We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gave our room key to strangers! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gave our room key to strangers! ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel charged me 3 times for the same stay then released key card to our room to a complete stranger who claimed her sister was in there. Then they told me the key mixup couldn't be helped even though they never asked the stranger for a name or even an ID!

The "number bed" was lumpy because the batteries died and no one ever showed up to replace them.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwessel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I sincerely apologize for the experience you had recently at our hotel, there is no excuse for what happened. As soon as we were made aware of what had occurred, our General Manager reviewed all key policies with the entire staff to ensure this type of incident is not repeated.
As part of the check in process, an additional amount is always authorized on credit cards to cover any possible incidental charges, perhaps this is why you thought that you had been overcharged. These authorizations drop off once the credit card is charged for the stay and the guest checks out. I am very sorry that you did not have the kind of experience you should have at our Holiday Inn, we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    74
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
106
33
13
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
louisville
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Close to the Greek homes. Mom's weekend for my son's fraternity. The hotel was packed.Very nice, A limited breakfast was included. Eggs, sausage , biscuits, gravy , a little fruit, cereal and some muffins. Small bar at night for cocktails. A great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hersey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We were very pleased to read that our hotel location perfectly suited your needs when in town for a Mom's weekend at Indiana University. We thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with others, we sincerely value our guest feedback.
We hope to see you again when you come to town to visit your son.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Holiday Inn for an event at Indiana University. It was a great stay---convenient to campus, close to a huge grocery store, and plenty of free parking. We enjoyed the friendly service, clean room, and complimentary breakfast. They even left chocolate chip cookies at our door! Having a business center with computers and printers was helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlife51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
The entire staff was pleased to read your comments after your recent stay at our Holiday Inn, Bloomington. It was very rewarding to see that you found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable, that our location perfectly suited your needs, and that you enjoyed the extra little touches we provide to our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here a couple years ago, while bumming around the back roads with a great-uncle of mine. The service was phenomenal. One of the best, if not the best, hotel I've ever stayed in, regardless of brand. The food was great as well. We made our token appearance at the bar and it was a good time. Great conversation, great times. Overall, it was a great stay, and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We thank you for sharing your experience at our Holiday Inn with others. It was rewarding to read your kind comments, as we strive to provide the type of accommodations and service that exceed our guest's expectations.

We hope to be your hotel of choice in Bloomington.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel was recently renovated to become a modern, nicely designed, pleasant experience hotel. We stayed there while visiting a niece at college. It was in a great location. The room had a nice ambience and was very comfortable. It even had a sleep number bed. Bathroom was modern as was the common space in the lobby. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeview80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn when visiting your niece recently in Bloomington. We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the hotel location, the guestroom as well as the breakfast in the morning.
We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League city, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Clean, spacious, comfortable, rooms. Service was excellent in every way. Enjoy you morning breakfast. Would have liked swimming in the pool, but it was covered for the winter but now understand that we could have used the heated pool at the express down the road. Many thanks. Rebecca v.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbecky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay at our Holiday Inn, sharing your experience with others. Yes, as we do have an outdoor pool and it is closed in the winter months, you are welcome to use the indoor pool at our sister hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff at the holiday inn were very polite, and were willing and able to answer any questions or requests that I had over the course of my stay. My room was clean and without any technical malfunctions, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. The location is also great, being so close to both the highway and IU's campus. Great stay all around.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdoriangrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We thank you very much for your kind comments after your recent stay with us. It was very rewarding to read your praise of the service that you received as well as the delicious breakfast you enjoyed in the morning.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bloomington

Property: Holiday Inn Bloomington
Address: 1710 North Kinser Pike, Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Indiana University area hotel provides visitors to the area the perfect place to stay to enjoy all the Bloomington Indiana area attractions, shopping and Indiana Hoosier athletic events. Situated in the heart of Bloomington Indiana, guests of the Holiday Inn are near many of the major businesses area attractions. We are located less than one mile from the IU stadium, home of the Hoosiers and the location of Big 12 football games throughout the fall. We offer many specials and packages throughout the year to accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Crowne Plaza Bloomington
Radisson Bloomington
Bloomington Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing