We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight while visiting our daughter. We had two children with us so wanted to stay somewhere with a pool. The rooms were reasonably priced and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. They had a manager's reception w/ lasagna, bread, salad, wine, and beer from 6-8. We had dinner plans elsewhere but took advantage of the wine. The breakfast buffet had a decent variety and everyone found something they liked. We will definitely book this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others. We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed the accommodations as well as the evening Manager's reception and the breakfast in the morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    60
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
139
43
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
235 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and friendly desk clerk...TESS. She was awesome. We were recognized for being Reward members and given a token to buy food in the suite shop. We were also upgraded to a suite. When we went to the room, it was not clean. So we went back to the desk. They were so upset that they gave us more money for the suite shop and then another suite. These things do happen. But they handled it so well. The room was clean and quite spacious. The breakfast the next day was great with a very nice hostess. The only negatives were that the swimming pool is closed most of the day on Sunday for cleaning and we were never able to use it. Plus the area behind the hotel has lots of trash. This is not the hotel's fault....but it does distract from the view. The hotel is in a great location. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We thank you very much for your kind comments. We were very pleased to see that the issue you experienced was handled well, exceeding your expectations. It was also rewarding to read that you enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, as well as the service that you received from the staff.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel overnight for a business trip and it was just the best. The staff was very friendly, Linda, and made me feel welcomed. Also I just have to say you have the most comfortable pillows I have ever slept on. I would love to find out where you get the, GREAT HOTEL!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrglorioso81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We were so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that you especially enjoyed the pillows. We thank you very much for your comments, and for sharing your experience at our hotel with others.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is easy to find. I've stayed at this location many times for work. They have a great morning breakfast and also free evening dinner! Also they provide Bath and Body Works products in the rooms! I enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to our Holiday Inn Express in Bloomington,
and for sharing your recent experience with others. We were happy to see how much you enjoy the breakfast, Manager's Reception, and the bath amenities that we provide.
We look forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The location is great and the proximity to campus a real plus. Easy access to the highway getting in and pout of town. Visited my niece who was a student at the university. The drive from Indianapolis is easy and very scenic. The breakfast included in the cost of the room is a good bargain as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We were pleased to see that our location perfectly suited your needs, and was convenient for you when visiting your niece in Bloomington. Complimentary breakfast is always a nice way to start the day, please note that we also offer a weekday evening Manager's reception, should you choose next time to visit during the week.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Every time I stay at this hotel. The staff is very helpful. The ladies at the front desk are very professional. Cassie,Courtney, Tess,and Kelly. Really enjoy the managers reception., Cassie and Tess work really hard to make sure the food is always hot and fresh.. Derrek is always so friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable..

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
It was very rewarding to read your comments, we thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and for sharing your experiences with others.
We appreciate being your hotel of choice in Bloomington.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I' ve stayed at this hotel multiple times and have always had great service. Cassie is great, she is always very nice and helpful. Make sure to tip her when she is in charge of the Manager's Reception. She does a great job and always takes care of me and my coworkers. The rest of the staff is great too, Derek, Tess, and Courtney are always very friendly, and willing to help with any issues.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to our hotel, it is our pleasure to host you and your co workers when in Bloomington. Cassie, Derek, Tess and Courtney appreciated your mention of the service that they provide, as we strive each and every day to exceed our guest's expectations.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Address: 117 S Franklin Road, Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing