We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed one night while visiting Indiana University. It is within walking distance to downtown Bloomington. The rooms are very large and clean. They do need some updating. Our only complaint were the towels they are like sandpaper. The lobby was new and refreshed. Maybe the rooms will be next.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShariJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Shari,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciated the opportunity to serve you. We recently upgraded our linen system and are very happy with the results! We hope to you see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Barry Volkers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Convenient location when visiting the Indiana University campus in Bloomington. The new lobby is a pleasant place for informal meetings or a quick bite to eat. There are many night spots nearby within walking distance for a dinner, a libation or a few, or even live music. The hotel was clean and quiet with the comfortable beds one expects at Marriott hotels.

Room Tip: High floors quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Daniel,

Thank you for your time in writing the response and thank you for staying at the Courtyard Bloomington! Bloomington is a great place and we are happy you were able to experience the vibrant downtown area! We hope to play host once again soon!

Warm regards,

Barry Volkers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Since my job affords me to book Marriott properties at a heavily discounted rate I find it a little harder to review hotels because things that would bother me if I was paying a higher price don't bother me. That being said the Bloomington CY provided a nice hotel stay. It was very clean inside and out and the room was clean,bedding was comfortable, and shower was nice. We did use the pool area with 2 young kids and it was very nice and towels were provided. Access to the outside courtyard was also very convenient. The location of the hotel is great and allowed us to walk to campus and places to eat. The only drawback is the AC in the room. I like some white noise in the room but the AC here is like a jet engine. You will have to turn up the TV a lot to hear it when the air kicks on. If you have to have it quiet to sleep or can't get used to the loud click when AC kicks on and the subsequent noise of the air then you will want to avoid this property. I stay in hotels 8-9 times a year and this property had some of the fastest and most reliable wi-fi that I have experienced in a while.

Room Tip: Might want to ask for a room facing College Ave. If there are people in the back courtyard you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nawlins4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Courtyard Bloomington! We always appreciate the feedback, especially from someone who is on the road so often. We deeply apologize for not giving you an excellent experience due to the AC noise, but please rest assured that we are taking corrective action. Thank you for the comment about the internet! It certainly makes life a little easier when the connection is great; we are in the process of upgrading more! We hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Barry Volkers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

There were several small issues that, by themselves, would not have resulted in a negative review from me. However, the totality of issues, as well as the one big issue, and an even larger issue this one big issue suggests, leads me to my recommendation.

The Big Issue
I booked two rooms in this hotel, each for three nights. I learned on the second day of our stay that we would not require a third night. I informed the front desk at approximately 4:00 PM on the second day of our stay that we would be checking out the next morning. The front desk personnel told me that I would still be charged for that night (as I would have expected) AND the following night, as they do not make changes to reservations. This "policy" was not disclosed to me until that very moment. I asked to speak with the manager, and was told she would call me (I supplied my cell phone number). That call never came. When we checked out the next morning, I was informed the manager would not budge from her position. I again asked to speak with her. She refused to do so. Eventually, my credit card company reversed the appropriate amount, but only at the objection of the hotel. Without disclosure, they simply had no legal basis to attempt to enforce this policy.

The Even Larger Issue
Their decision to attempt to enforce a legally baseless policy speaks volumes about their concern for their customers, as well as their business ethics. I’ll never stay here again.

The Small Issues
My in-room television service was intermittent. I called front desk six times without seeing the issue resolved.
I experienced the same issue with the wireless Internet service. Again, six calls and no resolution.
There was road construction on the street outside my window. It wasn't exceedingly loud, but it should have been disclosed.
A service cart was left in the hallway just outside my door. The cart was there every time I walked by. Not only was this unsightly, but I also was concerned about sanitation. Several calls to the desk produced no explanation nor any results.

I experienced poor service at the restaurant on two occasions (the only two times I attempted to get something there). The first time, my son and I went there to have a quick breakfast. It took 20 minutes for us to receive half of our order. The other half arrived at our table fifteen minutes later … cold. The second issue was simply getting a cup of coffee (they’re a “limited” Starbucks operation. I waited 15 minutes for someone to take my order, while watching the two employees standing at the counter gabbing with who appeared to be a hotel guest. Neither of these two employees acknowledged my presence. I got my coffee somewhere else.

There are too many other options in Bloomington. I’ll spend my money at one of these other options the next time I’m visiting.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the issues provided in your response. We are deeply sorry. Rest assured that we are taking immediate corrective action as required to ensure a better hotel for a return visit. Once again, we are very sorry for the issues experienced but we thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Regards,

Barry Volkers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here four nights for a class. I found the staff incredibly professional and welcoming, with one of the housekeepers remembering my name even after we had spoken briefly the day before. The location is pretty good; it is a short, five minute walk to downtown restaurants and bars. It's around a 10-15 minute walk to the west side of campus and somewhere around 35-40 minutes to the east side of campus. If you enjoy walking, Bloomington and the IU campus are nice places to stroll through, so as long as you don't mind stretching your legs, this is a good place to stay if you are attending events on campus. Very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryv731_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Henry,

Thank you for staying with us! Our housekeepers really care about our guests and try to offer a home away from home; I am excited to share your comments with them! We know there are a lot of choices in the area, and we are thankful you chose us for your stay. We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm regards,

Barry Volkers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Came in for a wedding and really enjoyed my stay. The beds were super comfortable and made it easy to get some rest between the long hours of festivities. The lobby remodel looked great as well. I will definitely be returning to the Courtyard Marriott the next time I stay in Bloomington.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments! The beds are awesome and I am glad you enjoyed them! We look forward to being your host again soon. Have a great weekend.

Regards,

Barry Volkers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The room was clean and the bed comfy. The college makes it noisier with people coming and going in the night. We had family in the hospital and they don't have any hospital rate. The breakfast was a bit on the skimpy side unless you paid for your breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Trish,

Thank you for staying with us for your trip to Bloomington. We understand it must have been a difficult time. I am glad you found the bed comfy and room clean! While we were offering a continental breakfast for a few days during our restaurant training, I can now say our Courtyard Bistro is open for breakfast and dinner! I hope you come back and try the great food!

Warm regards,

Barry Volkers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington

Address: 310 S. College Avenue, Bloomington, IN 47403-1509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $87 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Courtyard
Bloomington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing