We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”

Lennie's and the Bloomington Brewing Co.
Ranked #2 of 350 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Bloomington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lennie's is, without a doubt, consistently great. They have found just the right combination of atmosphere, quality food with interesting choices, great beer and terrific service. We often go there after concerts at the Jacobs School of Music, and always look forward to it. One other thing that we truly appreciate is the cleanliness of Lennie's. Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rkapusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Mike_Fox_1979, General Manager at Lennie's and the Bloomington Brewing Co., responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Show us your ticket stub on the day of any Jacob's School of Music Ballet or Opera and let us treat you to a complimentary Mini-Indulgence Dessert.
Cheers!
Michael Fox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    77
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite spot”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We have gone to Lennies multiple times and never been dissapointed. We enjoy the various food specials and also the home brew. Although the place is on the small side it is well worth a visit or wait. Staff are also friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Romanlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Mike_Fox_1979, General Manager at Lennie's and the Bloomington Brewing Co., responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi Romanlew,

I'm happy to hear you have enjoyed our food, beer and service. We feel very fortunate to have such a great staff, I'll pass your kind words along to them. Thank you for your review and for supporting our business.

Cheers and hope you visit again soon,
Michael Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Grad Hangout”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lennie's seems to be the go-to grad student and faculty restaurant. The food is pretty steady American pub-style, with large sandwiches and good soups. The pizzas are deep-dish compared to a traditional New York style pizza. Lunches are busy.

The Brewing Company has some excellent beers--I'm a fan of the wheat and the Amber Ale. The current art on the walls in the bar section is rather odd, however--paintings of celebrities, mostly musicians, that are hilarious to have to stare at while eating. Go check out shirtless Sting showing off his pubic region and Mick Jagger giving his "O" face....I'll be happy to see that rotate out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dula0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Went for beer only, good choice”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stopped in late one evening as part of our visit to all the microbreweries in Bloomington. Came only to have some beer as we had our meal earlier. Located in a strip mall, the venue is split into a bar area and a dining area. Had 9 beers listed on a board as being available on tap. Like the fact that they advertise the ABV and IBU of the beers, helps in making the selection. They offered me a sample of one type, before I ordered. I tried a Belgian IPA, which was quite flavorful and very "hoppy" (which I prefer) and wife tried the milder Vision Weiss which she liked as well. Service was prompt, music being played through speakers made for nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Beer”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A good casual dining choice right in the middle of campus. Lennie's serves craft beers made on the premises. Menu leans toward upscal pub food all of which is good. Good for lunch or dinner. My go-to meal is the Chile Chicken Wrap along with their cucumber slaw. Healthy and yummy. My wife loves their spaghetti and meatballs. Good pizzas, flatbreads, sanwiches and dinner salads also. Not a huge restaurant so it tends to get crowded on IU game days and other university events. Owners are very involved in the local community and they treat their employees well, many of whom have worked there for years.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BtownIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lennie's and the Bloomington Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Lennie's and the Bloomington Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing