We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for recent tournament”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family stayed here for a softball tournament. We were very pleased with our stay! It is very conveniently located near the fields, many stores including wal-mart, Aldi, TJ Max, and Kohls. There are also several restaurants within walking distance. We were greated with a welcome packet including a Bloomington magazine. The staff was very accommodating and kept up with the busy breakfast crowd every day. There were many options hot and cold options for breakfast, except waffles which, secretly, I was happy about. The room was comfortable, large, clean, and quiet. We never had an issue with noise with three teams staying there. The beds were comfortable with white duvet covers. The laundry facilities came in handy washing uniforms. There was a nice size lobby for gathering with the team. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the parking lot side of the building, away from the highway. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinFamilyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We look forward to hearing what our guests think about our hotel whether it be good or bad feedback. We are excited to hear that you did not experience any issues with our property and that breakfast was well stocked and ran as that has been a area that at times has given us some trouble in the past. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Bloomington area.

Sincerely,
Evan Somes
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Fairfield for three night for a softball tournament. I can't complain because we did stay here for free because we used our reward points. I would have been very upset if I had paid the $149.00 a night they were asking for the room this weekend! We are Marriott Platinum members and on our profile it has that we prefer third floor rooms, but they put us on the first floor. And, boy, did they put us in the worst room possible. I am sure because it were a free room. We were in the corner room on the first floor where you could hear absolutely everything from cars to train to people to door slamming. All night long we could hear EVERYTHING! Apparently the "break" area was right outside our room...the picnic table where everyone went to smoke. We could hear everything they had to say! Needless to say I did not sleep during our three nights at the hotel. I was up all night hearing everything. This was honestly one of the loudest hotels I have ever been in. Another problem I had with sleeping was that the pillows here were the worst pillows. They were so lumpy....not your typical Marriott pillows.
I do have to say that the staff were nice to us during our stay. The maids were very nice and so were the front desk when our key wouldn't work any longer and we had to go get our key re-keyed...another problem.
Another problem we had was breakfast. We went down one morning, not super early, but around 9:40...there were very few eggs left and one piece of ham ( there were 3 of us). The breakfast man was there (he saw us). He never offered to go make more eggs or get more ham.He was done.....breakfast was over(although is wasn't 10:00. There were even a few more people that came down after us. Still he did nothing. So...lesson learned, if you want HOT breakfast, I guess you have to get there before 9:30???? I'm not sure.
Like I said earlier, we are frequent travelers with Marriott, especially with Fairfields, and this is not your typical Fairfield. I would have been VERY upset if I had paid $149 a night for this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

I would first like to thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay here at the Fairfield Inn Bloomington. We take these reviews very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve our hotel. We pay close attention to the special requests that our guests have requested for their stay, and try very hard to accommodate them. I apologize about the floor request not being granted to you while staying here. The pillows in the rooms are something that are in the process of being switched out as we are constantly receiving new ones for the rooms. As for the breakfast attendant, we did have a mishap with our delivery truck during that time period as he was running behind and our delivery was not here in time, so that might have very well been the reason no more food was made. But regardless, that should not have happened and the guests should have been informed of this mistake while entering the breakfast area. As there are no excuses for not providing a full breakfast for the entire length of breakfast hours, I would also like to apologize about this. As I will look further into these situations it would be my hopes that this recent stay with us does not tarnish our chances of having you return to our property the next time you are in Bloomington.

Sincerely,
Evan Somes
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed here three times and continue to be pleasantly surprised at the level of customer service. Front desk staff friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast well done, an extensive assortment of hot and cold items attractively displayed with an attentive attendant. Rooms are the older style with a small bathroom counter, but room Is clean and comfortable. All three times my preference for extra towels and pillow were waiting for me in the room. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience here at the Fairfield Inn Bloomington. Our team pays close attention to all guests special requests and takes great pride in making sure these requests are met. We are happy to see such great appreciation for our property and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean rooms and friendly staff. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was only ok, and I would recommend heading out to one of the nice places around town, unless you're in a hurry or on a budget. It's located near the highway, but just far enough away that we did not hear it. It's nice that it's near 3rd Street, which takes you right into IU and downtown, but if you want to be able to walk places, you'll want to look somewhere closer in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was clean, neat, and great for the price. The entry door to the hotel is not marked very well...we drove around the hotel looking for the entrance. It doesn't have the drive through overhang(covered for rain/snow) you look for in a hotel entrance. It is about 3-4 miles from Indiana University campus but close to shopping and restaurants. Easy drive to campus though. There is a Cheddars, McDonalds, Taco Bell, and a Steak House across the parking lot...you can just walk over. You get to the hotel on an access road that has a stoplight on the main highway so it is very easy and safe getting to and from it. The room was clean...had the extra pillows and towels I requested. The bathroom has the sink outside the toilet/shower area which was nice. The sink area is small but very usable for 2 people. We had a 2 queen room...flat screen tv frig, microwave, coffeepot in room. No bugs and no smells. Clean sheets/bedspread. The hotel was quiet...no one in halls at night...no noisy kids running around. It has a small inside pool which would be good for children to use. Breakfast had hot scrambled eggs and sausage along with the other free breakfast items. Eating area was staffed and very clean. All items were kept in stock. No problem paying with Marriott gift cards and Marriott points at checkout. Easy easy.

Room Tip: Ask for the extra pillows and towels (they gave us the full size bath towels not hand towels which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Illinoisgal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for a conference at the University of Indiana. It was close to campus. The hotel was clean, staff very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the fruit infused water and cookies daily. Room was quiet, clean. Our housekeeper left us candy one day. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had to take our daughter to camp at IU and stayed one night with 3 of us in a room. We got a King suite with a king bed and a sofa with a open wall desk separating the bed and pull out sofa couch. Our rate with discount was $125 night which I thought was a little much. Room was OK but cramped for us 3 and no privacy. The morning breakfast they serve for free was really good! The front desk staff was very nice and very helpful! Problem I had with the room was the windows and AC/heat system. So darn noisy!! The noise of the windows not being seal or insulated was like having a window open all night and could hear everything from businesses and roads. The noise of any air running through the ac/heat system was very "clanking" Was up all night with the noise. Even when the unit is off, you would still hear clinking noise. Their windows need to be changed out and upgraded badly and the vent system is old as well. Only 1 elevator and it was hard to get on and off as it was always full and it ran so S L O W ! Only a few miles from University and lots of places to eat and stores nearby which is a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbjjm211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington
Candlewood Suites Bloomington
#20 of 24 in Bloomington
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
#10 of 24 in Bloomington
551 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington

Address: 120 S Fairfield Dr, Bloomington, IN 47404-5242 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Bloomington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: $119 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Marriott Bloomington, IN is ideally located just off of I-69 (SR 37), close to Indiana University and downtown Bloomington. Fairfield Inn & Suites is minutes from Cook Medical, Baxter, General Electric, Rogers Group, IU Health, Otis Elevator, and Monroe Hospital. General Motors, NSWC Crane Naval Base and Boston Scientific are also located nearby. The hotel is close to a number of events including IU Football, IU Basketball, Little 500, Lotus Festival and Hilly Hundred. Enjoy shopping nearby and restaurants within walking distance. Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington offers a complimentary hot breakfast daily, complimentary wireless internet, a heated indoor pool, and 24-hour fitness center. We invite you to come experience this wonderful hotel for yourself! At the Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, you're our #1 priority. We promise you'll be satisfied, or we'll make it right. That's our commitment to you. Ask us about The Fairfield 100% Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing