We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your average HIEX”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than your average HIEX”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lobby is gorgeous, comfortable, inviting. Rooms is large, clean, comfy bed. Refrig and microwave. Mon-Thurs they have a Manager's reception- the first night was minestrone soup, salad, french bread and dessert. Beer and wine were complimentary. Very nice! Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. WiFi is slow, only downside, esp if you need it for work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we were pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, in particular the nightly Manager's Reception.

We know there are many choices in the Bloomington area, we hope you will continue to choose our hotel.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    64
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
148
45
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peru, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times since JUL 11. I would rate it as a 5 star with the mangers reception and the employees that hostess it, as well as all of the other wonderful things they do for their customers. As an example, last December one of my business trips through Bloomington, IN. ended me in the ER where I was discharged to go home (the Holiday Inn Express). I still felt pretty bad upon entereing the hotel and Diana came to my rescue and made sure I was fully taken care of to get to my room. Her and several other employees always make me feel welcome, help with with whatever I need and show complete professionalism throughout it all. I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE.

Room Tip: book by internet at least 2 weeks prior to travel to get your choice of room. I enjoy the juccuzi su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your comments after your most recent stay at our hotel, as well as your loyalty. We are very lucky to have a wonderful staff that truly cares about all our guests, thank you for your mention of Diana in your comments.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my first trip to Bloomington and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express.

The property is well maintained and staff is extremely attentive. All staff I came in contact with was pleasant and asked if they could do anything to make my stay better. The front desk welcomed me upon arrival and when asked offered multiple suggestions for dinner with personal recommendations.

The rooms are nicely appointed with a great work space. Bathrooms are large, spacious and clean.

The hotel is easliy accessible from 37/45. Plus, various restaurants within walking distance and an AMC movie theater three blocks away. The hotel offers free breakfast and an evening reception with food and wine.

If you're planning a trip to Bloomington, make this your first and only choice.

Room Tip: Rooms overall are fairly quite. If you're concerned about highway noise, ask for a room not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPLS-MN_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we value our guest's feedback. We were very pleased to read that our hotel's location perfectly suited your needs, that you found the room to be both clean and comfortable, and that you received excellent service from our staff.

We strive to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I love the fact that the ENTIRE staff make you feel like you are the only person that matters!.. I truley felt like a "Royal". Ms Kelly, Larry, and Tess from the front desk make you feel like you have just come home to the royal palace. Diana always makes sure your glass stays full when your eating, she also makes sure you have everything you want to eat. You don't have to move a muscle.. I found the excerise area very useful, the pool and hot tub area is very nice. I will always stay at this hotel when in the Bloomington area..
Again it's like coming home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your comments after your recent stay with us. The entire staff was so pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay, and the staff members you specifically mentioned sincerely appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to being your hotel of choice in the Bloomington area, and will always treat you like a member of the family.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solsberry, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We love this hotel!! The staff is exceptional, always friendly and helpful! My kids choose staying here over having a birthday party! I'm always surprised by how clean and neat everything is. The swimming pool and hot tub area is tidy & always warm. I highly recommend this hotel, it's my favorite in Bloomington!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We were so pleased to read your comments, and sincerely appreciate being your favorite hotel in the Bloomington area. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations each and every day, it is very rewarding to see that we are successful.

We appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and had an amazing experience. The hotel was clean, new and the staff were very pleasant. My daughter especially loved the breakfast. Thank you fro the great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay with us. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and started your day off right with a delicious breakfast.

We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Bloomington area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I always stay at this hotel while on business in the area.
It is clean and the staff is helpful.

Never have had an issue, and I have been staying here, about once a year, since it opened 5 or 6 years ago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPandLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to our hotel, we sincerely appreciate it as we know there are many choices in the Bloomington area.
We were pleased to read that you find the hotel to be clean and comfortable, and the staff to be pleasant and professional.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
295 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#3 of 24 in Bloomington
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Address: 117 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing