We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's water in Indiana?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

There is!

For a mud bottom lake, this is a great place to clear your mind. Typical April weather, but with accommodations like a modern weight room, indoor pool, and nice restaurant we hardly noticed.

The service was great, and the front desk attendant, Meagan, was extremely friendly and helpful.

Will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Yes there is water in Indiana and we are so glad you found it and us.
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort. We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 786 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were visiting friends in the area and decided to check in for a night based on the reviews. We love boating and thought it migt be a nice place to get to know especially in the warmer months. Josh at the check in was very attentive and every staff member we encountered greeted us with a pleasnt smile. The rooms and the view definitely exceeded our expectations and we took a delightful long walk around the property. The bar area was great and the restaurant was nearly completed. There are plenty of activities in the resort including nearby golf course. The marina appeared to be a top notch facility and had a nice conversation with one of the tennants at the marina who stated that the property had undergone a huge transformation which appeared nearly done including the lobby. Our one night turned into two and we would definitely recommend this property. We will bring our entire family next time in warmer months to enjoy the lake activity.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family, they have rooms with separate living and full kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riley_B118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort. We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a Sunday night here as a getaway weekend with friends and had a ball. Although the weather was typical April weather - cool and damp - we made the best of it. The newly remodeled rooms are very nice -we had lakeside rooms with a balcony patio that were a nice size for 4 people to gather around the table and play cards. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Josh was particularly helpful as they were still cleaning one of the rooms and he offered to come get us from the bar when it was ready and then checked back with us to ensure we had everything we needed. There are plenty of walkways and paths to stroll along after a meal or early in the morning to stretch. We will definitely come back on warmer weather so we can enjoy the beach area and the water.

Room Tip: Lakeside have a great view - we were told that the suites had kitchens and couches and lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajcgocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort. We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went there on a Groupon offer and found a very nice hotel in the process. They have been and still are undergoing a huge renovation, but the completed areas are very nice. We enjoyed a drink, an appetizer and the view in the restaurant/bar. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
The only difficulty we had with Fourwinds was finding it. But once we were there it was worth the hunt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort. We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved almost everything about the resort; the rooms were very well appointed and the view overlooking the lake was gorgeous. Wish the weather would have cooperated the weekend we were there so we could've enjoyed the outdoors. We were rather disappointed in the breakfast buffet for $9.95 per person. However, it was what we have grown to expect as part of the cost of most reasonably priced hotel chains. Nothing special for the cost. One other suggestion - watch what you put in the room refrigerator! It freezes everything! We had a coke explode in the middle of the night which about scared us to death! We mentioned it when we checked out and were a bit disappointed in the response from the front desk.....not even a "Thank you, we will check into that" or " sorry." All in all though, we would stay again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lash5911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We thank you very much for your review and positive feedback. It is reviews like yours that help us tremendously with any problems we have. Our breakfast and its location are new to the resort. We will look at ways to improve the value to our guests. The refrigerator setting in your room has been turned down and has alerted us to check all the refrigerators because they are all new and could be set wrong. Our apologies for the oversight, your review has saved someone else from an exploding can of pop.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A companion and I spent two nights at the Fourwinds right at the end of our visit to the USA.

The rate offered was very appealing as was the location (peaceful and quiet) after a fairly hectic road trip.

I agree with earlier correspondents that the ambience of the lake view rooms is excellent, especially at sunrise and sunset.

The bed was comfortable but the bedding appeared tired and was ill fitting. We felt that the bed had been made in a very slap dash manner for our second night.

The decor of the establishment seems very dated. Dark wood and colours; something right out of the 1970s. Parts looked like they needed a good paint; e..g. a seat near one of the entrances.

And, the early morning sunlight showed up the dust on much of the furniture in the lobby. I was tempted to write my name in the dust on a table in the lobby but thought that would be tacky!

The staff were helpful but not effusive. I asked if it would be possible to check my flight time but was told there was no computer available for guests and staff were not allowed to use the internet.

I was able to find the information on my SmartPhone that connected to the good quality wifi in the hotel.

It was an extremely quiet period when I stayed with what appeared to be few guests.

The rate was good and the stay was enjoyable but prospective guests should be prepared for very dark 1970s style decor and a rather tired look in the public areas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. Our customers feed back is one of the most important ways to improve. Thank you for appreciating our location on the water. The views are spectacular. I am sorry you don't care for the dark woods. I must admit I am the one responsible for the choices made but they are all new, everything was stripped and redone.
During your stay our second restaurant was finishing up renovation and causing much dust, but this will end in two weeks. I really am sorry we couldn't keep the lobby completely clean from the construction dust. I will instruct our house keeping to keep a better eye on the dust. The rooms and bedding are all brand new also, I will be sure to get housekeeping to do a better job making up the beds.

All in all you enjoyed your stay and I can promise that should you return to our part of the world the items you mentioned that needed attention will be addressed. Except for the dark woods....sorry about that. Safe travels and we hope to see you again.

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just spent an enjoyable short stay at Fourwinds Resort and Marina. Since my husband is partially disabled, and needs to use a walker to get around, we chose the handicapped, two room, king bed, lake view, deluxe suite so that he would have room to get around. It was a beautiful suite, with a large balcony with two tables and four chairs on it, that overlooked the lake and marina. I made sure to arise early in the morning to see the sunrise over the lake. Everything at Fourwinds exceeded our expectations, and a wonderful job was recently done in remodeling the resort. The decor is beautiful through out the resort, and our suite was well laid out. The only thing I found missing was a luggage rack to place our suitcase on. The bed & pillows gave us a great nights sleep, the couch and chairs were comfortable to sit on, and while we didn't need the full size kitchen appliances, they would we be great for a long term stay. The folks at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They couldn't have been nicer to us. We would certainly recommend Fourwinds to others.
Note* We've since received an email appologizing for the oversite of a luggage rack & told one will be put in every suite.

Room Tip: We would suggest a balcony room that over looks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you so very much for the kind words and great review. So glad the room worked out well. We have personal experience for our handicapped guests and really appreciate the fact that you made the observation that there was no luggage rack. As you know these have now been added to all suites that did not have one. We really appreciate this feedback. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
10.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
10.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
628 reviews
18.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
256 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
370 reviews
10.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina

Address: 9301 S Fairfax Rd, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401-8962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $98 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Just 15 minutes from the Bloomington business district and Indiana University, Fourwinds is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina will be your favorite "Staycation Destination". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, mini-golf and hiking trails are just a few of the amenities that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing