We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun food adventure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farm Restaurant

Farm Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Farm Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 342 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
632 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
“Fun food adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I liked this place - we wanted to sample something that you don't get on the east or west coast, something more "heartland USA" with farm fresh ingredients, including corn. This place achieved the mark - good cooking, fabulous flavors, and all made from local produce. Four of us ordered a variety of small plates and a few main courses to share (9-10 dishes) - it was all good, some very good. Chef Orr personally delivered the tasty garlic fries to the table. I particularly enjoyed the vegetable dish, Chicken Michigander (with cherry bourbon reduction), and the Wild Bianca pizza with shitake and oyster mushrooms. There is an eclectic decor; I liked the farm implements dangling from the ceiling. Service was good. The desserts also looked delicious (e.g., berry cobbler) but we were full. Will have to come back for more!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    117
    69
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food-lovers Delight in Bloomington, IN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Coming from the east coast to pick up our son from a summer program at IU, we were surprised delighted to find a restaurant with farm fresh, thoughtfully prepared and beautifully presented food. We had dinner twice and brunch over the two days we were there - we wanted to try everything on the menu and nothing disappointed! The staff was welcoming and helpful, and even breakfast omelets were tastier than expected. The bison burger was a not-to-miss treat, and I still think about the radish salad! And the local microbrewery beer was exceptional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nhb014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Went back for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Bloomington (IU drop off). We shared the freshest salad I have Ever had andmamrhin crust freshly made incredible pizza. The service and a suggested wine were excellent. So good that we came back for dinner that night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke in
Level Contributor
117 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great all the Way Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had lunch at the Farm a few days ago with some friends who had highly recommended this establishment. Their opinions were correct. The ambience was good, the service was very good and the food was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Far Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had guests from Switzerland and California and wanted them to have a good Bloomington experience. My wife had only been here for lunch once. But we were ecstatic over the food and service. The crab cakes, bison burger, green pea guacamole, parmesan fries, felafel burger, vegetable plate and macadamia salad were first class. Reasonable priced wine also. The desserts were as good as European desserts. We shared all the desserts around the table. Each person was so excited about his or her own!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Svenskapojke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing