We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Bloomington for two nights over the July 4th weekend without a reservation.

The staff was extremely nice and helpful. When we checked in the woman at the front desk was thoughtful and chose us a room on the top floor facing the IU stadium so we could see the fireworks. The room itself was a King and very nicely furnished and decorated. The bed was very comfortable, as was the sofa. There was a huge flat screen TV and free wireless. Both worked without any problems.

From the front desk to the housekeeping, everyone at the Hampton Inn was very kind and helpful.

The breakfast each morning was very good. There was a large variety of different items, both hot and cold. The business center was not extensive, but allowed us to print off the few documents we needed. We did not use the outdoor pool during our stay, but it looked nice.

The Hampton Inn is located north of the town. It was a quick car ride (~5 minutes) to the Kirkwood area downtown, and close to the football stadium. There isn't too much in walking distance from this hotel, a few restaurants but not too much else.

Overall this was one of the best hotels we have stayed at in quite a while. We both really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sajab_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    136
    67
    29
    20
See reviews for
209
76
46
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We made a trip to Bloomington in April, to attend the Little 500 race and festivities. The hotel met our expectations and we were very pleased. It was very busy, but they kept everything clean and calm. The breakfast area was well stocked and personnel were there refilling and cleaning and making it enjoyable. The housecleaning crew was busy and accommodating when we wanted to sleep in, and they still made it a point to clean our room and change our linens, on our time schedule. The front desk accommodated us in every way with answers to our questions, and particular needs, which they met with a smile. There were some obnoxious and loud people in rooms, and the staff asked us the following day if we had been disturbed by these people and to make sure to call them if they disturbed us the following evening. When we did call, they immediately came to our floor and spoke with the people causing the disturbance. Every thing went very well for a wild and crazy college week-end, and the Hampton secured the parking lot and areas to insure that its guests were taken care of and accommodated. Who could ask for more? And, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated and everything was perfect. Our experience here was fantastic!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly. Professional.
  • Disliked — Rowdy guests and price was a little high.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank highm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

Stayed for four evenings at the Hampton Inn in October. It was a 2 mile walk to the auditorium at Indiana University. It felt very safe to walk in the area. Most would probably drive and you'll need to beware of all the one way streets, but Bloomington is beautiful. The room had a queen bed which was sufficient for us and was very comfortable. We slept very well. The room was clean and the bathroom was handicap accessible (which we didn't need, but found to be very roomy). The products were also of good quality. Housekeeping was a little over zealous and threw some newspapers and other things we were keeping away. I would recommend that you put things in a drawer if you would like to keep them.
The front desk staff was very friendly. Greeting us with a smile each morning and evening and very helpful with grocery suggestions. We bought breakfast items, due to the fact that most of the continental was sugar items. We had a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Except for the bananas and apples, it was a carb lovers dream. I was disappointed that they used styrofoam for the bowls and plates. Something more biodegradeable could be used and just as affordable.
I appreciated the complimentary computer to print area information and boarding passes.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the front desk staff
  • Disliked — housekeeping threw away some items
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dbrallmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

This hotel is a surprise, for its furnishings and hospitality make it seem far more luxurious than its Hampton Inn name portends. While it's not as swanky as a Ritz Carlton (eg, it has plastic soap dishes), this hotel delivers an incredible bang for the buck and in my opinion is the nicest hotel in Bloomington. Its location is near the bypass and is closer to the IU campus than many of the newer hotels on the west side of town. Note that the property has been remodeled in the last year and has a modern and sleek look!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ML2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, CA.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

Our son attends Indiana University in Bloomington, and we try to visit him at least twice a year at school.

We've always stayed at the Hampton Inn, which is located only about a mile or so from campus. I woud say we've stayed there about 8 times so far, dating back to our initial campus visit in April of 2005. Ther rooms have always been spotless and well maintained. The service is always friendly and the free breakfasts are a great way to start the day.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Levys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
231 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

I am a business traveller and stay at over 30 hotels a year. I often stay at Hampton Inns as they seem to have a consistent quality and reasonable rates. This Hampton was fine, nothing spectacular, but about what you would suspect. The rooms seemed a bit smaller than average. The bathroom was spacious and had a lighted magnified mirror which was a nice touch. My room had just a shower, but again it was very roomy shower. The breakfast fare was what you'd expect. My room did have a nice corner desk that was easy to use for work.
The hotel, is located quite far from the downtown. There is a Denny's and a chinese restuarant next door, but you need to travel some for anything else.
It was difficult to maintian the temperature in my room and the fan needed to be on all the time to accomplish this. Made it a bit noisy for sleeping.
The staff was friendly. Nothing wrong with this hotel, just not near anything else.

  • Liked — Usual Hampton Inn room amenities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sendmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

This was a surprise. The hotel looks pretty average, and the hallways are a bit narrow, but the wonderful attitude of the front desk put a smile on our face that we continued throughout the brief one noght stay.

The room was clean and the bathroom had more amenities and toiletries than I remember from a Hampton Inn.

There are PLENTY of sketchy hotels in Bloomington, but this is not one of them.

It's also close to Assembly Hall and Memorial Stadium.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank GFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bloomington

Property: Hampton Inn Bloomington
Address: 2100 N Walnut St, Bloomington, IN 47404-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#9 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Hampton Inn Bloomington, a great value hotel in Bloomington, IN next to Memorial Stadium. Expect free WiFi, work desks, convenient lap desks and 32-inch LCD TVs. Choose from a variety of room options, including a king bed study with a sofa bed or a one-bedroom suite with a whirlpool. Our modern fitness center and sparkling outdoor pool also provide the perfect spot to spend some leisure time. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Bloomington - a great choice among hotels in Bloomington, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Bloomington
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing