We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Bloomington
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst place in town”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We visit B-town often being alums and having children in college there. Made the mistake once to visit without advance reservations. Found a room here for $200. Seriously thought about sleeping in my car instead.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccervino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    69
    62
    38
    50
See reviews for
103
47
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Attended a basketball tournament, was originally booked at a hotel down the street which was absolutely filthy, had to find another hotel in a hurry. Jon wasn't the friendliest but he did try. The room was very reasonably priced. The hotel lobby was clean, which set the standard for the room. I was pleasantly surprised to find the room to be very inviting, lining was fresh and the bathroom was clean. Very nice stay for the $$$.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

My husband and I were in Bloomington to attend the IU Opera so only needed a room for one night. We found the hotel to be clean and convenient. There is a Denny's just next door though the hotel offers a continental breakfast. We did not take advantage of the breakfast, as we ate at a local restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

I needed a cheap lodging for a one-night stay. Overall, everything worked properly and my room was actually too hot for me when I walked in (but much preferred to the alternative). One of the bath towels had some yellow spots and there were a lot of random hairs on the shower guard, but it really wasn't a big deal. The afternoon desk clerk was very helpful and went out of his way to give me directions. The hotel is conveniently located about 5 minutes walking distance from the Hampton Inn, and subsequently, one stop on the Bloomington Airport Shuttle. It's relatively clean and a good deal if cost is an issue.

  • Liked — Location to Airport Bus Shuttle and Price
  • Disliked — Some Cleanliness Concerns
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank apoge_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

The room was a good value for the money but I have never seen a more clueless staff. One clerk was not only clueless but rude (but to be fair, he was only rude when I could get him out of the back office by making a substantial noise).

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Roger1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2007

Boy did this motel ever do me wrong! After telling me that I could extend my reservation a day, I received a call at 1:30 the next afternoon saying that a mistake had been made and I had to clear out of the room immediately. And they weren't nice about it either--not a single "Please," "thank you," or "I'm sorry" in the whole process. So... an hour before one of the biggest meetings of my life, in a town where every room was booked, and in the midst of a pouring rain storm, there I was without a place to stay and my blood boiling.

They acted as if it were MY fault they had mismanaged their reservations. So Days Inn Bloomington, here's your "zero star" rating for your super-unfriendly, incompetent service.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HereThereEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bloomington hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2004

I had to make a sudden trip to Bloomington and hotel choices were limited. I chose this place because I wanted to bring some perishable items (I was on a strict diet at the time) and their web site said there were in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Unfortunately, when I got to my room, neither was there. The management told me they kept getting stolen. However, they were apologetic and offered to store some items in their office refrigerator. Otherwise, the room was basically acceptable--it was neat and clean, the bathroom was suitable, and the hot water and shower ran fine. I slept fine on the bed and didn't hear my neighbors at all. Perhaps my only real complaint was that the room was a little drafty because the door did not have weather sealing around it. Had it been winter, it might have been a problem. Anyway, in a pinch and for the price, it was a suitable stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 24 in Bloomington
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#15 of 24 in Bloomington
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
#10 of 24 in Bloomington
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bloomington

Property: Days Inn Bloomington
Address: 200 E. State Road 45/46 Bypass, Bloomington, IN 47408-1400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Bloomington 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing