We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it, liked it”

Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tried it, liked it”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Visitors to Bloomington, went here on recommendation of the B&B owners we were staying with. Located a couple steps below ground level, we went on a late morning. Were no places for the 2 of us to sit, as all the tables and couches were full of people with laptops in use. Lots of choices, just went for my typical triple shot latte, extra hot. The flavor was good, would suggest they are using quality beans. Only gripe was that we had to sit outside (patio available) which wouldnt normally be an issue other than it was the week where it was at or over 100 degrees outside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great juices, great atmosphere, but...”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I really like going to Soma- they have a great menu of coffees, teas, juices, and smoothies, but the employees are totally rude. Most of the times I visit, I feel totally out of place and unwelcome by the baristas. They also get really annoyed if you don't tip them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Singular and Revolutionary”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Soma is the place for revved up study sessions and always for good people to exchange strange and exciting ideas.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Coffee In Bloomington”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The best coffee in Bloomington. My daughter loves the zombies while their cafe au lait is perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Pam-Roberts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would you not pull that face while you grind? I don't really want to drink a cup full of your anger!”
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Soma has oddly unfriendly staff in the face of better competition. I know some people just love this place but I suspect they may have masochistic tendencies or at least lowered expectations. Oddly disgruntled folk, for no obvious reason for being disgruntled, seem to migrate to Soma.

Soma is proud of it's "No Corporate Aftertaste" mantra but I suspect that lack of health care benefits for its surly staff might actually help create a "Non Corporate Aftertaste" for its patrons.

Small independent coffee places don't need to have such a negative vibe - Soma turns "alternative" into its own fascist conformity in some topsy-turvy way. It could really lighten up.

As the character Edina Monsoon of "Absolutely Fabulous" fame says: "Grind some beans for God's sake . . . . Would you not pull that face while you grind? I don't really want to drink a cup full of your anger!"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmic222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar also viewed

 

Been to Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing