We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right place for walking to all that interests us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

So glad we stumbled upon this great downtown location hotel in Bloomington! It's situated in a perfect spot to easily walk to just about anywhere we choose in Bloomington! The decor is very modern and welcoming as is the staff. The farmer's market on Saturdays is just behind the hotel and the town square with all kinds of restaurants and shops are just down the street! With parking a bit of a hassle with all the rapid growth in Bloomington, parking your car in the hotel's garage for $7 is well worth it! One word of advice, if you book on Hotels.com, go to the hotel website to make sure there is not a lower rate offered like one for Seniors 62 and older or AAA rate. I was able to have Hotels.com refund me the difference since they guarantee the lowest rate yet do not offer the Senior or AAA rate the hotel offers!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OD4VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBloomington, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

I am absolutely thrilled to read your review of our hotel! I have to admit, I am also a fan of our location (especially Saturday mornings with our proximity to the delightful farmer's market!) and I am pleased that you also enjoyed our parking and staff.

You bring up an excellent point about checking our rates. Due to the Marriott Rate Guarantee, you are actually always guaranteed to get the lowest price by booking through us directly instead of using a third party vendor. However you decide to book is a-okay with us though; we're just glad to have you! I hope we can welcome you back to Bloomington soon, and thank you so much for your review.

Sincerely,

Katie Boehner
Operations Manager
Katherine.Boehner@WhiteLodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 285 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were in town for my daughter's wedding and overall, it was a very good hotel. Very clean. Very professional front desk personnel. Two issues: (1) Parking is very limited, especially at night. We were able to park on the street Saturday night, thanks to the front desk employee. (2) They put a "welcome bag" from my daugther in their Lost and Found and it took them a day to locate it. That being said, the team really worked hard in finding that Welcome Bag since it had items commerating the wedding.

It's a very busy hotel. Need to be patient when waiting at the front desk and at breakfast.

Overall, Very Good!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GolferGuyPGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBloomington, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that you chose the SpringHill Suites for your special event. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed our cleanliness and staff service. I sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding the welcome bag and am SO happy that we were able to resolve it. I genuinely hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Bloomington- have an excellent weekend!

Sincerely,

Katie Boehner
Operations Manager
Katherine.Boehner@WhiteLodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff was super friendly as soon as we walked in and were so helpful with all of our questions. The room was very clean, with a good view of Bloomington and a really nice TV. By far the nicest hotel bathroom I've ever seen! I felt right at home the whole time I was here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBloomington, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! It was truly a joy to host your weekend in Bloomington and it sounds as if you got to experience all aspects of our new hotel. I am absolutely thrilled to read that you felt at home here- that's our entire goal! Please let me know when you return to Bloomington as it would be my pleasure to reserve your suite myself!

Sincerely,

Katie Boehner
Operations Manager
Katherine.Boehner@WhiteLodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

A lovely room in a new hotel, close to everything we needed to visit on the IU campus. From check-in to check-out, every single staff member we encountered was friendly, helpful and available, especially Connie and Olivia. The hotel has only been open for 3 months, so everything was spotlessly clean and smelled like new paint and carpet. I felt like I was sleeping in a model home! A lovely lobby area with a small area that sells snacks and sodas, among other items. A full bar open until 11 pm and lots of cozy places to sit and talk. The breakfast was delicious and the assortment of available items was exceptional for this type of arrangment. Real oatmeal with lots of toppings, fresh fruit, eggs and sausage and make-your-own-waffle-mess on the weekends, equally delicious options during the week (absent the waffles). Parking, although an additional cost, was convenient in a busy part of the city. The hotel is walking distance to the Sample Gates and a quick, straight drive to the campus and some great restaurants on Kirkwood Avenue.
If I had one teeny issue in the room we stayed in, it's that the bathroom doors are double panels of frosted glass, and directly across from the beds. As I was sharing the room with my husband (who gets up in the night) and my freshman daughter (who takes lots of time with her evening go-to-bed ritual), I found that I was awakened a few times by the light shining into my face. I might also suggest that there be a few more wall hooks placed in the bathroom. There was one hook but with three of us using towels there wasn't really anywhere else to hang them but back on the towel bar, folded, where they remained damp. On the subject of towels though - these were the fluffiest, fullest towels I have ever experienced in a hotel - maybe because they're all brand new!
Bottom line - I would recommend this hotel, and will plan to stay there again over the next four years. Assuming I can get a room after all these great reviews!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBloomington, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for both staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. The greatest compliment we can be paid is your return visit, so we certainly appreciate your kind words. I am especially impressed you noticed our fluffy towels because that is one of the first things I noticed about this hotel as well! I have passed on your feedback to the entirety of our leadership team. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Katie Boehner
Operations Manager
Katherine.Boehner@WhiteLodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were attending a track meet at IU and found this to be the perfect place for us.

Close to IU? Check. (even walk-able for a football game)

Close to Downtown Bloomington for bars and restaurants? Check.

Clean hotel with great service? Check.

Free breakfast that is actually edible? Check.

Even with the place sold out and full of youth track teams, the noise level was never loud, there was never anything "empty" at the breakfast buffet and parking was always available (park in the outside part - it's actually closer to the lobby).

Every employee we encountered was helpful, friendly and had a smile.

Not sure if I'll ever be back to Bloomington but if I do, I know where I'll be staying!

Room Tip: Ask for high level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBloomington, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review!!! We have to admit, we might be our favorite hotel in Bloomington too. I am thrilled that you got to enjoy our location, breakfast, and most of all, staff service. I certainly hope you return to Bloomington- we'll be honored to be your host!

Sincerely,

Katie Boehner
Operations Manager
Katherine.Boehner@WhiteLodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 8 days and charged for parking on all days. Not a problem, other than we only needed to use our key to get into the garage for three of the eight days. On top of that we were told the parking was included on our room bill but were charged separately.

Our first day there we were checked in and settle into the room before the room was inspected. Our trash can was not emptied and the shower was very slippery we had to put a shower mat down just so we didn't fall.

The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good and the staff was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ostrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBloomington, Manager at SpringHill Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello! Thank you so much for posting a review about your visit to the SpringHill Suites Bloomington! We could not be more delighted to hear your positive comments regarding our breakfast and our staff and look forward to sharing all feedback with the team. I do want to apologize in regards to the billing error you encountered with the parking. Please reach out to me directly at 812-337-7772 or email me at cathleen.hennessey@whitelodging.com as I would be more than happy to adjust any incorrect charges off of your bill. As the housekeeping manager, I take your comments regarding the issues you experienced in your guest room extremely seriously and would like the chance to make it right. The comments you provided will help to ensure that we are checking these critical details in the room so we may provide the best experience for our guests. I look forward to hearing from you soon and rectifying any troubles you encountered during your stay. Thank you!

Cathleen Hennessey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great hotel. Nice rooms, beautiful lobby. Parking garage was a nice plus. My only complaint is the lack of sound deadening in the bathroom. You can hear everything going on in the bathroom...
The hallway window by room 535 could use a cleaning. We will definitely be back. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBloomington, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, parking, and value. Additionally, I can assure you that the window by 535 has been cleaned many, many times since your last visit. :) Who could help but to gaze out that beautiful top floor view of College Avenue though? I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Bloomington! As always, if there is anything we can do to make your future visits more comfortable or memorable, please do not hesitate to let us know!

Sincerely,

Katie Boehner
Operations Manager
Katherine.Boehner@WhiteLodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
635 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Bloomington

Address: 501 N College Ave, Bloomington, IN 47404-3830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: $100 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Bloomington is the newest hotel in the Marriott brand and is ideally located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to the Indiana University campus. Situated off College Avenue, guests will appreciate easy access to Kirkwood Avenue and the square, as well as affordable downtown parking in the underground garage ($10 Daily Fee). The suites are highlighted by modern amenities including HD TVs, free WiFi, and in-room mini-fridges and microwaves, and guests are sure to get a great night's sleep in plush Marriott bedding. The spacious suites also offer 25% more space than traditional hotel rooms, and the separate seating area includes a pull-out sofa that is perfect for traveling with friends and family. Start your day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet offering scrambled eggs, assorted pastries, and Dannon(R) yogurts, and unwind in the evenings with drinks and a small bites menu from the lobby bar. This hotel provides guests with a selection of free weights and cardio equipment to help you maintain their workout routine while away from home, and they can take a reinvigorating swim in the indoor pool. With over 1,200 sq. ft. of flexible event space, this hotel is also a great venue for hosting business meetings and receptions near IU. The brand-new SpringHill Suites Bloomington has the perfect combination of amenities and a prime location to make it stand out among Bloomington hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing