We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for a family of 4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 queen suite. We needed the extra bed space for 2 teens. It has 2 queen beds and a pull out couch. It also has a desk with a chair, 2 larger comfy chairs, 2 large TVs, game cube, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron, hair dryer, night stand and 3 small tables. The staff is friendly. The decor is nice. I felt it as a good value. Go IU!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read that your queen suite suited your needs perfectly, with all the amenities that your family needed.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Bloomington.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 345 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Sales coordinator,Julie Carter, and the breakfast lady,who also works the managers reception,Miss Diana,all i can say is, they are are a true asset to this wonderful place to stay! I just wanna say thanks for making it a merable one, cant wait til we come back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments, in particular regarding the service that you received from both Julie and Diana. It is our goal to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time, it is very rewarding to know that we have been successful.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I travel for a living and can honestly say that I have never felt more at home in a hotel in 2 years that i've been traveling weekly. Miss Carter, and the Front desk staff are warm and welcoming. The managers reception and hostesses (Miss Diana especially) that take care of you are wonderful. Where can you go and get home cooked meals Monday through Thursday that taste just like Mamma made it? The housekeeping staff (Miss Violet) are so very sweet and even had a Christmas Card on my bed when I came "home" from work. They make your stay feel like a home away from home and that is so very nice when you are away from home for weeks at a time.

The hotel property itself is warm and inviting. It happens to be Christmas time during my stay and the lobby makes me want to curl up in my Pj's and have hot cocoa in front of their lovely fireplace and Christmas tree.

All in all....the most lovely hotel I've visited in a long time. Affordable, and just plain NICE! GREAT Job to these ladies and gentlemen that have taken such good care of us this week. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieH7908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we value our guest's feedback. We were very pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed the Manager's Reception we offer in the evenings, and that our staff service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit, and hope to remain your hotel of choice in the Bloomington area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Bloomington in mid-October. I will say that we got what we paid for. We had a king suite as we took our kids and wanted a private area for them to sleep in. The room was large although not what I would call a "suite"- that being said- it's a Holiday Inn. Floors and carpet were pretty worn- almost dirty- I wouldn't let my kids walk around barefoot. Bed was comfortable, the pull-out was a pretty thin mattress, mini-fridge in room worked fine. The hotel offers a free buffet breakfast which is nice, the the kids were happy with the indoor pool. There aren't too many nice places to stay in Bloomington- I would say this one was "fine". I thought our stay at the Hampton Inn last year was nicer- rooms were cleaner and more updated. You get what you pay for, right?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you very much for posting your comments after your stay with us in October. Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time, and I do not feel like we did that during your stay with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again. If you choose to, please contact our General Manager-Dawn Crawford- directly and she will personally take care of your reservation and see that all your needs are met.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lobby is gorgeous, comfortable, inviting. Rooms is large, clean, comfy bed. Refrig and microwave. Mon-Thurs they have a Manager's reception- the first night was minestrone soup, salad, french bread and dessert. Beer and wine were complimentary. Very nice! Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. WiFi is slow, only downside, esp if you need it for work.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, we were pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, in particular the nightly Manager's Reception.

We know there are many choices in the Bloomington area, we hope you will continue to choose our hotel.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times since JUL 11. I would rate it as a 5 star with the mangers reception and the employees that hostess it, as well as all of the other wonderful things they do for their customers. As an example, last December one of my business trips through Bloomington, IN. ended me in the ER where I was discharged to go home (the Holiday Inn Express). I still felt pretty bad upon entereing the hotel and Diana came to my rescue and made sure I was fully taken care of to get to my room. Her and several other employees always make me feel welcome, help with with whatever I need and show complete professionalism throughout it all. I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE.

Room Tip: book by internet at least 2 weeks prior to travel to get your choice of room. I enjoy the juccuzi su...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your comments after your most recent stay at our hotel, as well as your loyalty. We are very lucky to have a wonderful staff that truly cares about all our guests, thank you for your mention of Diana in your comments.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my first trip to Bloomington and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express.

The property is well maintained and staff is extremely attentive. All staff I came in contact with was pleasant and asked if they could do anything to make my stay better. The front desk welcomed me upon arrival and when asked offered multiple suggestions for dinner with personal recommendations.

The rooms are nicely appointed with a great work space. Bathrooms are large, spacious and clean.

The hotel is easliy accessible from 37/45. Plus, various restaurants within walking distance and an AMC movie theater three blocks away. The hotel offers free breakfast and an evening reception with food and wine.

If you're planning a trip to Bloomington, make this your first and only choice.

Room Tip: Rooms overall are fairly quite. If you're concerned about highway noise, ask for a room not fac...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPLS-MN_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we value our guest's feedback. We were very pleased to read that our hotel's location perfectly suited your needs, that you found the room to be both clean and comfortable, and that you received excellent service from our staff.

We strive to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
618 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Address: 117 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $138 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing