We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK-ish for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Bloomington - Indiana University
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed three nights while attending Lotus World Music and Arts Fest the weekend of 9-24-11.

After being advised by a festival official to not stay there, I spoke to the Bloomington Director of Tourism, who personally went there, spoke to the manager who showed her a room. She called me the next day and said the room was spartan but in decent shape. So we decided to give it a try.

We were first given room 211, but the a/c was a little too noisy and the room rather musty smelling. I spoke to the desk clerk(friendly and co-operative) who then gave us 212 next door. It was much better. Spartan to be sure, but clean, reasonably well maintained, and had a refrig and micro-wave. One goofy thing is that they installed a "long" style toilet and you can't close the door without first raising the seat. OK you won't find that at a Hyatt, but at $139 for 3 nights, we could live with it. The beds were comfortable enough too. Also, it's close to town and a straight shot to the business area.

A place at that price point doesn't always attract a top tier of society and things got a little noisy Saturday night when someone's car alarm kept going off for a couple hours and another person felt the need to squeal his tires on entering the premises. The other two nights were OK.

So would we stay there again? It's a measured "yes". If you plan to spend most of your time out, aren't too concerned about amenities, and only need a place to sleep, It'll get you by. But much more than that and you may want to consider another place.

What can I say? It's a Motel 6!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribbeancajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Room was clean and staff were friendly. Was offered a sexual favor for a price by a person staying in room near mine. Obviously running prostitution from that location. I will pay extra to get away from that scene next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jebranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Wished I had forked out another $20 bucks. Made reservation 2 months ago, and when arrived was told only smoking rooms available. They came up with one, but bathroom smells moldy, bathroom molding falling off wall and wall looks wet underneath, a/c not taking moisture (or smell) out of air, bed and pillow hard. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! definately less than desirable. Needs torn down and start over. New bathroom sink nice - now gut the rest. I am stuck

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheapskate57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

After I had returned from staying at this fleabag flophouse, I received a phone call from one of its employees, asking me if I had left a silver necklace (with a crucifix) in the room. Apparently, one of the staff found it when cleaning up. I realized I had, and asked them to hold it for me until the following Saturday.

When Saturday proved impossible, I called back and spoke to the manager. She advised me that it was their policy that if property was found in a guest's room, staff are not to tell the owner of the property. She informed me that when I asked the employee details about the necklace, the employee had violated hotel rules by revealing anything.

In other words, they intended to keep my property, even after it had been turned over to their lost and found!

Stay there at your own risk. If you must stay there, then be ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN you leave with ALL of your property!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd_the_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This is the dirtiest motel I have ever been in. The carpet looked like something out of CSI. Thanks God we did not have a blue light! Bathroom was filthy, sheets weren't clean, sink was stopped up. And we were itchy the next day!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmr908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

To start, when we got to our rooms, we noticed that there wasn't an alarm clock, table, or extra chairs. We thought this was a random occurrence with our room, but the other 2 rooms that our family had, they were also missing their alarm clock, table and chairs. We only had 3 towels in our room, even after we told them there would be 4 people staying in the room. The bathroom was disgusting. The tub/shower didn't have anything for a handle or grip on the floor. Very dangerous!!!!! Our family met in Bloomington for the Iowa-Indiana game as a little "reunion." We called the front desk and asked if we could get a table and chairs to play cards and were told that they are in the middle of renovating the rooms. We thought that was bogus. Apparently the alarm clocks were a major part of the renovations as well and couldn't have one. When we returned from the game, the locks had been changed on 2 of our 3 rooms. Our room wasn't made up and we had to go request more clean towels. I will say it was a great location for the football game and it had good coffee in the mornings. But not good enough for us to ever go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

It was almost the only room left in town, so we tried to ignore the wretched smell and the filthy carpet, but when we pulled back the sheets and noticed the wet spots on the pillow and sheet that was the last straw. We would rather sleep in the car. Fortunately, we were able to reach an unsuspecting relative and sleep on their sofa.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Vermonter132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.5 mi away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#15 of 24 in Bloomington
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Bloomington
Days Inn Bloomington
#22 of 24 in Bloomington
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 24 in Bloomington
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
#10 of 24 in Bloomington
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bloomington - Indiana University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bloomington - Indiana University

Address: 1800 N Walnut St, Bloomington, IN 47404-2428
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: $46 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bloomington - Indiana University 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Bloomington is conveniently located 1 mile from Indiana University and also near restaurants and shopping. All modern smoke-free guest rooms have wood-effect flooring and free Wi-Fi. Micro-fridge units are available for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Bloomington - Indiana University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bloomington - Indiana University Hotel Bloomington
Motel Six Bloomington
Bloomington Motel 6
Bloomington Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing