We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Pros:
-Clean, comfortable room
-Helpful staff
-Quiet location
-Close driving distance to IU and the restaurants on Kirkwood and 4th St.
-Reasonably priced
-Airport shuttle stops at the hotel

Cons
-So-so breakfast: often they would be out of items by the time I arrived for breakfast.
-Staff was slow to respond to requests: I checked into a King suite and discovered there was no mini-fridge. It took three phone calls and 24 hours for the fridge to arrive
-Cleaning staff was very nice but made mistakes: one day they did not vacuum by the sofa, another they mistakenly took the bath mat and the washcloths and did not leave any new ones.

Would I stay here again - absolutely.

Room Tip: Make sure and hang the 'Resting' sign on your door. My first morning the cleaning staff was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you so much for providing your valuable feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to improve our services, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 540 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

King bed with a pull out sofa and free breakfast for 3 adults for under 225.00? It's a great deal. The room was clean and once we turned the heat down, comfortable and quiet. I would have given a 5, but they need to redo the popcorn on the ceilings which is beginning to peel is small spots.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardeasnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Hampton! We work hard to make every aspect of your time here effortless and comfortable, and we greatly appreciate your feedback on how we are doing. Be sure to stop by the next time you are in Bloomington and say hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is on a 1way street but very close to campus. Really they need to get 2 queen beds in a room, they're still using 2 double sized beds. There is 1 chair in the room to sit on otherwise. Brkfst was average, really nothing to rely on for an entire morning. Staff were all helpful and friendly, and the hotel is kept very clean everywhere which I like

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Suzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Suzie! I am glad to see that you received the excellent service and a spotless room that we pride ourselves on. Know that we constantly work to improve your experience here, and we hope to show that off sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We visited our grandson at Indiana University. Hotel was clean and quiet. All personnel were friendly and seemed glad that we were staying there. Location was good for us since it only took about 5 minutes to get to the campus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

John, we are ALWAYS happy to have you here at the Hampton! We greatly appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again the next time you visit your grandson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hampton is a decent place to stay on an off weekend for the IU. Cost is somewhat cheaper than the hotels downtown. Location is slightly outside downtown, but only a 6$ cab ride in. A few decent places to eat within walking distance. Would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are always looking to improve our services based on guest feedback, and we certainly hope to see you again soon to showcase our hard work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here when visiting our son who is a student at IU. I find all of the hotels over-priced in this town. The rooms here are nice and clean. The breakfast was a little disappointing but we did show up near the end.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Jan--Thank you for sharing! Know that we work hard to provide the best service and value while here at the Hampton, and that certainly includes a full breakfast. We hope to see you the next time you visit your son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed almost a week at the Hampton Inn in Bloomington, Indiana.
We have been staying at this Hampton for the last 4 years since out son started school there.
We have always been very satisfied. This time we were up for out son's senior recital and we booked 2 rooms for almost a week. One room being the 1 room whirlpool suite, other room for my parents.

Very disappointed this time. Our room had "nasty" sheets and mattress pad. Did get a new one and clean sheets, plus a voucher for free night later at that hotel. Then after several days of not getting our room cleaned, had to take care of getting our own towels and sheets. Got another voucher for free night later at that hotel. The other room i had my parents in, had lady bug infestation. On top of this, the suite itself was sort of run down feeling. There used to be something on the wall in the king bed room. But apparently taken down and hooks left in place.
Air conditioner/Heater in king room did not work right the whole time. Did not mention it, felt was complaining too much.

Never once got my Gold Honors treatment. I really wonder if this hotel is getting a little complacent with it being in a college town and figuring they have more business than they need, so why have customer service. It is bad enough paying $400 a night at graduation because all the hotels band together and gouge the prices.
I am staying at hotel for graduation and paying the outrageous price, but felt no other choice. Starting to think I should have stayed at Homewood Suites instead.

I will be talking with the Hilton Honors folks about this situation.

On the positive side, the staff at this hotel was more than accommodating. They were friendly, smiling and ready to help. Always like staying here, but now not sure.

Room Tip: Find a room with no lady bugs in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Ray, I do apologize that your experience did not meet the quality and service that you deserve. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and helping us to improve our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during graduation weekend and welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me at Hannah.Ritchie@Hilton.com if you need any assistance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
636 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bloomington

Address: 2100 N Walnut St, Bloomington, IN 47404-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#9 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $107 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Hampton Inn Bloomington, a great value hotel in Bloomington, IN next to Memorial Stadium. Expect free WiFi, work desks, convenient lap desks and 32-inch LCD TVs. Choose from a variety of room options, including a king bed study with a sofa bed or a one-bedroom suite with a whirlpool. Our modern fitness center and sparkling outdoor pool also provide the perfect spot to spend some leisure time. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Bloomington - a great choice among hotels in Bloomington, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Bloomington
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing