We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Bloomington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Arrived 8/6/10 @ 4 pm. We had 2 roomy double/queen rooms next to each other for 2 nights. Found both rooms tidy, but clearly not vacuumed; then quickly noted the comforters in 1 room had what appeared to be urine or like spots on both comforters; then looked more closely at the bedding & found a black hair on a pillowcase and couldn't be sure the lines were fresh; the toilet was moldy around upper ring; & there was a white hair on the mirror in the bathroom. The second day the tub wasn't even wiped out. I needed to move the nightstand to plug in my sleep apnea machine & found old food debris & paper behind the stand. In the other room we could see the beds were made, but the linens didn't appear to be fresh. I pulled back the sheets and it was clear from the small particles of dirt between the sheets that they had not been changed. Found a bright red blood spot on one pillowcase. In the toilet was brown matter, at first I thought feces, but it may have been coffee grounds, but it was there. The floor had not been vacuumed either. I let the front desk know & a housekeeper, Melanie, cleaned both rooms and washed the comforters--she is a GEM! I suspect the hotel has a "contract" cleaning service as I saw young kids helping out in the rooms & probably only has 1 staff housekeeper. The front lobby had coffee pots & hot water for tea for guests, but it seemed they were always empty. The breakfast was good, but again, you had to ask for food to be refilled (waffle batter, strawberries, cream, coffee). The front desk folks couldn't be nicer. Upon checkout showed the Sun. Mgr. the pillowcase with blood, had written down what Melanie verified & re-cleaned in the rooms, showed a picture of the food debris that I took with my cell phone, & the Mgr. dismissed my concerns with a simple apology--never even offering to make things right in any way. I know the hotel was sold out due to some girls national baseball tournament, nevertheless I've always had "clean" accommodations at Comfort Inns. This wasn't a buy for the senior rate of $116 +tax in my book & may be due to having a contract cleaning service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kahanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    79
    34
    16
    5
See reviews for
146
50
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chatham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

i was in indiana for a volleyball tournament and loved my room. it was quite nice and very comfortable and clean. The staff were all very helpful and the manager went out of his way to accommodate us. thanks for the great service and a great stay. i hope to go back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Comfort Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay at our Comfort Inn, Bloomington, IN. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations during the volleyball tournament, the staff was proud to hear your comments during our most recent staff meeting.

We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Bloomington.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Very hectic weekend for us, staff did an outstanding job taking care of us and maintain the establishment. Very Plased. Randall did an outstanding job making sure room dates were right during the reservation process.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subabae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Comfort Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review after your recent stay at our Comfort Inn, Bloomington, IN. Guest comments are an excellent training tool, and you can be certain that Randall was very pleased to hear yours about the customer service he provided.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Bloomington.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

I switched to this hotel after a bad experience at another place in town. The service was amazing! Jeremy, the man who checked me in at the front desk was kind, attentive, and incredibly accommodating. (If someone at the hotel is reading this, he deserves a raise!). I was checked into a clean room, with a comfortable king size bed. My stay here was relaxing and I even had a complimentary continental breakfast complete with eggs and bacon the next morning. (Which Jeremy was in charge of overseeing in addition to his front desk duties). There is a very small fitness room with a couple exercise bikes and elliptical machines. The service alone would be reason enough for me stay at this hotel again, but all around, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bout14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, owner, revenue manager at Comfort Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay at the Comfort Inn, Bloomington, IN. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and received excellent service.
We take great pride in our hotel and hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the Bloomington area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We recently stayed at the Comfort Inn in Bloomington and I must admit that the experience was less than stellar. We knew that we would be arriving late so I gave them a credit card number to secure a late arrival. I was told that once we arrive and showed our AAA card, the discount would be applied. Well, in theory that works but when the clerk has no clue how to do it, it doesn’t work. We ended up paying full amount.

On top of it, the room we received was the closest to the lobby and breakfast area. And like many other reviewers had said, the walls are paper thin. To say the least, it was not a quiet room or conducive to sleeping. It was very disappointing after a long trip to begin with.

The continental breakfast was fine but the inability to get my AAA discount and a good night's sleep made this not worth the money paid. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

We chose this hotel because of a great internet rate. The staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel is very clean. It had to be one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms are nicely decorated and large. The walls seem to be extremely thin, being able to hear every conversation on either side of us and up and down the hall. At times it sounded as if the other guests were in our room, not very pleasant at 3 in the morning to hear yellng and banging on doors. There wasn't any way of turning the a/c fan on to help drown out the noise.

Obviously, the rude patrons never were taught how to act when not at home. No manners!! We probably won't stay here again since we couldn't drown out the noise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatherpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Other than a very loud AC unit, and a pretty small standard king-bed room, this was an okay stay. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms plain but clean. The staff are not overly friendly, not a single hello or good morning from any one. The selection at breakfast was marginal. Lots of hallway noise and nearby street nosie.Ample parking. It is not really within walking distance of the center of the IU campus. There are no restaurants within walking distance, so a car is a must. Likely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
#10 of 24 in Bloomington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Bloomington

Property: Comfort Inn Bloomington
Address: 1700 N Kinser Pike, Bloomington, IN 47404-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn, Bloomington, IN is ideally located less than 2 miles from downtown Bloomington, and less than one mile from Indiana University. We offer deluxe accommodations, free hot breakfast, including two types of homemade waffles, free parking, free high speed internet, and a heated outdoor pool. Whether you are coming to town for a sporting event or tournament, have a child studying at Indiana University, or working for a local corporation such as Cook Medical, Baxter Healthcare, or Ingersoll Rand, the Comfort Inn offers all the amenities and services to make your visit an enjoyable and productive one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing