We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive for what you're getting! Not worth the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Way too expensive for what you're getting! Not worth the price!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott in Bloomington is a very nice hotel. It also has a nice conference area. The price is ridiculous though! We paid 150.00 for a room. The room was nice, but the amenities were not worth the price. You would expect to have a meal included for that price. The front desk people were friendly. Unless all of the rooms in Bloomington are sold out and this is the last available place to stay, I would suggest getting your money's worth elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cousin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    69
    20
    5
See reviews for
70
31
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed here with my family for one night before a visit to IU. First, I got the room on Priceline and I bid a low price and won, so for me, the room was worth the price. Priceline did not include the buffet breakfast which was ok. The location is good and the hotel is fairly clean with lots of free parking and free wireless internet. The room was comfortable and clean and had a large HD TV, better than most hotels in this price range. The staff was friendly and the bed was comfortable. I would stay here again if I win it on Priceline and possibly even if I don't (if the price isn't to high). One note is that I stayed here the Thursday before Super Bowl in Indy and there were people there who were staying and traveling to Indy. Maybe that's why all the prices in B Town were so high?

Room Tip: High floor away from elevator (as always) and get a room facing the back parking lot for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

1. No TV channel guide or hotel/city information in the room. Pretty odd for a hotel attached to the Convention Center.
2. Rooms facing College Ave. (front of hotel) are very loud. Police and/or ambulances run past hotel often during the day and night with sirens on and the windows do nothing to drown it out. You can hear every car drive by on the street and any conversations outside. If you plan on staying here, I'd advise asking for a back-facing room.
3. Room wasn't ready by 3pm on day I checked-in due to not being cleaned yet. Several other people were waiting for rooms to be cleaned to check-in also.
4. On second day I left the room at 7:30am and returned at 4pm. The room had not been touched by housekeeping. When I called the front desk, the lady said that "they got a late start and probably just haven't gotten to your room yet." She asked if I still wanted them to clean it, but I told her not at 4pm when I'm back in my room. She never even apologized.
5. Nice new large HDTV in room and bed was pretty comfortable.
6. Close to downtown businesses, restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing the front of the hotel and College Avenue!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Courtyard while in Bloomington to look at houses because we're moving there next month. I put in a bid for Priceline and got this hotel which didn't receive great reviews so I was a little disappointed that I had "won" my bid.

We didn't check in until after midnight and before we left I had put in a request for a King bed which they were able to do. Ed checked us in and was friendly and in moments we were up to our room.

The room was average but was clean and even had a couch in it with a 42 inch HDTV which was awesome. Most hotels have big TV's but not HD service so that was a pleasant surprise. The Wi-Fi worked great and housekeeping was even nice enough to leave extra dirty laundry bags for us without us asking so there's a shout out to them for doing that. The shower pressure was good and the water was warm pretty much instantly.

I only had 2 issues with this hotel. The first being that if you're on the side of the hotel that faces the road it can be very loud. I had read this in reviews but wasn't worried, i usually prefer some noise when I sleep but this was a bit loud for my tastes. It was mostly road noise and College Ave seemed to be busy at all hours at night. Because I had read this in reviews I was aware thus didn't complain because really that's a design flaw of the hotel and because we checked in late I didn't want to switch rooms. Our floor seemed to be deserted so noise from other rooms was not an issue.

The other problem was that the sound on the TV wouldn't work on some channels. The picture worked fine but no sound. Our first day there I mentioned it to the front desk agent and she explained that if I unscrewed the cable from the wall for about 30 seconds and plugged it back in it should work. I did that when we returned that evening and it worked. I had to do this again each time we turned the TV off and back on again so it got a little annoying because to do this you have to move the dresser out a bit from the wall which is insanely heavy.

Overall this Courtyard is decent but as others have said, it needs some freshening up to bring it into the 2000's. New linens and paint could probably go a long way. That said the location is great, its great walking distance to IU and all the awesome restaurants in the downtown area. I'd probably stay here again but I'd never do it for full price.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing parking not, not College Ave, much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockJock44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryn mawr, pa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

No better than the average Courtyard. Was happy with the location, and the free Wi-Fi.
Bed was a touch soft for my liking, shower was plenty hot.
I feel like these Courtyards are somewhat overpriced, it is a decent basic hotel. Nothing more, nothing less.

Located right on College Ave a block or so from all the downtown hot spots.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have never understood what is so good about Courtyards. There are so many good hotels these days, and better for the price. The stay was fine, but this somewhat dated theme is outdated. The rooms look like something from the 'early 90's. Location is downtown so that was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location, right on College Ave in Bloomington, close to everything. The hotel is very nice, quite up to Marriott standards. The lobby is very clean, nice tv and sitting area. The woman at the front desk was as nice and helpful as can be. If you're going to Bloomington for an event at the Convention Center, this is the hotel for you because it is literally connected to it. Our room was very nice, it smelled very perfumy but I don't know if that was the cleaning or the previous occupant. The only downside to my visit was the shower. It took a long time for the water to get hot and the water pressure was lackluster. All-in-all great stay, and I would go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonvivantmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#3 of 24 in Bloomington
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington

Property: Courtyard Bloomington
Address: 310 S. College Avenue, Bloomington, IN 47403-1509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Courtyard
Bloomington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing