotels.com for 2 nights with the option to cancel the second night's stay by 6:00 p.m. of the second day. When my travel plans changed and I checked out after only one night I was informed at the hotels front desk that I had prepaid for two nights and that my reservation was non refundable. After showing them Hotels.com booking policy and trying to explain my position, I gave up and told them I would take the matter up with my credit card company when I returned home. Mr Patel the hotel manager came out from behind the counter in a rage and started screaming two inches from my face. He followed me out of the hotel and into the parking lot and wouldn't let it go. BAD BAD BUSINESS. They Holiday Inn claimed I used a Hotels.com prepaid option which I did not. I showed him proof that I paid their full rate at the time of booking while knowing my plans were tentative. Be aware as the operator at Hotels.com told me that they were a pre-pay only company which I know is not true as I have used their service many times. Its not how any customer should be treated!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmonchuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bluffton, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Edmonchuckers,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback of our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have family in town but stayed here during a family wedding. It was clean, quiet, safe, convenient (Wal-Mart in walking distance) and the free breakfast was yummy with many choices hot and cold. I did not try out the pool. The room was clean, comfortable and the service was excellent. I would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LR2Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had to cancel my stay at this motel because of eye surgery. I tried to contact manager but he did not return my calls. I then called the corporate office and was told he would get back with me which he never did. A refund for one night was given after repeated calls. They are the most expensive motel in Bluffton IN. and I will never give a reference for the lousy and terrible service this company has.

Room Tip: Check out Budget Inn and Bluffton Inn as well as the Linger Inn motels. There are several good bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bluffton, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Michelle J,

I deeply apologize it took longer than expected to get your refund.
I am however glad it was taken care of.
I hope that you have recovered well from your eye surgery.

Katie J'
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Bluffton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bluffton
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Decatur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#4 of 4 in Bluffton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
13.0 mi away
Clock Tower Inn Berne
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bluffton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bluffton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bluffton
Address: 1782 North Main Street, Bluffton, IN 46714
Location: United States > Indiana > Bluffton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bluffton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Bluffton Hotel is an ideal Bluffton hotel to stay for business or leisure travelers who are looking for an upgraded hotel with economical price. We have an indoor swimming pool with spa, fitness facilities, conference room, and business center. Our room mix includes single kings, single king Jacuzzi suites, double queens and a two bedroom family suite. All kings offer an over sized work desk, and a recliner. Our Jacuzzi rooms include the same as the kings with the addition of the Jacuzzi, refrigerator and microwave. The two bedroom family suite includes separate living room area, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. All rooms amenities include (WiFi hotel) wireless high speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, free local calls and complimentary Continental breakfast. Visit Bluffton, IN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel located near: Franklin Electric, Wabash Foods, Star Engineering, Pretzel's Inc, Snider Tires, Bluffton Rubber Company, Caylor Nickel Medical Center, Payton Kroger Distribution, AT Ferrell Co, Bluffton Motor Works, Buckhorn Inc, Crown Limited, Dawn Food Products, Fabri Form, First Fleet Inc, Heller Machine Tools, Johnsons Control, Metaldyne Inc, Moorfeed Acquisition, Norfolk Southern, Roembke Mfg and Design, T.I. Groupa, Wal-Mart, Witron Integrated Logistics . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bluffton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bluffton Hotel Bluffton
Holiday Inn Bluffton
Bluffton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing