We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite in Bloomington”
Review of Grant Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grant Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Bloomington”
Reviewed January 24, 2006

This was our 4th visit to the Grant Street Inn. We love the romantic feel the place has. Most of the rooms are nicely decorated, with the exception of one very drab one done in brown. The staff encourages you to walk through and look at the decor in unoccupied rooms. The doors to each room are left open with a lamp on prior to your check-in -- a homey touch that we like.

Staff attending the front desk, for the most part, are very friendly and helpful, with the exception of one gentleman that we have talked to a couple times - he mumbles and seems bothered when you stop by with a question.

The rooms are always clean and bathroom well stocked. Noise has never been a problem.

We always request a king sized bed and this last time we were given 2 twins pushed together and made up as a king without being asked if that would be OK. We didn't discover it until we had changed for bed and pulled back the sheets.

Although we love the setting of the breakfast room, each time refills on the buffet have been slow coming or non-existent. Guests would stand and look around for someone to ask for more and then just do without that dish. This time was particularly limited - we got to breakfast about 45 minutes before it ended and the main egg dish was gone - we asked for more and were told there would be none. Had to ask for bread to be refilled to make toast, as well as more orange juice. This was a weekday and the inn had not been near capacity that night. The coffee is great. Music playing in the room would help smooth over the clink of each fork or cup.

Newspapers and magazines are available, as well as local tourist info in brochures.

We will definitely go back. There is a wonderful feeling of escape at the inn. It tends to be a little overpriced, particularly if there is any event going on at IU, then the price goes up.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Babydolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
26
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2005

I recently stayed at the Grant Street Inn for two nights and was extremely happy with the room, the breakfasts, the decor, and the cookies in the afternoon. At night it was very quiet. Even though there were people staying in the surrounding rooms I could not hear anything through the walls. I wasn't sure what to expect regarding noise, since this is basically an old house that has been renovated. It was very pleasant.

It was also conveniently located, and close enough to walk to the Indiana University campus and to the interesting courthouse square area where there are many shops and restaurants.

The inn even has a computer near the lobby that can be used by guests.

The rooms are each decorated differently. I got to see about 4-5 of the rooms, and they were all beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2003

My mother (81) and I spent two very happy days at the inn. The rooms were very comfortable, but the real treat was the warm cookies, fresh coffee, and selection of teas served in the drawing room in the afternoon. Breakfast in the bright yellow dining room left us satisfied and begging for recipes. Homemade granola and grape nuts were terrific!

A visit here is worth every cent. I'll definitely choose it next time.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveDiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 21, 2003

I've been to the Grant Street Inn three times and plan to go back in a few weeks. Each room is individually decorated with quality materials, and some have fireplaces. They provide good toiletries and clean rooms.
The breakfast is simply wonderful - homemade scones, muffins, egg dishes, etc. and delicious coffee.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#3 of 24 in Bloomington
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
#12 of 24 in Bloomington
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Street Inn

Property: Grant Street Inn
Address: 310 North Grant Street, Bloomington, IN 47408-3736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grant Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Street Inn is a bed and breakfast located in the heart of Bloomington, Indiana, just two blocks from Indiana University and four from the courthouse square. It's easy to make yourself at home at our bed and breakfast. Walk up and down Kirkwood Avenue, browse the stores at Fountain Square Mall and dine at one or more of the local eateries. Once you're here you'll understand why people call Bloomington a uniquely wonderful place and a small city you shouldn't miss exploring. Our historic bed and breakfast offers 40 distinct rooms, each decorated with a personality all its own. From chic contemporary to cottage style and Victorian, there's sure to be a room that suits your preference and needs. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we hope you choose the Grant Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Grant Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Street Hotel Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing