We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”
Review of Grant Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grant Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Years ago this was our first B&B experience only because we could not find a hotel room available in Bloomington. We returned again for a mini vacation this week and found the Grant St. Inn to be just as lovely as our first stay. Cannot say enough about the beautiful and comfortable rooms. This is what a B&B should be and other places we've stayed will never match this experience. Outstanding breakfast in a lovely setting. Want a true B&B experience? This is the place!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank DDaisydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 116 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed in Grant street inn for one week and I had the best time. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the breakfast was yummy and the Chef bakes fresh cookies/brownies everyday and leaves them in the reception for the guests to divulge in.
The only drawback is that they have no lifts so you will need to carry all your luggage if you get an upstairs room. The building that I stayed in was the "annex" building and it had a self contained kitchenette for guests to use. The kitchenette had a microwave, tea, coffee, sugar, milk and ice.
Grant Street Inn would be my first preference every time I am in Bloomington as it is also very near to the uni and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCheema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Grant Street Inn and we will return on our next trip to Bloomington. It is an interesting hybrid.....B&B features and feel but a size and multi-building configuration that makes it feel like a small hotel also. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. There was a decent workout room....a must for me. There was a full breakfast buffet provided.....passable food, nothing special. The service from all the employees with whom we interacted was first rate. One watchout.....given the nature of the layout....some rooms are inevitably noisier than others....it is definitely worth asking for a quiet location....which we did.
Good spot in a university town with a very mixed set of accommodation options.

Room Tip: Ask about quiet room locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgsmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our son is a freshman and we have tried 3 hotels so far. Grant Street Inn has won our hearts! This will be our first choice no matter what! They are so nice and welcoming! You get a very nice free breakfast every morning. They have fruit and homemade cookies out everyafternoon into the evening. The rooms are comfy and clean. I have stayed in many nice hotels and we just felt very welcome here!!!! Its like home. Its also walking distance to Kirkwood Street. It is centrally located!

Room Tip: We had the first room when you walked in the main house. We thought it would be noisy but it was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great b & b: welcoming, clean and with terrific (changed daily) breakfasts cooked by onsite chef, this is a good place to stay in Bloomington, especially if you are visiting the university. Rather noisy in the annexe (another similar colonial style house) - thin walls; so go upstairs if you can.

Room Tip: Upstairs or ask for a quieter space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but wished it could be longer. Very clean, spacious rooms. Happy with the delicious breakfast buffet options. Highly recommend if you wish to be close to the university and town. Very friendly and courteous staff.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Ddnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Staying here briefly while working at the university a few minutes walk away proved an engaging experience: a warm welcome, a spacious, spotless room in across the road annexe of same early style as main house, outstanding breakfasts. The only blemish was the noise: from upstairs, next door, and outside where cars parked, until late and from early. I'd say try and book upstairs yourself for the best stay.

Room Tip: less noise on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biblioswiss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Showers Inn
Showers Inn
#1 of 9 in Bloomington
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Persimmon Inn
Persimmon Inn
#2 of 9 in Bloomington
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Street Inn

Address: 310 North Grant Street, Bloomington, IN 47408-3736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Price Range: $128 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grant Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Inn offering 40 luxury rooms, all uniquely inspired by the building's history and tailored to your modern day needs. Located downtown Bloomington, near all the social highlights worth enjoying. We’re a place you stay for the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grant Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Street Hotel Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing