We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Greencastle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very convenient to downtown”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was my second stay at the Courtyard and it was very pleasant. The hotel is within a couple of blocks of downtown and is very conveniently located to restaurants and on-the-square shopping. Parking in lots adjacent to the hotel is free. Check-in was quick but the young woman who did our check-in was new. I asked for a King, Non-Smoking and was told "the whole hotel is non-smoking". What she did not mention was that she put us into a room with two queen beds. We were running a little late to meet friends so I didn't go back down once we saw the room and ask if this was an error or if there were no king-bed rooms available, we just took the room. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well but light sleepers might be forewarned that there is a fire department nearby and the hospital is only 3-4 miles away, so sirens are sometimes frequent (I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel if this is troublesome for you). It took me a little while to get the room cool enough to sleep, but I was able to get the thermostat adjusted; in some hotels no matter what you do the room is stuffy, but this one was quite comfortable despite the high heat and humidity outside. Our room was very clean and comfortable and was a good size with a huge flat screen TV. Our room did not have a refrigerator. The hotel does have a nice indoor pool which we did not use but others were (it is visible from the elevators). The hot tub appeared to be drained. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for $7.95 per person but we did not take advantage of it as we had to leave for a meeting. This hotel is about the best if one wants to park and walk to shops, restaurants and bars. Free chocolate chip cookies are offered at the front desk, water with lemon in the lobby in the afternoon and coffee in the morning; free USA Today and Wall Street Journal by the elevators. Although I have a membership card for this hotel chain, we got a very good rate through Priceline for this stay. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are comfortable using Priceline, start the bidding at half the rack rate and work up in $10 i...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    70
    20
    5
See reviews for
70
31
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Some friends and i decided to stay in Bloomington for New Years and it was a good decision. Alot to do, good shopping and great food. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomidating. the rooms were newly re-done and very clean. the pool was great. I love being able to take a dip in the middle of winter! All in all, i really enjoyed it and would deffinetly return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhawkins1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

If you are government or military you need to check this one out. Competing hotels only offered me between 5-10% off their normal rate whereas the Marriott gave me roughly 50% off ($190 a night reduced to $91 a night).

They also provide excellent coffee all day and cookies at 4 or so.

Room Tip: Make sure you move valuables off your beds or else the room service personnel will not clean your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YEAHBUDDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Noisy guests at 1:30 am, disappointing and annoying.

Room Tip: stop treating your guests that smoke like second class citizens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rates of $169 a night is what I would expect to pay for a chic hotel in Chicago, not Bloomington, IN! The free coffee and lemon water is nice, but charging $8 for breakfast bar doesn't seem right for the already high room rates. Location is near the Square which is good for walking and also has a small pool.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangeric25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

this was hotel was the friendliest that i have stayed in all year. loved it !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Would not come back...Came for a family wedding - everyone was all over the hotel instead of a book of rooms together. Breakfast not free. Shower curtain had mold on it, Could hear sirens and car traffic all night and we were on the 5th floor. Wedding reception was held here and rooms still cost $150 --- to much for what you got. We kept asking for a connector room and they would never agree to it - up to the end we finally got one. One room requested a fridge for medicne and upon arrival it was not there. Workers are excellent and very friendly. Food at reception was cold.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madcity01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#3 of 24 in Bloomington
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington

Property: Courtyard Bloomington
Address: 310 S. College Avenue, Bloomington, IN 47403-1509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Courtyard
Bloomington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing