We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Courtyard was a perfect location to visit IU.

The hotel was an older Courtyard (without the newer lobby style with TVs and café), but the room was clean and the employees were very friendly and helpful. The 24 hour coffee/ flavored ice water and cookies in the afternoon and muffins in the morning was a nice touch.

The employees were friendly and truly impressed me when I overheard the way they handled a guest complaining about being cold in the middle of the night yet failing to call for an extra blanket. They smiled and apologized for her discomfort in what seemed like a silly complaint to me.

There were restaurants within and easy walk of the hotel, yet we chose to drive because of the freezing cold temperatures.

We had a nice sized room with two double (queen?) beds and a pull out couch.

If my daughter choses IU, this will be my go to hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olney_MarylandLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Good afternoon and thank you for staying. We certainly hope your daughter chooses IU! The town is wonderful, food is great, and as you stated, campus is very close to Courtyard Marriott! If she doesn't choose IU, we would still love to have you back because Bloomington is a great place to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 237 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here following an IU game. Just an OK hotel. Room was clean. No safe in room. Could use some cosmetic touch ups. In a good location...can walk to downtown and Kirkwood area if weather is nice. Parking was easy and is next to hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahornaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are always looking to improve, and we take the comments of touching up very seriously. I suggest you come back soon and take a look at our progress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We took a chance and booked this hotel on Priceline. The best part was its close proximity to campus. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your response and comments! We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We hosted a weekend graduation celebration at the Courtyard by Marriott - Bloomington IN, in December 2013. The entire Courtyard staff helped to make our family event a happy and stress-free experience. From the sales staff, to the front desk personnel, to the housekeeping and maintenance departments, all were so gracious and helpful. I can not say enough about how well we were treated. The facility is very nice too. We couldn't have been more pleased. It is also an easy, 2 block walk to the heart of town and many fine restaurants and night spots.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Bonnie,

The staff were delighted to hear of your experience here! It really helps all of us continue to work hard and provide our guests with everything they need. Thank you for the great response. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I ended up at the Courtyard after bidding on Priceline, which of course your not sure where you will end up just in an area they describe. This is an older Courtyard and probably not up to the same standards as other Courtyards I have frequented. BUT with that said it was a very nice stay. Beds were comfortable and room was nice. We had one cleaning concern but they addressed it. If I had paid "high dollar" for the room I would expected the more common standard however, this room at this price was a good deal. The bottom line - yes I would stay there again. Clean and comfortable is what I shoot for and they had it.

Room Tip: End of the hall away from elevator & ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The redeeming thing about this hotel is the friendly and competent staff. There was only luke warm water in the morning for showers, towels were old and thread bare. Rooms were very basic. This is what I would expect at an economy hotel or hostel, not at a Marriott. The experience was not terrible but this is not a good value for the money.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank sbtepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. We use this information to continuously adapt and better our hotel! I am very happy that the staff took great care of you. If you are able to send me an email with your information that details the room you were in, I will make sure that we adjust the temperature of the water to ensure the next guest has hotter water. I am sorry it wasn't set properly before your arrival. Thank you for your help!

Here is my email: barryvolkers@remingtonhotels.com

I look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was recently in town for two nights on business. Thursday night was great ... very quiet and peaceful. Friday night was a different story. There was a party next door that started around 9:30. Around 12:30, it was still going on and I thought about going down to the front desk, but it seemed to slow down as soon as i got dressed. As soon as I got back in bed, the doors started slamming again and it went on. I dozed off and was awakened at 3:30 by a lot of partying. I called the front desk and reported it. About 15 minutes later, I heard a knock on the neighboring door and the party started breaking up. It finally got quiet around 4:15 or so. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep. The next morning at checkout, I mentioned the problem to the lady at the desk. As she was apologizing, the man working with her chimed in "were you on the 5th floor?". I said that I was, and he stated that he heard there was a big party up there, and another one on the 4th floor. At my conference on Saturday, I heard several people talking about the partying that went on into the night. The rooms are decent, but the walls are thin and those doors sounded like thunder claps when they close (very few people anymore seem to have the decency to catch a door and let it close slowly). I'm a Marriott Rewards member, but I'll have to forego the points next time and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capitol Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to respond and letting us know ways that we can improve our hotel; your feedback helps immensely. We apologize for the disturbances during the second night of your stay. As a hotel, we do our best to try and minimize disturbances throughout the night; afterall, you are here to sleep! Please send me an email or give me a call on your return trip to the area and we will ensure that your experience is to level you expect with Marriott! We thank you for helping us better our services.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington

Address: 310 S. College Avenue, Bloomington, IN 47403-1509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $87 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Courtyard
Bloomington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing